Faculty & Research

Awards & Distinctions



Awards & prizes

Prof. Rajna Gibson Brandon and Prof. Philipp Krueger
were awarded with the Best Quantitative Paper Prize (2017) at the PRI Academic Network Conference in Berlin for their research paper "the sustainability footprint of institutional investors".

Prof. Salvatore Di Falco
received the Best paper Award at the XV Congress (2017) of the European Association of Agricultural Economists for his paper entitled "Time Variant Risk Preferences In Agriculture: Evidences From Italy" co-authored with two ETHZ Professors: Martina Bozzola et Robert Finger.

Prof. Martin Hoesli
received the Prize for the best paper in the Real Estate Market Analysis category presented at the 2017 American Real Estate Society Conference.  The paper is entitled “Revisiting the House Price-Income Relationship”.

Paola Pederzoli
, PhD candidate, and Prof. Olivier Scaillet
won the nomination prize for the Swiss Derivative Award 2017 for the paper : "Early Exercise Decision in American Options with Dividends, Stochastic Volatility and Jumps".

Elisabeth Pröhl
, teaching assistant and PhD candidate,
won the James B. Ramsey Prize for the best doctoral paper in econometrics at the Annual Symposium of the Society for Nonlinear Dynamics and Econometrics.


Prof. Jaya Krishnakumar
has been invited to serve as a member of the Advisory Panel for the 2017 Human Development Report (HDR).

Prof. Frédéric Robert-Nicoud
has been appointed as an Editor of the Journal of Economic Geography.

Prof. Olivier Scaillet
has been appointed as an Associate Editor of the Journal of Econometrics.

Prof. Martin Hoesli
has been elected President of the International Real Estate Society.



Prof. Giacomo De Giorgi
was awarded the Excellence in Refereeing Award 2016 conferred by the American Economic Review.



Prof. Olivier Scaillet
was appointed Treasurer of the European Standing Committee of the Econometric Society.

Prof. Frédéric Robert-Nicoud
has been invited to become a member of the Conseil scientifique des économistes of the Société du Grand Paris.



Prof. Michele Pellizzari 
was awarded the Royal Economic Society Prize for the Best Paper published in the Economic Journal in the year 2014 for his paper: Understanding Social Interactions: Evidence from the Classroom. The Economic Journal, 124(579), 917-953, co-authored with Prof. Giacomo De Giorgi.

Prof. Tony Berrada
received the Best paper award - mathematical finance days Montréal - 2014

Prof. Salvatore Di Falco
won the International Geneva Award, awarded by the Swiss Network for International Studies (SNIS) for his paper: How Can African Agriculture Adapt to Climate Change? A Counterfactual Analysis from Ethiopia"  published in Land Economics

Prof. Rajna Gibson Brandon & Prof. Ines Chaieb
received a Dauphine-Amundi chair in Asset Management prize for the paper Integration of Sovereign Bonds Markets: Time Variation and Maturity Effects with Prof. Vihang Errunza.

   AACSB-logo-member-color-RGB.png        AMBA-logo-Acc-Colour.gif          EFMD-NewLogo2013-HR_colours.png