Research

Excellence

The Faculty of Science strives for excellence in research

The Faculty of Science develops research activities in such rich and varied disciplines as astrophysics, biology, chemistry and biochemistry, computer science, mathematics, physics, pharmaceutical sciences and earth sciences.

With some 4000 publications yearly, the Faculty can pride itself on its prime position among the most prestigious European, and even worldwide, institutions. In fact,

  • an international study published in 2004 in the journal “Nature” demonstrated that Switzerland is first in the world in terms of the scientific impact of its research per inhabitant
  • in September 2006, “Newsweek” magazine published rankings of the best universities in the world. Five Swiss graduate institutions were ranked among the top 50 in the world. Geneva was ranked third global university after Oxford and Cambridge

This recognition of quality shows through, among other things, in the sheer quantity of funds allocated to the university by various external bodies such as the Federal Office for Education and Science, the Federal Office of Energy, industries, and most of all by the Swiss National Science Foundation. While the University of Geneva is the principal beneficiary of grants attributed by the latter, the Faculty of Science stands out in particular, having received a sum of about 25 million francs in 2005.

Such an objective of quality is naturally coupled with the establishment of national cooperation agreements among the graduate institutions of the Lake Geneva region, as well as internationally.

The Faculty hosts three National Centres of Competence in Research

Created by the Confederation in 2001, the program of National Centres of Competence in Research (NCCR) encourages, over the long term, research projects whose focus holds strategic value for the future of Swiss science, economy and society.

At the end of 2013 the Swiss confederation awarded two new NCCR to the Faculty of Sciences : SwissMAP in mathematics and theoretical physics and PlanetS in astronomy. They join the center for Chemical Biology (2010) and two other centers (Frontiers in Genetics and MaNEP – materials with novel electric properties) which were awarded in 2001 and have now reached the end of their funding.
Learn more… NCCRs on the website of the Swiss National Science Foundation 

top

Recherches

Excellence

La Faculté des Sciences vise l’excellence en matière de recherche.

La Faculté des sciences développe des activités de recherche dans des domaines aussi riches et variés que l'astrophysique, la biologie, la chimie et la biochimie, l'informatique, les mathématiques, la physique, les sciences pharmaceutiques ainsi que les sciences de la terre.

Avec quelque 4000 publications annuelles, elle peut se prévaloir d’une place choix parmi les institutions les plus réputées au niveau européen et même mondial. En effet,

  • une étude internationale publiée en 2004 dans le journal «Nature» a montré que la Suisse est première au monde pour l’impact scientifique de ses recherches par habitant
  • en septembre 2006, le magazine «Newsweek» a publié un classement des meilleures universités du monde. Cinq hautes Ecoles suisses figurent parmi les 50 meilleures au niveau mondial. Genève est la troisième université généraliste derrière Oxford et Cambridge

Cette reconnaissance de qualité se manifeste, entre autres, par l'importance des crédits alloués par divers organismes extérieurs à l'Université tels que l'Office Fédéral de l'Education et de la Science, l'Office Fédéral de l'Energie, l'industrie et surtout par le Fonds National Suisse de la Recherche Scientifique. Alors que l'Université de Genève est la principale bénéficiaire de ces subsides de ce dernier, la Faculté des sciences se distingue particulièrement, avec un montant de quelques 25 millions de francs pour l'année 2005.

Cet objectif va de paire avec la mise en place de collaborations nationales, entre les hautes écoles de l’arc lémanique, et internationales.

La Faculté accueille trois Pôles de recherche nationaux

Créé par la confédération en 2001, le programme des Pôles de recherche nationaux (PRN) vise à encourager à long terme des projets de recherche traitant de thèmes d'importance stratégique pour l'avenir de la science, de l'économie et de la société suisses.

Fin 2013, la Confédération a attribué deux nouveaux PRN à l’UNIGE, SwissMAP (mathématiques et physique théorique) et PlanetS (astronomie), tous deux abrités à la Faculté des sciences. Ils s’ajoutent au pôle Chemical Biology (2010) ainsi qu’aux pôles en biologie (Frontiers in Genetics) et en physique (MaNEP) obtenu en 2001 et venant de se terminer.
Voir plus... Les PRN sur le site du Fonds National Suisse de la Recherche Scientifique

top