Research groups

[140] Phagocytosis

Host-pathogen relationships : recognition, phagocytosis and killing of bacteria.

 

Phagocytosis is the process by which eucaryotic cells ingest big particles (>1µm), for example bacteria. Phagocytic cells such as macrophages are an essential element in the defense of the human body against infectious microorganisms. To understand at the molecular level how perform and control phagocytosis, we are making use of a model phagocytic cell, the amoeba Dictyostelium discoideum. Amoebae phagocytose bacteria to feed upon them, and the molecular mechanisms involved are very similar to thors observed in mammalian phagocytic cells.

 

Using this simple system, we are studying the role of various gene porducts in phagocytic cells. Our aim is to understand how a cell can sense different types of bacteria, how it ingests them, and how it kills them. Some facets of this process (ingestion phase) have been relatively well studied, others (intracellular killing) are still poorly understood. Our results indicate that different-and largely uncharacterized- mechanisms ensure killing of different types of bacteria. We are also using cultured cells to validate our findings in mammalian cells.

 

Many species of pathogenic bacteria have developed strategies to survive their encounter with phagocytic cells, enabling them to infect human patients. We are also studying these bacterial survival strategies, notably those used by Pseudomonas aeruginosa, Klebsiella pneumoniae and Mycobacterium marinum.

 

These various themes (phagocytosis, recognition and killing of bacteria, host-pathogen relationships) are linked both conceptually and at the experimental level.

 

Pierre Cosson holds the Doerenkamp-Naef-Zbinden chair at the Faculty of Medicine, dedicated to the development of alternatives to animal experimentation.

Groupes de recherche

[140] Phagocytose

Relations hôte-pathogènes : reconnaissance, phagocytose et destruction des bactéries

 

La phagocytose est le processus par lequel des cellules eucaryotes ingèrent de grosses particules (>1µm), par exemple des bactéries. Les cellules phagocytiques comme les macrophages sont un élément essentiel pour la défense du corps humain contre les microorganismes infectieux. Pour comprendre au niveau moléculaire comment la phagocytose est assurée et contrôlée, nous utilisons une cellule phagocytique modèle qui se prête à des analyses génétiques, l’amibe Dictyostelium discoideum. Ces amibes phagocytosent des bactéries pour s’en nourrir et les mécanismes moléculaires mis en jeu sont très proches de ceux observés chez des cellules de mammifères.

 

A l’aide de ce système simple, nous étudions le rôle de diverses protéines dans les cellules phagocytiques. Il s’agit de comprendre comment une cellule peut sentir divers types de bactéries, comment elle les ingère, puis comment elle les tue. Certaines facettes de ces processus (phase d’ingestion) ont été relativement bien étudiées, d’autres (comment une cellule tue une bactérie) sont encore peu comprises. Nos résultats indiquent que des mécanismes très différents et largement inconnus sont mis en jeu pour tuer différents types de bactéries. Nous utilisons également des cellules en culture pour valider nos découvertes chez des cellules de mammifères.

 

Différentes espèces de bactéries pathogènes ont développé des stratégies pour échapper aux cellules phagocytiques, ce qui leur permet d’infecter des patients. Nous étudions également ces stratégies de survie bactérienne, notamment celles mises en place par Pseudomonas aeruginosa, Klebsiella pneumoniae et Mycobacterium marinum.

 

Ces différents thèmes (phagocytose, reconnaissance et destruction des bactéries, relations hôte-pathogène) sont liés au niveau conceptuel comme au niveau expérimental.

 

Pierre Cosson occupe la chaire Doerenkamp-Naef-Zbinden consacrée au développement de méthodes alternatives à l’expérimentation animale.