2017

New Centre for Philanthropy launched in Geneva

Download the PDF version

CentrePhilanthropie_BandeauWeb.jpg

From left to right, Yves Flückiger, Rector of the University of Geneva,  Henry Peter, Director of the Geneva Centre for Philanthropy and Laetitia Gill, Executive Director. (UNIGE/Jacques Erard)

 

The Geneva Centre for Philanthropy is the fruit of a solid partnership between the University of Geneva (UNIGE), Switzerland, and a sprinkling of private foundations. It aims to encourage academic training and research in the field of philanthropy, disseminating knowledge in the broader community and educating practitioners. The Edmond de Rothschild Foundations, the Fondation Lombard Odier and a private Geneva-based foundation — all of which are internationally recognised — will work closely with UNIGE to build the new Centre, which will be unique in Europe.

 

The Geneva Centre for Philanthropy, jointly financed by UNIGE and the partner foundations, will operate as an autonomous body with its own staff. The Centre’s activities will be supervised by a strategic committee made up of representatives from the University and the foundations, and will also have a scientific committee with a strong academic focus. Professor Henry Peter from the Faculty of Law, UNIGE, who has been entrusted with heading the new Centre, explains: «This set-up means that the Centre will be in a good position to address the many challenging themes  that have progressively emerged in this context . It will also guarantee the quality of the Centre’s activities from an academic standpoint».

In academic terms, the questions raised by philanthropy are interdisciplinary, touching upon management, law, finance and economics in particular, although the Centre may combine these subjects with the affective sciences and ethics. Given the complex nature of the issues, there is a need for multiple solutions that will also incorporate the expertise and input of the partner foundations. Furthermore, the Geneva Centre for Philanthropy will be able to draw on UNIGE’s know-how: it will act as a catalyst and assure the interdisciplinary convergences that are a prerequisite of effective, strategic philanthropy.

 

The goal: strategic philanthropy

The philanthropy sector is evolving quickly: stakeholder profiles are becoming increasingly diversified, and it is an area that is attracting a growing number of young people and women. Moreover, networking and skills provisions are now taking their place alongside financial commitment, and philanthropy is outstripping the traditional practices often deployed by family foundations. In short, philanthropy has become a strategic tool for a wide range of companies, and is being integrated into their development goals. Although the sector’s historic roots are to be found in the English-speaking world, today philanthropy is expanding at a rapid pace — not just across Europe but also in emerging countries such as India, China and Brazil. «Recent key changes have shown that there is a need for an academic approach to strategic philanthropy alongside a more theoretical insight into the discipline, which has a real impact on development issues such as water, migration, global warming and cultural heritage,» points out Yves Flückiger, rector of the UNIGE.

 

The strengths of philanthropy in and around Geneva

Geneva is one of the preferred location for setting up international foundations and vertical funds: Swiss legislation regarding private foundations is both open and business-friendly, and the region hosts various international and non-governmental organisations that are also involved in cooperation and development. The Geneva Centre for Philanthropy will help spread the influence of Geneva’s philanthropic sector and the unique context in which it operates.

According to Patrick Odier, President of Fondation Lombard Odier: “Geneva has a longstanding, rich tradition of philanthropy and humanitarian work, known as the spirit of Geneva. As the world changes, philanthropy is enlarging its toolbox. The creation of the Geneva Centre for Philanthropy is a timely effort to capture this spirit and develop the knowledge and insights that will shape the practice of philanthropy and social impact well into the future. We are delighted to lend our support to this effort, serving as a Founding Partner of the Geneva Centre for Philanthropy at UNIGE.”

Ariane de Rothschild, President of the Edmond de Rothschild Foundations, adds: «We have been revolutionising our network of foundations around the world over the last ten years in order to address the complex issues society is facing today. Philanthropy is a superb laboratory for finding solutions in, for example, the arts, education, entrepreneurship and health. We are absolutely convinced that it is essential to strengthen and share knowledge so that philanthropy is disseminated more widely. Creating the new Centre at UNIGE is a major breakthrough, and we look forward to playing an active part!»

Every year, 350 new charitable foundations are set up in Switzerland, giving a total that currently stands at 13,172. Geneva and French-speaking Switzerland boast a special place in the field of philanthropy: the 1723 foundations that are located in the region have a combined wealth of over 13 billion francs, 80% of which is in the hands of the 60 biggest players. (1)

The Philanthropy Centre will collaborate with other existing university Centres and will join European and international research networks.


For more information, see unige.ch/philanthropie

Contact: Henry Peter, Directeur du Centre en Philanthropie, +41 79 601 94 52

(1) Data from Rapport sur les fondations en suisse 2017, CEPS Forschung und Praxis – Volume 17

September 26, 2017
  2017

2017

Le Centre en Philanthropie voit le jour à Genève

Télécharger la version PDF

CentrePhilanthropie_BandeauWeb.jpg

Yves Flückiger, recteur de l’Université de Genève, Henry Peter, directeur du Centre en Philanthropie et Laetitia Gill, directrice exécutive, lors de la création du Centre.(Photo UNIGE/Jacques Erard)

 

Issu d’un partenariat fort entre l’UNIGE et des fondations privées, le Centre en Philanthropie encourage la recherche et la formation universitaire dans le domaine de la philanthropie, en mettant en œuvre la diffusion des connaissances auprès de la Cité et la formation des praticiens. Les Fondations Edmond de Rothschild, la Fondation Lombard Odier ainsi qu’une fondation privée genevoise qui jouissent toutes d’une forte notoriété travailleront en étroite collaboration avec l’UNIGE afin de construire ce nouveau Centre unique en Europe.

