Definitions

Research Data

Research data are factual records (numerical scores, textual records, images and sounds) used as primary sources for scientific research, and that are commonly accepted in the scientific community as necessary to validate research findings. [Source: OECD]

Data Management Plan (DMP)

A data management plan is a document outlining how the research data collected or generated will be handled during a research project, and after it is completed, describing what data will be collected/generated and following what methodology and standards, whether and how this data will be shared and/or made open, and how it will be curated and preserved. [Source: European Commission]

Repository / Data repository

Data repository is a somewhat general term used to refer to a destination designated for data storage. However, many IT experts use the term more specifically to refer to a particular kind of setup within an overall IT structure, such as a group of databases, where an enterprise or organization has chosen to keep various kinds of data. [Source: Technopedia]

Définitions

Données de la recherche

Les données de la recherche sont des enregistrements factuels (chiffres, textes, images et sons) utilisés comme sources principales pour la recherche scientifique et sont généralement reconnus par la communauté scientifique comme nécessaires pour valider des résultats de recherche. [Source: OECD]

Plan de gestion des données

Un plan de gestion des données (Data Management Plan, DMP) est un document décrivant la manière dont les données de la recherche collectées ou générées seront traitées au cours d'un projet de recherche, et une fois terminé. Ce plan décrit quelles données vont être collectées/générées, et en fonction de la méthodologie et des normes, si et comment ces données seront partagées et/ou ouvertes, et comment elles seront organisées et préservées. [Source: European Commission]

Dépôt de données

Un dépôt de données (data repository) est un terme général utilisé pour désigner un lieu pour le stockage des données. Cependant, de nombreux experts informatiques utilisent plus précisément ce terme pour se référer à un type particulier d'installation dans une structure informatique globale, comme un groupe de bases de données, où une entreprise ou une organisation a choisi de conserver différents types de données. [Source: Technopedia]