Open Access

Where to publish an article?

FIND A JOURNAL IN OPEN ACCESS

 

The Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) is a database of quality peer-reviewed journals in all disciplines. The library of the University of Basel has taken over the responsibility of data publisher for Switzerland.

The quality of journals is not correlated with the subscription price. The peer-reviewing process must be as rigorous in an open access journal as it is in a subscribed journal.

This new economic model for disseminating scientific information is unfortunately also distorted. Some publishers take advantage of the need for young researchers to supply their CVs with publications in order to get them the payment of APC without providing a quality service in return. These publishers are known as predatory or deceptive publishers

 

THE PRICE DOES NOT MEAN QUALITY

Subscription pricing for a scientific journal does not always follow the logic that "what is valuable is expensive, what is expensive has value". It is impossible to rely on the price to judge the scientific quality of a title. For example, the following two journals published in the same discipline (algebra), have a slighly different impact factor, but are subscribed for an incredibly different price.

TitlePublisherPrice 2018Impact factor
Journal of Topology Wiley 495.- € 0.988
Journal of Algebra Elsevier 6334.- € 0.610

Open Access

Trouver une revue en Open Access

Le Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) est une base de données recensant des revues scientifiques de qualité (avec peer-review) dans toutes les disciplines. Alors que la fiabilité des données qu'elle présentait laissait à désirer, DOAJ a réagi en mars 2014 en procédant à une vérification intégrale des références avec nettoyage et suppression à la clé. La bibliothèque de l'Université de Bâle a pris la responsabilité d'éditeur des données pour la Suisse.

La qualité des revues n'étant pas corrélée avec le prix de l'abonnement, il est évident que le processus de relecture par des pairs (peer-reviewing) se doit d'être aussi rigoureux dans une revue en accès libre que dans une revue payante.

Ce nouveau modèle économique de diffusion de l'information scientifique connaît aussi malheureusement des biais, avec des éditeurs profitant de la nécessité des jeunes d'alimenter leurs CV avec des publications pour leur soutirer le paiement d'APC sans fournir en retour un service de qualité. Ces éditeurs sont qualifiés d'éditeur prédateur, ou de deceptive publisher.

Le prix ne fait pas le moine

La fixation du prix d'abonnement à une revue scientifique ne suit pas toujours la logique qui voudrait que "ce qui a de la valeur est cher, ce qui est cher a de la valeur". Ainsi, il est impossible de se fier au prix pour juger de la qualité scientifique d'un titre. A titre d'exemple, les deux journaux suivants publient dans la même discipline (l'algèbre), ont un facteur d'impact relativement proche, mais sont consultables pour un prix incroyablement différent.

TitreEditeurPrix 2018Facteur d'impact
Journal of Topology Wiley 495.- € 0.988
Journal of Algebra Elsevier 6334.- € 0.610