The program of the conference is available with abstracts Full Program iWOE25  and without Short Program iWOE25.


Sunday, 30th September 2018

17h00     Registration in the hotel

19h30     Dinner


Monday, 1st October 2018

08h00     Registration

08h45     Welcome and opening remarks

               Oral Session 1: Detection of symmetry breaking - Chair: Philippe Ghosez, University of Liège

09h00     Patrick Maletinsky (University of Basel) - Single spin magnetic sensing of mesoscopic condensed matter systems

09h30     Tobia Nova (MPI Hamburg) - Light-induced symmetry breaking in SrTiO3

09h45     Gustau Catalan (ICREA -ICN2) - Breaking not-so-bad: fracture flexoelectricity

10h00     Woo Seok Choi (Sungkyunkwan University) - Ferroelectricity in 1D tetrahedral chain network via combined polar distortion

10h30     Coffee break

               Oral Session 2: Collective states in transition metal oxides - Chair: Charles Ahn, Yale University

11h00     Nicola Spaldin (ETH Zürich)Connecting ferroelectricity and superconductivity in SrTiO3

11h30     Nicolas Bergeal (Université Pierre and Marie Curie) - Superfluid stiffness in oxide interfaces

11h45     Diogo Vaz (CNRS, Thales) - Enhanced spin-to-charge conversion through topological states in SrTiO3-based two-dimensional electron gases

12h00     Rui Peng (Fudan University) - Revealing the role of the interface in the high-temperature superconductivity of single-layer FeSe/SrTiO3

12h30     Lunch

14h00     Poster Session A - Chair: Jean-Marc Triscone, University of Geneva

               Oral Session 3: Ruthenates - Chair: Ralph Claessen, Universitat Würzburg

15h30     Antoine Georges (The Flatiron Institute - Collège de France) - Sr2RuO4: a precision laboratory for electronic correlations

16h00     Sara Ricco (University of Geneva) - In-situ strain-tuning of the metal-insulator-transition of Ca2RuO4 in angleresolved photoemission experiments

16h15     Andrew Millis (The Flatiron Institute - Columbia University) - Electron-lattice coupling in correlated electron materials: Ca2RuO4 and beyond

16h30     25th anniversary of the iWOE celebration

18h00     Hideomi Koinuma (University of Tokyo) - Smart Combinatorial Drone for exploring a new frontier of oxide and molecular electronics

20h00     Dinner


Tuesday, 2nd October 2018


               Oral Session 4: Complex Oxide Interfaces - Chair: Darrell Schlom, Cornell University

08h45     Karin Rabe (Rutgers University) - Charge transfer and charge order in functional perovskite superlattices from first principles

09h15     Gabriele De Luca (University of Zürich - ETH Zürich) - Real-time observation of polarization emergence in ultrathin ferroelectric oxide heterostructures

09h30     Nagarajan Valanoor (University of New South Wales) - Topological transitions in ultrathin ferroelectric films

09h45     Nicolas Gauquelin (EMAT - Antwerp) - Electron microscopy study of the Metal-Insulator Transition in nickelate superlattices

10h00     Naoya Shibata (University of Tokyo) - Direct electromagnetic field imaging of interfaces by advanced STEM

10h30     Coffee break

               Oral Session 5: Spin-orbit coupling at polar surfaces and interfaces - Chair: Manuel Bibes, CNRS Thales

11h00     Phil King (University of St Andrews) - Maximal Rashba-like spin splittings and intrinsic Stoner instabilities at polar surfaces of delafossite oxides

11h30     Alexander Demkov (University of Texas) - A theoretical investigation of graphene on a polar SrTiO3 (111) surface

11h45     Marco Salluzzo (CNR-SPIN) - Orbital reconstruction and spin polarization in (100) and (111) LaAlO3/SrTiO3 and LaAlO3/EuTiO3/SrTiO3 q2DEG

12h00     Karsten Held (TU Wien) - Ferromagnetism and quantum anomalous Hall state in SrRuO3 (111)

12h30     Lunch

               Oral Session 6: Oxides and their functionalities - Chair: Guus Rijnders, University of Twente

14h00     Nazanin Bassiri-Gharb (Georgia Institute of Technology) - Antiferroelectric PbZrO3 thin films with multiple phase transitions

14h30     Taro Hitosugi (Tokyo Institute of Technology) - A high Li-ion conductivity at solid-electrolyte and electrode interfaces: introducing oxide epitaxial thin-film

               technology to battery research

14h45     Jon-Paul Maria (Pennsylvania State University) - All-oxide IR devices based on high-mobility CdO thin films

15h00     Amalia Ballarino (CERN) - Superconducting materials for accelerators: an overview of state-of the art performance and future needs

15h30     Coffee break and group photograph

               Oral Session 7: Metal-insulator transitions and Mott physics - Chair: Chang-Beom Eom, University of Wisconsin, Madison

16h00     Xiaoxing Xi (Temple University) - Nature of the metal-insulator transition in few-unit-cell-thick LaNiO3 films

16h30     Philipp Scheiderer (Universität Würzburg) - Tailoring materials for Mottronics: excess oxygen doping of a prototypical Mott insulator

16h45     Sophie Beck (ETH Zürich) - Metal-Insulator Transition in thin films and multilayers of early transition metal oxides from DFT+DMFT

17h00     Poster Session B - Chair: Stefano Gariglio, University of Geneva

20h00     Conference dinner


Wednesday 3rd October 2018


               Oral Session 8: Complex oxide materials design - Chair: Chris Leighton, University of Minnesota

08h45     James Rondinelli (Northwestern University) - Valence precision and transparent band conductors in complex oxides

09h15     Jaap Geessinck (University of Twente) - Charge transfer at the LaCoO3-LaTiO3 interface

09h30     Hari Nair (Cornell University) - Growth of superconducting Sr2RuO4 thin films

09h45     Gervasi Herranz (ICMAB-CSIC) - In-situ imaging of electric field-induced ferroelastic domain motion in SrTiO3

10h00     Yoshinori Tokura (RIKEN - University of Tokyo) - Emergent properties of Dirac and Weyl semimetals of iridates

10h30     Coffee break

               Oral Session 9: Topological textures in oxides - Chair: Marc Gabay, Université Paris-Sud

11h00     Andrea Caviglia (Delft University of Technology) - Berry phase engineering at oxide interfaces

11h30     Kei Takahashi (RIKEN) - Quantum transport in the films of a magnetic semiconductor EuTiO3

11h45     Lingfei Wang (Seoul National University) - Ferroelectrically tunable magnetic skyrmions in ultrathin oxide heterostructures

12h00     Xiaoqing Pan (University of California) - Effects of ferroelectric polarization at oxide interfaces

12h30     Poster awards and closing remarks

12h45     Lunch



Information for Presenters:

Invited oral: 25 minutes plus 5 minutes Q&A

Contributed oral: 12 minutes plus 3 minutes Q&A

Posters: Poster board dimensions are 116 cm x 116 cm

International Workshop on Oxide Electronics 25 - program