ZEISS logo

ZEISS Research Award

There are many different ways ZEISS promotes science. In 1990 the company created the Carl Zeiss Research Award for outstanding achievements in the field of optics. The award has been advertised 13 times and awarded to a total of 20 recipients. Many award-winners have subsequently received other important distinctions e.g. four Carl Zeiss Research Award recipients have won the Nobel Prize.

The ZEISS Research Award, the successor to the Carl Zeiss Research Award, was conferred for the first time in 2016. This new award continues the principle of the Carl Zeiss Research Award which was bestowed by the Ernst Abbe Fund in the Donors' Association for the Promotion of Sciences and the Humanities in Germany.

The ZEISS Research Award is presented and sponsored exclusively by ZEISS. Outstanding achievements in international research are honored.

The award is worth a total of 40,000 euros.

ZEISS Research Award web site link

ZEISS 2018 Research Award link