 

Cofinancé par l’UNIGE et les fondations partenaires, le Centre fonctionne de façon autonome et dispose de sa propre équipe. Ses activités sont supervisées par un comité stratégique dans lequel siègent des représentants de l’Université et des fondations partenaires. Le Centre dispose également d’un comité scientifique, à vocation académique. «Cette configuration lui permettra d’aborder efficacement les axes thématiques qui se dessinent en matière de recherche, elle sera la garante de la qualité de ses activités du point de vue académique», précise le Professeur Henry Peter, de la Faculté de droit, qui s’est vu confier la direction du nouveau Centre.

D’un point de vue académique, les questions que pose la philanthropie sont interdisciplinaires ; elles ont notamment trait au management, au droit, à la finance, à l’économie ; le Centre pourra y associer les sciences affectives et l’éthique. En regard de la complexité des enjeux, les réponses se doivent d’être multiples, intégrant également les apports et l’expertise des fondations partenaires. Le Centre en Philanthropie, qui pourra aussi compter sur les compétences de l’UNIGE, agira comme véritable catalyseur et garantira les convergences inter-disciplinaires que nécessite une philanthropie efficiente et stratégique.

 

Vers une philanthropie stratégique

Le secteur de la philanthropie est en effet en pleine évolution : il se rajeunit, se féminise et voit le profil de ses acteurs se diversifier. A l’engagement financier s’ajoute désormais la mise à disposition des réseaux et des compétences. Au-delà de la pratique développée par les fondations familiales, la philanthropie est devenue un outil intrinsèque pour de nombreuses entreprises qui l’intègrent dans leurs objectifs de développement. Historiquement ancrée dans le monde anglo-saxon, la philanthropie se développe aujourd’hui fortement, non seulement dans toute l’Europe mais également dans les pays émergents, comme l’Inde, la Chine, ou le Brésil. «Les récentes évolutions confirment le besoin d’une réflexion académique pour une philanthropie stratégique, d’un éclairage plus fondamental sur ce secteur dont l’influence est réelle dans les domaines du développement tels que l’eau, la migration, le réchauffement climatique, et le patrimoine culturel», souligne Yves Flückiger, recteur de l’Université de Genève.

 

Les atouts de la place philanthropique genevoise

A une législation suisse ouverte et professionnelle au service des fondations privées s’ajoute la proximité des organisations internationales et non gouvernementales, elles aussi engagées dans la coopération et le développement. Genève est le lieu privilégié pour l’implantation de fondations internationales et de fonds verticaux. Le Centre en Philanthropie favorisera ainsi le rayonnement de la place philanthropique genevoise et du contexte unique dans lequel elle évolue.

Patrick Odier, président de la Fondation Lombard Odier, explique : «L’Esprit de Genève illustre une riche et longue tradition philanthropique et humanitaire reconnue internationalement. Alors que notre monde évolue, le domaine de la philanthropie ne cesse de se développer. En ce sens, la création du Centre en Philanthropie permet de saisir cet « Esprit » au moment opportun et de contribuer à développer les connaissances et expertises qui nourriront les initiatives philanthropiques dans l’avenir. En tant que partenaire-fondateur du Centre en Philanthropie, nous nous réjouissons de participer activement à ce projet aux côtés de l’Université de Genève.»

Ariane de Rothschild, présidente des Fondations Edmond de Rothschild, souligne pour sa part: «Depuis 10 ans, nous opérons une transformation révolutionnaire de notre réseau de fondations dans le monde afin de répondre à la complexité des enjeux sociétaux d’aujourd’hui. La philanthropie constitue un formidable laboratoire de solutions, par exemple dans les arts, l’éducation, l’entrepreneuriat ou la santé. Nous sommes convaincus que l’approfondissement et le partage des connaissances sont indispensables pour assurer le rayonnement de la philanthropie.  Dans cette perspective, la création d’un nouveau Centre au sein de l’UNIGE constitue une avancée majeure et nous nous réjouissons de pouvoir y contribuer!»

Chaque année, 350 nouvelles fondations d’utilité publique voient le jour en Suisse, et le pays en compte désormais 13’172. Genève et la Suisse romande occupent une place de choix dans le domaine de la philanthropie. Les 1723 fondations qui s’y trouvent disposent d’un patrimoine total dépassant les 13 milliards de francs, patrimoine qui se concentre à 80% entre les mains des 60 acteurs les plus importants. (1)
Le Centre en Philanthropie s’inscrira dans la collaboration avec d’autres centres universitaires existants et rejoindra des réseaux de recherche européens.

Plus d’informations unige.ch/philanthropie

Contact: Henry Peter, Directeur du Centre en Philanthropie, +41 79 601 94 52

(1) Données tirées du Rapport sur les fondations en suisse 2017,
      CEPS Forschung und Praxis – Volume 17

26 septembre 2017
  2017