Limnology and environmental geology

The research activities of the group of 'Limnology and environmental geology' address issues that lie at the interface between geology, geochemistry and environmental sciences, mainly centered on issues related to aquatic environments and geology of the Anthropocene.

The main research domains focus on:

Processes of transfer, settling and reworking of sediment and associated pollutant, especially mercury, in natural lacustrine and artificial reservoir settings (Jean-Luc LOIZEAU and Walter WILDI; limnology, geochemistry and radioisotopes geochemistry). Projects MERCURO, LEMAN21.

 

 The dynamics of peri-alpine lacustrine and deltaic sedimentary systems on short (decades) and medium (centuries) terms by studying sediment delivery linked to geological and hydrological events (Stephanie Girardclos Department of Earth Science and Institute for Environmental Science, sedimentology, seismic reflection, multibeam echosounder, Walter WILDI and Jean-Luc LOIZEAU). SEDFATE project

 

Environmental behaviour of less-studied trace elements such as Sb and technology-critical elements (Nb, Ta, Ga, In, Ge, Te), including the development of new analytical methods and the determination of thermodynamic and kinetic parameters. Long-term temporal trends of trace elements and natural organic matter concentrations in freshwaters. Role of biomineralisation in freshwaters. Plastics. (Montserrat FILELLA, chemistry of aquatic environments).

 

 Members of the group are active in several interdisciplinary projects in Switzerland and abroad (see personal pages) in collaboration with Southern countries. They also have a privileged relationship with the scientific group 'Limnogeology and Geomicrobiology' Department of Earth Sciences, with whom they share projects, equipment and laboratories.

Many courses, tutorials and workshops are taught by teachers of the 'Limnology and environmental geology' group at Bachelor (Earth and Environmental Sciences) and master levels Master in Geology (ELSTE), Master in Environmental sciences (MUSE). The complete list arranged by teacher or by theme is available in the Course Catalogue of the University of Geneva.

The team is also very involved in outreach activities through mandates, scientific mediation and publications to the attention of the general public (see Services).

top

Limnologie et géologie de l'environnement


Dans ses activités de recherche, le groupe ‘Limnologie et géologie de l’environnement’ répond à de nombreuses questions qui sont à l’interface entre géologie, géochimie et environnement, essentiellement centrées sur les problématiques liées aux milieux aquatiques et à la géologie de l’Anthropocène.

Les principaux axes de recherches du groupe portent sur les domaines suivants:

Les processus de transfert, de sédimentation et de remobilisation des sédiments et des polluants, en particulier le mercure, dans les milieux lacustres naturels et les réservoirs artificiels  (Jean-Luc LOIZEAU et Walter WILDI; limnologie, géochimie et géochimie radioisotopique). Projets MERCURO, LEMAN21

 

La dynamique des systèmes sédimentaires lacustres et deltaïques péri-alpins à court (décennies) et moyen (siècles) termes par l’étude des apports liées aux événements géologiques et hydrologiques (Stéphanie GIRARDCLOS du Département des Sciences de la Terre et ISE, sédimentologie, sismique réflexion, échosondeur multifaisceaux ; Walter WILDI et Jean-Luc LOIZEAU). Projet SEDFATE 

 

La matière organique dans les eaux douces, de sa caractérisation et quantification des différents types à l’évolution de ses concentrations liée aux changements climatiques ;  la spéciation chimique des éléments trace peu étudiés comme Sb, Te, Nb (aspects thermodynamiques et cynétiques) (Montserrat FILELLA, chimie des milieux aquatiques).

 

Les membres du groupe sont actifs dans plusieurs projets interdisciplinaires en Suisse et à l'étranger (voir pages personnelles), dans la collaboration avec les pays du Sud . Par ailleurs ils/elles entretiennent une relation scientifique privilégiée avec le groupe 'Limnogéologie et Géomicrobiologie'  du Département des sciences de la Terre, avec lequel ils partagent des projets, des équipements et des laboratoires.

De nombreux cours, travaux pratiques et ateliers sont dispensés par les enseignant(e)s du groupe ‘Limnologie et géologie de l’environnement‘ dans le cadre du Bachelor en sciences de la Terre et de l’environnement, du Master en géologie (ELSTE) et du Master en sciences de l’environnement (MUSE). La liste exhaustive est  répertoriée par enseignant(e) ou par thème dans le Catalogue des cours de l’Université de Genève.

L’équipe est également très impliquée dans les services et conseils à la Cité à travers des mandats, de la médiation scientifique et des publications à l’attention du grand-public (voir la rubrique Services à la Cité).

top