Open Access

Introduction to Open Access

The two main ways to succeed to Open Access to scholarly communication were expressed in Budapest in 2002 in the form of the Golden Road and Green Road.

THE GOLD ROAD

The Gold Road is often presented as the ideal way to achieve the goals of Open Access. The authors publish their articles in journals that are completely free of charge for readers, with no subscription fees.

The funding of these Open Access journals is obviously the crux of the matter. Several economic funding models exist, including total or partial funding of the journal by public or private research organizations. Other journals ask the author, or its institution, to contribute to publication costs by paying a fee known as the Article Processing Charges (APC).

The Swiss National Science Foundation (SNSF) authorises the use of research funds to cover the APCs. The University of Geneva has also created a research funding for publishing as a pilot project for 2018.

The Directory of Open Access Journal (DOAJ) lists the various journals of the Golden Road.

This model often ends for an institution to pay twice for the same content, once for the subscription, and a second time by paying for APCs. This character of "double dipping" leads many institutions to refuse to pay for APCs in such journals.

One kind of Gold Road, the hybrid journals

Many commercial publishers now offer hybrid journals that are still paid for by subscription, but where Open Access articles can be found if authors have agreed to pay for APCs.

This model often ends for an institution to pay twice for the same content, once for the subscription, and a second time by paying for APCs. This character of "double dipping" leads many institutions to refuse to pay for APCs in such journals.

THE GREEN ROAD

The Green Road is an approach to the dissemination of scientific publications by research institutions themselves. It combines publication in traditional journals (by subscription) and simultaneous deposit of a copy of the publication in an institutional repository. The deposit of the final manuscript before publication is also an increasingly common practice.

The commercial publishers generally accepts the Green Road, although some require that an embargo period be respected after publication and/or that their final PDFs is not used. Conversely other publishers require the researches to use their PDF files or deposit them directly in an archive (for example Pubmed) on behalf of the authors.

The web site SHERPA/RoMEO tries to make an inventory of the politics of the different publishers.

One kind of Green Road, the Archive ouverte UNIGE

The Archive ouverte UNIGE is the institutional repository of the University of Geneva in which the researchers of the institution must deposit a copy of all their publications.

Both preprints (final manuscript before peer review) and author postprints (post-reviewing manuscript) as well as published versions (Version of record or editor postprint) can be deposited, with an embargo period if necessary.

publication Process

 

terminologie_publication.jpg

Open Access

Introduction à l'Open Access

Les deux principales façons d'aboutir à une "diffusion libre et gratuite des résultats de la recherche scientifique" (traduction française de open access to scholarly communication) ont été formalisées à Budapest en 2002 sous la forme de la voie dorée (Gold Road) et de la voie verte (Green Road).

La voie dorée

La voie dorée est souvent présentée comme la démarche idéale pour atteindre les objectifs de l'open access. Il s'agit pour les auteurs de publier leurs articles dans des revues entièrement gratuites pour les lecteurs, sans frais d'abonnement.

Le financement de ces revues en accès libre est évidemment le nœud du problème. Plusieurs modèles économiques de financement existent, dont le subventionnement de la revue, total ou partiel, par des organismes de recherche publics ou privés. D'autres journaux demandent à l'auteur, ou à son institution, de participer aux frais de publication au travers du paiement d'un forfait connu sous le nom de Article Processing Charge (APC).

Le Fonds national suisse de la recherche scientifique (FNS) autorise l'utilisation de fonds de recherche afin de couvrir les APC, et prévoit même désormais un fonds spécifique pour ces coûts. Quant à l'Université de Genève, elle met à disposition un Fonds d'aide à la publication sous forme de projet pilote pour 2018.

Le Directory of Open Access Journal (DOAJ) liste les différentes revues de la voie dorée.

Une forme de voie dorée, les revues hybrides

De nombreux éditeurs commerciaux  proposent désormais des revues hybrides qui restent payantes sur abonnement, mais dans lesquelles il est possible de trouver des articles en accès libre si les auteurs ont accepté de payer des APC.

Ce modèle aboutit souvent, pour une institution, à payer deux fois pour le même contenu, une fois à travers l'abonnement, et une seconde fois en payant les APC. Ce phénomène de "double dipping" conduit de nombreuses institutions à refuser le paiement des APC dans de telles revues.

La voie verte

La voie verte est une démarche de diffusion des publications scientifiques par les institutions de recherche elles-mêmes. Elle allie la publication dans des revues traditionnelles (sur abonnement) et le dépôt simultané d'une copie de la publication dans une archive institutionnelle. Le dépôt du manuscrit final (preprint) avant publication est également une pratique de plus en plus courante.

L'acceptation de la voie verte par les éditeurs commerciaux est généralement acquise, même si certains demandent qu'un délai d'embargo soit respecté après publication et/ou que leur PDF final ne soit pas utilisé. D'autres éditeurs agissent à l'inverse, en obligeant l'utilisation de leur PDF ou en procédant directement au dépôt dans une archive (Pubmed par exemple) au nom des auteurs.

Le site SHERPA/RoMEO essaie de recenser les politiques des différents éditeurs.

Une forme de voie verte, l'Archive ouverte UNIGE

L'Archive ouverte UNIGE est l'archive institutionnelle (institutional repository) de l'Université de Genève dans laquelle les collaborateurs de l'institution doivent déposer une copie de toutes leurs publications.

Autant les preprints (manuscrit final avant relecture par les pairs) que les postprints auteur (manuscrit post-reviewing), ainsi que les versions publiées d'éditeur (editor postprint ou Version of record) peuvent être déposés, avec une période d'embargo si nécessaire.

Processus de publication

processus_publication.jpg

 

terminologie_publication.jpg