Instruction offered by the University of Geneva is structured according to the principles of the Bologna reform, with three main study cycles: the Bachelor, the Master and the Doctorate. Most programmes include compulsory and optional courses. The latter may be taken in other faculties, or at other universities, depending on the circumstances. Instruction is mainly offered in the form of courses given ex cathedra, seminars and practical work. 



The baccalauréat universitaire or Bachelor, the initial basic degree, as a rule requires 180 ECTS credits1 over three years of full-time study. Bachelor’s programmes provide basic skills in a discipline, as well as academic methodology. 

The maîtrise universitaire or Master, the second basic degree, requires 90 to 120 credits over three or four semesters of study. Master’s programmes provide advanced general study of a discipline or field, as well as an initial encounter with research. They may be limited to one discipline or interdisciplinary, focused on research or professional practice, and offer a range of specializations. 

The doctorate (Ph.D.) is a research-based course lasting between six and ten semesters, at the end of which candidates must submit and defend a dissertation. It follows on from a Master’s degree. 

Continuing Education: University continuing education programmes offer pathways for acquiring and developing knowledge and obtaining further qualifications. They open new career prospects and accompany personal development.