2017

A new motivational model that prevents burnout

Download PDF version

page_garde_Chanal.jpg

© DR

 

What is the relationship between motivation at work and burnout? Researchers from the University of Geneva (UNIGE), Switzerland, and the Canadian universities Laval and Québec at Trois-Rivières investigated the teaching profession in an attempt to find an answer. They looked at the links between a teacher’s motivation to perform his or her assorted tasks at work and the symptoms of emotional exhaustion that lead to burn out or drop out. The researchers developed a new analytical model which could also be applied to other professions. This model allows for a precise description of the tasks that are problematic so that improvements can be applied where most needed. This research is published in the journal Work & Stress.

Québec researchers launched a study in 2007, thanks to a grant from the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council. They aimed to find out the reasons behind the shortage of primary and secondary school teachers, and the fact that about 30% of them left the sector within the first five years. The Québec researchers partnered with Julien Chanal, a psychology researcher in UNIGE’s Faculty of Psychology and Educational Sciences (FPSE). Chanal works on the relationship between motivation and symptoms of burnout at work, focusing on the professional context to explain this phenomenon.

A model that structures and distinguishes motivations

“There are several types of motivation that explain why we choose a particular vocation,” says Chanal. The reasons why an individual opts for teaching are not necessarily the same as the reasons that motivate him or her to perform the various tasks associated with his job. For example, it is easy to imagine that teachers derive little enjoyment from having to monitor students at the lunch break. “We used statistical modelling to distinguish the reasons why someone chooses teaching and their motivations to undertake the range of tasks it consists of. This enabled us to examine the hierarchical and multidimensional nature of motivation.” 

There are two categories of motivation that govern an individual’s behaviour: autonomous motivation, which is connected to basic psychological needs (showing you are competent, for instance, or feeling responsible for your actions); and controlled motivation, which is related to the social benefits or pressures that surround the profession (long holidays or teachers community). “We know that these various regulations impact differently on the behaviour and well-being of individuals,” states Chanal. “In fact, controlled motivations have negative effects while autonomous motivations have positive consequences.” Regarding this multi-dimensional aspect, it is important to simultaneously consider a second level of the hierarchy of motivations: situational motivation, i.e. the diverse tasks to be performed in the context of a given job; and contextual motivation: the overall reasons that drive an individual to engage in a particular line of work.

For teaching, six situational motivations were measured: lesson preparation, the teaching itself, student assessment, classroom management, administrative tasks (managing absences, meetings with parents, etc.) and complementary tasks (midday supervision, extracurricular activities, etc.) in addition to the contextual motivation regarding the motivation to do this work.

“To assess the link between the different motivations for teaching and the symptoms of burnout, we sent a questionnaire that was completed by 806 elementary and high-school teachers in French-speaking Québec, all of whom had been working for five years or less,” explains Claude Fernet, professor in the Department of Human Resources at the Université du Québec à Trois-Rivières. The goal was to better understand how the various situational and contextual factors generate good integration into the profession or, conversely, how they foster burnout symptoms. 

Targeting the causes to prevent burn-out

The researchers developed a new statistical modelling to analyse the data of the questionnaires, simultaneously integrating every type of motivation: the contextual motivation and the task-specific motivations – to identify the ones with the strongest impact on the burnout symptoms and to prevent it from occurring. 

The analysis showed that at the contextual level (the reason for choosing a particular job), autonomous motivations play a strong protective role in preventing burnout. At the same time, controlled motivations have relatively little negative impact. On the other hand, at the situational level (the various tasks associated with the profession), autonomous motivations have a weak protective effect, whereas controlled motivations have a strong negative impact on emotional exhaustion. “This means we can target where action is needed and how to prevent burn-out; in other words, situational tasks rather than the overall context of teaching and training teachers” argues Frédéric Guay, professor in the Department of Educational Fundamentals and Practices at the University of Laval. 

In terms of education in Québec, complementary and administrative tasks have the greatest impact on emotional exhaustion, the primary symptom of burnout. This is usually accompanied with depersonalisation (feeling less attached to one’s job) and a feeling of incompetence. It is essential, therefore, to act on controlled motivations at the situational level to counter the escalation of symptoms that push young teachers to abandon the profession. The results provide an incentive to devise interventions in the education sector to minimise psychosocial pressures at work; to boost the motivation of teachers during the socialization process; and to reduce the risk of drop out. “Our hierarchical, multi-dimensional model of motivation is applicable to all professions. It should now be used to prevent burn-out rather than simply cure it,” urges Chanal.

 

Contact: Julien Chanal, +41 22 379 90 83

 

 

November 14, 2017
  2017

2017

Un modèle motivationnel pour prévenir le burn-out

Télécharger la version PDF

page_garde_Chanal.jpg

© DR

 

Quel est le lien entre la motivation au travail et le burn-out ? Afin de répondre à cette question, des chercheurs de l’Université de Genève (UNIGE) et des universités canadiennes de Laval et du Québec à Trois-Rivières ont étudié les liens entre les motivations à effectuer les diverses tâches du travail de l’enseignant et les symptômes d’épuisement professionnel. Ils ont ainsi créé un nouveau modèle d’analyse qui pourrait être utilisé pour étudier ce phénomène dans d’autres professions. Celui-ci permet de déterminer plus précisément les tâches d’un travail qui posent réellement problème, afin que des améliorations soient apportées là où il y en a besoin. Les résultats de cette recherche sont à lire dans la revue Work & Stress

Suite à l’obtention d’une subvention du Conseil de recherches en sciences humaines du Canada (CRSH) en 2007, des chercheurs québécois ont mis en place une étude qui vise à expliquer la pénurie d’enseignants en primaire et secondaire et pourquoi 30% d’entre eux quittent la profession dans les cinq premières années. Ils se sont alors associés à Julien Chanal, chercheur en psychologie à la Faculté de psychologie et des sciences de l’éducation (FPSE) de l’UNIGE, qui travaille sur les liens entre la motivation et les symptômes d’épuisement professionnel, notamment sur l’importance du contexte professionnel pour comprendre ce phénomène. 

