Antti Knowles receives a ERC Starting grant

ERC

Assistant professor Antti Knowles received a ERC Starting Grant from the European Research Council (ERC). This new grant RandMat adds to the four ERC Advanced grants currently held at the Section of Mathematics by Professors Anton Alekseev (MODFLAT) Stanislav Smirnov (COMPASP), Grigory Mikhalkin (TROPGEO) et Jean-Pierre Eckmann (BRIDGES).

RandMat - Spectral statistics of structured random matrices

Alekseev
Recipient of the grant
Prof. Antti Knowles
ERC Starting Grant
(01/03/2017 - 28/02/2022)

The purpose of this project is to answer fundamental questions about several important classes of random matrices, using techniques from analysis, probability, combinatorics, and theoretical physics. The past decade has seen several breakthroughs in our understanding of the distribution of eigenvalues and eigenvectors of large random matrices. Much of this effort has focused on mean-field random matrices with independent entries. Instead, this project proposes to investigate random matrices with some nontrivial structure that arises naturally in important applications and leads to a rich mathematical behaviour. The two main classes are:

  1. random graphs with fixed degrees, such as random regular graphs,
  2. random band matrices, which constitute a good model of disordered quantum Hamiltonians.

The goals are strongly motivated by the applications to spectral graph theory and quantum chaos for (1) and to the physics of conductance in disordered media for (2). These results will address several of the salient questions about the structured random matrices (1) and (2), such as expansion properties of random graphs, hallmarks of quantum chaos in random regular graphs, crossovers in the eigenvalue statistics of disordered conductors, and quantum diffusion.

top

Antti Knowles reçoit un ERC Starting grant

ERC

Le professeur assistant Antti Knowles a reçu un ERC Starting Grant décerné par le Conseil européen de la recherche (ERC). Ce nouveau subside s'ajoute aux quatre ERC Advanced Grant dont bénéficient les professeurs de la Section de mathématiques, Anton Alekseev (MODFLAT) Stanislav Smirnov (COMPASP), Grigory Mikhalkin (TROPGEO) et Jean-Pierre Eckmann (BRIDGES).

RandMat - Spectral statistics of structured random matrices

Alekseev
Bénéficiaire de la bourse
Prof. Antti Knowles
ERC Starting Grant
(01/03/2017 - 28/02/2022)

Le but de ce projet est de répondre à des questions fondamentales sur plusieurs classes importantes de matrices aléatoires, en utilisant des techniques d'analyse, de probabilités, de la combinatoire et de la physique théorique. Au cours de la dernière décennie, plusieurs percées ont eu lieu dans notre compréhension de la distribution des valeurs et vecteurs propres de grandes matrices aléatoires. Une grande partie de ce travail a porté sur des matrices aléatoires de type champ moyen, avec des coefficients indépendants. Dans ce projet, en revanche, nous proposons un étude de matrices aléatoires possédant une structure non triviale, qui apparaît naturellement dans des applications et qui donne lieu à un riche comportement mathématique. Les deux classes étudiées sont

  1. les graphes aléatoires à degrés fixés, tels que les graphes réguliers aléatoires,
  2. les matrices à bande aléatoires, qui représentent un bon modèle d'Hamiltonien quantique en présence de désordre.

Les objectifs sont motivés par les applications à la théorie spectrale des graphes et le chaos quantique pour (1) et à la physique de la conduction dans des milieux désordonnés pour (2). Ces résultats répondront à plusieurs questions fondamentales sur les matrices aléatoires (1) et (2), telles que le taux d'expansion de graphes aléatoires, le chaos quantique dans des graphes aléatoires réguliers, les transitions dans la distribution des valeurs propres de conducteurs désordonnés et la diffusion quantique.

top