Strategic partnerships

Since 2011, UNIGE has been developing a policy of strategic partnerships to pro-actively participate in the development of alliances between the world's top universities and target its efforts in international collaboration.

This policy aims at reinforcing and deepening the University's relationships with a selected group of partner universities, while of course staying open to collaboration with other institutions. These relationships will generate a larger volume of collaborative activities, facilitating the emergence and development of synergies.

During the past years, strategic partnerships have been established with a group of existing partners. They are based on the systematic facilitation of contacts between researchers, the definition of common priority areas, reciprocal visits to foster and reinforce interpersonal links on academic and central level, common research projects, etc.

The institution's mid-term objective is a network of 10-15 partner institutions in the world for facilitated collaboration, selected on the following general criteria:

  • Comprehensive universities
  • Comparable reputation to UNIGE
  • Pre-existing formal or informal collaborations in several areas

  • Strategic nature of the partnership for both institutions

These partnerships will foster development in several domains, such as:

  • Coordinated training programs
  • Joint research
  • Seed funding for joint projects
  • Pooling of resources towards grants and fundraising
  • Online education (MOOCs) 

A key objective of UNIGE's strategic partnerships is to highlight and develop pre-existing informal collaborations between the institutions. Members of the UNIGE academic community are welcome to inform the International Relations Office of ongoing activities with these universities in particular.

top

Partenariats stratégiques

Depuis 2011, l’UNIGE met en place une politique de partenariats stratégiques afin de s’intégrer de façon proactive dans un jeu d’alliances qui se développe entre les grandes universités du monde et de concentrer ses efforts en matière de collaboration internationale.

Cette politique vise à renforcer et approfondir les relations avec un groupe restreint d’universités choisies, tout en restant clairement ouvert aux collaborations avec d’autres institutions. Elle permet que ces partenariats atteignent une masse critique qui facilite l'émergence de synergies et leur développement.

Des partenariats stratégiques ont été lancés avec quelques institutions partenaires au cours des dernières années. Ils se basent sur la mise en contact de chercheurs, la recherche de domaines complémentaires à prioriser, des visites et séjours réciproques pour consolider les liens interpersonnels au niveau académique et administratif, des projets de recherche communs, etc.

A moyen terme, l’objectif est de disposer d’un réseau de 10-15 partenaires stratégiques à travers le monde avec lesquels la collaboration sera facilitée, sur la base des critères généraux suivants:

  • Universités généralistes
  • Réputation comparable à celle de l’UNIGE
  • Collaboration formelle en place ou collaboration informelle dans plusieurs domaines
  • Caractère stratégique de l'alliance pour les deux institutions

Les partenariats stratégiques mis en place doivent permettre des développements dans plusieurs domaines:

  • Formations coordonnées
  • Recherche commune
  • Fonds d'impulsion pour des projets conjoints
  • Mise en commun des forces pour la recherche de fonds, bourses et subventions
  • Développement de formations en ligne (MOOCs) 

Un objectif clé des partenariats stratégiques est de mettre en valeur et de développer les collaborations informelles qui existent entre les institutions concernées; nous sommes donc reconnaissants aux membres de la communauté académique de l'UNIGE de bien vouloir nous informer d’éventuelles collaborations avec ces universités en particulier.

top