The Geneva Observatory


The  Geneva Observatory is located at the site of Sauverny (town of Versoix, Canton of Geneva), where the buildings of the Astronomy Department of the University of Geneva (Geneva Observatory) and the "EPFL Laboratory of Astrophysics" are set up.

These two institutes work closely together at the scientific level and constitute the main gravity centre for astrophysics in French-speaking Switzerland as far as teaching, research and the service to the public are concerned.

The ISDC (Integral Science Data Centre) is part of the Geneva Observatory and deals with the processing of the data provided by the satellite INTEGRAL (INTErnational Gamma Ray Astrophysic Laboratory) of the European Space Agency (ESA). The centre is located at Ecogia, which also belongs to the town of Versoix.

On the two sites of Sauverny and Ecogia, a group of approximately 143 people are employed, including scientists, PhD candidates, students, technical staff (computer and electronics specialists, mechanics), as well as administrative staff. 

 


Excellence Master Fellowships

Application for an Excellence Fellowship is open to students from any university with very good performance in their bachelor's studies and belonging to the best 10% of their bachelor's program.
=> view


The Geneva Observatory manages two permanent astronomical observation stations: a 1,2 m telescope on the site of La Silla (ESO, Chile), and a 1 m telescope on the site of St-Michel (Observatory of Haute Provence, OHP, France). Our astronomers also use the telescope of the station of the University of Leuven (Belgium) which is located at the observatory "El Roque de los Muchachos" on the island of La Palma (Canary Islands, Spain).

top

Das Observatorium

Das Observatorium befindet sich auf dem Gebiet von Sauverny (Gemeinde Versoix, Kanton Genf), wo sich die Gebäude der Abteilung für Astronomie der Universität Genf (Observatorium Genf) sowie des "Laboratoire d'Astrophysique de l'EPFL" befinden.

Diese beiden Institute sind auf wissenschaftlichem Gebiet eng verbunden und bilden in der welschen Schweiz den Schwerpunkt für Astrophysik in Sachen Lehre, Forschung und Dienstleistungen für die Oeffentlichkeit.

In Ecogia, das ebenfalls zur Gemeinde Versoix gehört, befindet sich das "Integral Science Data Centre" (ISDC), welches an das Observatoriun Genf angeschlossen ist. Es befasst sich mit der Auswertung der Daten, welche von dem Satelliten INTEGRAL (INTErnational Gamma Ray Astrophysic Laboratory) der Europäischen Weltraumagentur (ESA) geliefert werden.

An den beiden Standorten Sauverny und Ecogia arbeitet eine Gruppe von etwa 143 Personen, bestehend aus Wissenschaftlern, Doktoranden, Studenten, technischem Personal (Informatiker, Elektroniker und Mechaniker) sowie der Administration.

Das Observatorium Genf leitet zwei Stationen zur ständigen astronomischen Beobachtung: ein 1,2 m-Teleskop am Standort La Silla (ESO, Chile) sowie ein 1 m-Teleskop am Standort St-Michel (Observatoire de Haute Provence, Frankreich). Unsere Astronomen arbeiten ebenfalls mit dem Teleskop der Station der Universität Löwen (Belgien), welches im Observatorium "El Roque de los Muchachos" auf La Palma (Kanarische Insen, Spanien) installiert ist.

top