Master of Science in Geology

Sur le terrain...
The Master in Geology is an advanced programme in Earth Sciences that combines basic science and practical applications. It is a joint programme of the University of Geneva and the University of Lausanne’s School of Earth and Environmental Sciences (Ecole lémanique des sciences de la Terre - ELSTE), and provides vast academic and practical expertise covering most branches of the Earth sciences. Particular focus is placed on reservoir geology (water, oil), sedimentology, global changes, metalliferous deposits, geochronology and geochemistry, natural dangers and volcanology. Students have access to high-tech methods and laboratories and are involved in field studies on all continents, in cooperation with academic, research and industry partners.

Language of instruction

French and English

Admission criteria

A Bachelor in Earth and Environmental Sciences from the University of Geneva, a Bachelor in Geosciences and Environment with a concentration in geology from the University of Lausanne, or a degree deemed equivalent, upon completion of up to 30 credits of supplementary courses

Available orientations

  • Geochemistry-Alpine Tectonics-Ore Deposits
  • Geological risk
  • Sedimentary, Environmental, and Reservoir Geology

Career opportunities

Research on and/or exploitation of natural resources (ore, water, building materials) or energy resources (oil and gas, geothermics); Construction of large-scale civil engineering projects; Resolution and management of ecological, environmental and land-use problems; Natural disaster risk prevention; Teaching and scientific research (secondary schools, higher education, museums); etc.

 

Master in Geology
top

Master en géologie

Sur le terrain...
Le Master en géologie est une formation avancée en sciences de la Terre qui combine science fondamentale et applications pratiques. Il est offert conjointement par l’Université de Genève et l’Université de Lausanne (Ecole lémanique des sciences de la Terre - ELSTE), ce qui permet de faire appel à une expertise académique et pratique très étendue qui recouvre la plupart des orientations en sciences de la Terre. L’accent est plus spécialement mis sur la géologie des réservoirs (eau, pétrole), la sédimentologie, les changements globaux, les gîtes métallifères, la géochronologie et la géochimie, les risques naturels et la volcanologie. Les étudiants utilisent des méthodes et des laboratoires analytiques de pointe et sont impliqués dans des études de terrain sur tous les continents, en collaboration avec des partenaires académiques, de recherche et industriels.

Langue d’enseignement

Français et anglais

Conditions d’admission

Bachelor en sciences de la Terre et de l’environnement de l’Université de Genève, en géosciences et environnement, mention géologie de l’Université de Lausanne ou titre jugé équivalent, sous réserve de l’obtention d’un complément d’études jusqu’à un maximum de 30 crédits

Orientations au choix

  • Géologie sédimentaire, environnementale et des réservoirs
  • Géochimie, tectonique alpine, gîtes métallifères
  • Risques géologiques

Perspectives professionnelles

Recherche et/ou exploitation des ressources naturelles (minerais, eau, matériaux de construction) ou énergétiques (pétrole et gaz, géothermie); implantation de grands ouvrages de génie civil; résolution et gestion de problèmes écologiques, environnementaux et d’aménagement du territoire; prévention des risques liés aux catastrophes naturelles; Enseignement et recherche scientifique (collèges, hautes écoles, musées); etc.

 

Master en géologie
top