Institut des Etudes genre

The Institute of Gender Studies aims to unite and develop research on gender issues at the University of Geneva. It places its activities within the broader context of the Graduate School in Gender Studies of Fracophone Switzerland in which it is actively involved, as well as the cooperative project "Gender Studies Switzerland", supported by the Swiss Universities Conference, in which it participates. Boasting numerous international collaborations, the Institute aims to contribute to the development of international networks in this field.

 

The gender studies field is innovative in that it offers a gendered reading of the social world and the power relations that constitute it. It examines how socially constructed gender differences are inscribed in social practices, daily arrangements of life, and normative systems and representations. The subjects addressed at the Institute are thus varied: rights, equality, authority, knowledge, sexuality, culture, and identity. In order understand social dynamics through a gender perspective, several disciplines interact within the Institute (eg sociology, history, anthropology, political science) proposing various methodologies and a transversal view of the subject.

 

Supported by an experienced team who have developed both research in Gender Studies, as well as academic course offerings (Master's, bachelor, certificate) at the University of Geneva, the Institute pursues a dual goal of scientific excellence and accesibility to the public. The Institute is headed by Prof. Lorena Parini, specialist in Gender Studies.

 

Please contact Dir. Lorena Parini to join the Institute.

Institut des Etudes genre

L'Institut des Etudes genre a vocation à fédérer et développer les recherches sur les questions de genre à l'Université de Genève. Il inscrit ses activités dans le cadre plus large de l'Ecole Doctorale Suisse Romande en Etudes Genre dont il est partie prenante et du projet de coopération "Gender Studies Schweiz", soutenu par la Conférence Universitaire Suisse, auquel il participe. Bénéficiant de nombreuses collaborations internationales, l'Institut a vocation à participer au développement de réseaux internationaux dans ce domaine.

Champ novateur et haut lieu d'échanges, les Etudes genre (Gender Studies) proposent une lecture sexuée du monde social et des rapports de pouvoir qui le traversent. Elles s’intéressent à la façon dont les différences socialement construites sur la base du sexe sont inscrites dans les pratiques sociales, les arrangements de la vie quotidienne aussi bien que les systèmes normatifs et les représentations. Les thématiques abordées dans l’Institut sont donc variées : droits, égalité, pouvoirs, savoirs, sexualités, cultures, identité. Pour appréhender le social dans une perspective de genre, plusieurs disciplines dialoguent au sein de l’Institut (sociologie, histoire, anthropologie, science politique, etc.) proposant des méthodologies diverses et un regard transversal sur le social.

Appuyé sur une équipe expérimentée ayant développé l’offre de formation (maîtrise, bachelor formation continue) et de recherche en Etudes Genre à l’Université de Genève, l’Institut poursuit un double objectif d’excellence scientifique et d’ouverture sur la Cité. L’Institut est dirigé par la Prof. Delphine Gardey, historienne et spécialiste des Etudes genre.

 

Prendre contact avec sa directrice Delphine Gardey pour s'affilier à l'Institut.