Master's Programs

The Master Russia - East Central Europe

image_page_marem.jpg

 

The Master Russia - East Central Europe offers specialised education on Russia and the countries comprising East Central Europe. Historically, these are the countries formed after the dissolution of the USSR as well as those which had a shared destiny due to the establishment of communist regimes on their soil. After the collapse of the Soviet bloc and the fall of these regimes, these countries became sovereign states. However, most of them remain linked, whether geographically, culturally, linguistically, or as a result of their shared history of communism.

This Master's programme is interdisciplinary: while history and cultural studies are the dominant foci, other disciplines such as economics and political science are also mobilised in various ways within the curriculum. The interactions and connections between Russia and East Central Europe and other regional contexts are also explored.

To complete their degree, students may opt for a work placement or a dissertation. The work placement aims to prepare students for professional activity and requires that students write a final report about the experience gained, while the dissertation prepares students for academic research.

useful information


DURATION OF STUDIES

2 years (4 semesters)

LANGUAGE OF INSTRUCTION

French
Passive knowledge of English recommended.

ADMISSIONS CONDITIONS

Bachelor or equivalent degree.
Admission based on application file.
unige.ch/gsi/fr/programmes/marem

STUDY PROGRAMME

4 semesters (max. 6 semesters) | 120 ECTS credits
Required courses from the core curriculum
30 credits

  •  History of the USSR in international relations
  •  History of Central and Eastern Europe (1929-1989)
  •  History of Ukraine (19th to 21st centuries)
  •  The economics of Central and Eastern Europe
  •  Critical approach to the division of the world

Specialised courses
48 credits
Concentration in one or more areas of the core curriculum.
Electives
12 credits
Internship, thesis, "Geneva Global" programme
30 credits

LEVEL OF FRENCH REQUIRED BY UNIGE

Eliminatory general test for non-Francophones, with the exception of the following cases: www.unige.ch/frenchexam

MOBILITY

Due to the brevity of the programme, Master's students are permitted to go on exchange for one semester maximum. Students may go on exchange as early as their third semester but may earn no more than 30 credits at another university. The dissertation cannot be substituted.
www.unige.ch/exchange

PROFESSIONAL PROSPECTS

With the integration of certain East-Central European states in the European Union and NATO and Russia's complex relationships with NATO, the EU and its close neighbors, there is a clear and urgent need for specialists in various sectors, including international and regional organisations, national and European institutions, and journalism.

UNIVERSITY TAXES

500 CHF / semester

APPLICATION

Registration period for the academic period 2019-2020 : from January 2 to February 28, 2019.

Masters

Master Russie - Europe médiane

image_page_marem.jpg

Présentation du Master RUSSIE-EUROPE MÉDIANE

Le Master Russie-Europe médiane offre un parcours de spécialisation unique sur la Russie et les pays de l'Europe médiane. Sur le plan historique, il s'agit des pays nés de la désintégration du bloc de l'Est et qui ont ensuite acquis le statut d'États indépendants. Toutefois, ces pays restent pour la plupart liés par leur proximité soit géographique, soit culturelle, soit linguistique, ainsi que par l'héritage de leur ancienne appartenance à l'espace soviétique. De nos jours, ces liens se manifestent tant par la présence de zones de conflits et de tensions, comme en Ukraine ou dans le Caucase, que par la création de nouvelles organisations multilatérales, notamment l'Union économique eurasiatique ou le Groupe de Visegrad.

Ce Master n'est pas disciplinaire : si l'histoire contemporaine et les études slaves occupent une place importante dans les enseignements, la géopolitique, les sciences politiques et économiques sont également mobilisées à des titres divers dans le programme des enseignements. Enfin, l'espace Russie - Europe médiane est envisagé dans ses interactions et connexions avec d'autres espaces régionaux, notamment le Caucase, l'Asie orientale et l'Asie centrale.

Pour clore leur cursus, les étudiants choisissent entre un stage (qui s'inscrit dans une démarche professionnalisante) ou un mémoire (qui prépare aux métiers de la recherche).

Perspectives professionnelles
L’intégration d’une partie des Etats de l’Europe médiane dans l’Union européenne et dans l’OTAN, les liens de l’Union européenne avec ces pays, les relations complexes de la Russie tant avec l’OTAN et l’Union européenne qu’avec ses voisins proches sont autant de facteurs qui mettent en évidence le besoin de spécialistes capables d’intervenir dans des secteurs variés, notamment dans les organisations internationales et régionales, dans les institutions nationales et européennes, ou encore dans le domaine du journalisme.

Informations complémentaires:
Présentation du Master Russie - Europe médiane (brochure PDF)

Pour avoir des renseignements au niveau du plan d'étude, du règlement, des horaires d'enseignements et des stages, nous vous invitons à visiter la rubrique Espace étudiants du Master Russie-Europe médiane.

Inscription

Nous n’acceptons plus de candidatures pour la période académique 2018-2019.

Période des inscriptions pour l'année académique 2019-2020 : 1er décembre 2018 au 28 février 2019
Pour vous inscrire, nous vous invitons à vous rendre sur la page d'inscription.