Un modèle qui structure et permet de différencier les motivations

«Plusieurs types de motivations expliquent le choix d’un métier, souligne Julien Chanal. Les raisons qui font que l’individu décide d’enseigner ne sont pas forcément les mêmes que celles pour lesquelles il est motivé à réaliser les différentes tâches associées à ce travail. Par exemple, on peut imaginer que les enseignants apprécient peu de devoir surveiller les élèves à la pause du midi. Afin de distinguer les raisons pour lesquelles la personne choisit ce métier et les motivations pour les différentes tâches le composant, nous avons utilisé une modélisation statistique qui permet de considérer la nature hiérarchique et multidimensionnelle de la motivation.»  

Deux catégories de motivations régulent le comportement des individus: les motivations autonomes, reliées aux besoins psychologiques fondamentaux des individus (faire preuve de compétences, se sentir responsable de ses actes) et les motivations contrôlées, liées aux avantages ou aux pressions sociales qui entourent la profession (les grandes vacances, une famille d’enseignants). «On sait que ces différentes régulations ont des impacts divers sur le comportement et le bien-être des individus. En effet, les motivations contrôlées ont des conséquences négatives alors que les motivations autonomes ont des conséquences positives», ajoute Julien Chanal. A ce côté multidimensionnel, il faut considérer simultanément un second niveau de hiérarchie des motivations : les motivations situationnelles, –à savoir les diverses tâches à effectuer dans le cadre d’un travail donné–, et les motivations contextuelles, c’est-à-dire les raisons générales qui poussent l’individu à choisir une profession. 

Pour le métier d’enseignant, six motivations situationnelles ont été mesurées : la préparation des cours, l’enseignement, l’évaluation des élèves, la gestion de la classe, les tâches administratives (gestion des absences, rencontres avec les parents, etc.) et les tâches complémentaires (surveillance à midi, activité extrascolaire, etc), en plus de la motivation contextuelle relative à la motivation pour faire ce travail.

«Pour faire le lien entre les différentes motivations liées à l’enseignement et les symptômes du burn-out, nous avons envoyé un questionnaire à 806 enseignants de primaire et de secondaire au Québec francophone, qui tous travaillaient depuis moins de cinq ans», expose Claude Fernet, professeur au Département des ressources humaines de l’Université du Québec à Trois-Rivières. L’objectif était de comprendre comment les différents facteurs situationnels et contextuels généraient une bonne insertion dans la profession ou au contraire des symptômes d’épuisement et ce, sur la durée. 

Cibler les causes pour prévenir les burn-out

Afin de pouvoir analyser les résultats des questionnaires, les chercheurs ont donc développé une nouvelle modélisation statistique qui considère simultanément l’ensemble des motivations, à savoir la motivation contextuelle et les six motivations spécifiques, dans le but d’identifier les motivations qui agissent sur les symptômes du burn-out et le prévenir. 

Il ressort de cette analyse qu’au niveau contextuel (pourquoi la personne a choisi ce métier), les motivations autonomes jouent un véritable rôle de protection pour prévenir l’épuisement professionnel. Dans un même temps, les motivations contrôlées ont relativement peu d’impact négatif. Au contraire, au niveau situationnel (les tâches liées à la profession), les motivations autonomes ont un faible effet de protection, alors que les motivations contrôlées ont un fort impact négatif sur l’épuisement émotionnel. «Ceci permet de cibler l’endroit où il faut impérativement agir et la manière dont on peut le faire pour prévenir les burn-out, à savoir ici les tâches au niveau situationnel plutôt que le contexte global de l’enseignement et de la formation des enseignants», précise Frédéric Guay, professeur au Département des fondements et pratiques en éducation de l’Université de Laval. 

Concernant l’enseignement au Québec, les tâches complémentaires et les tâches administratives sont celles qui ont le plus fort impact sur l’épuisement émotionnel, premier symptôme du burn-out. Celui-ci est en général suivi par une dépersonnalisation (se sentir moins attaché à son travail), puis par un sentiment d’incompétence. Il faut alors agir sur les motivations contrôlées au niveau situationnel pour contrer cette escalade de symptômes qui poussent les jeunes enseignants à quitter la profession. Ces résultats incitent au développement d’interventions dans le secteur de l’éducation susceptibles de minimiser les contraintes psychosociales liées au travail, favoriser la motivation des enseignants lors de l’insertion et diminuer les risques de désertion professionnelle. «Notre modèle hiérarchique et multidimensionnel de la motivation est applicable à toutes les professions. Il faut à présent l’utiliser afin de prévenir les burn-out, plutôt que de les guérir», conclut Julien Chanal.

 

Contact: Julien Chanal, +41 22 379 90 83

 

 

14 novembre 2017
  2017