Analytical Chemistry and Chemical Sensors

Eric Bakker


Our group aims to understand and develop chemical principles and materials for the realization of analytical sensing tools. We use electrochemical and optical readout principles for this purpose. A major direction is the realization of electrochemical and optical triggering of reactions and extraction processes: we aim to move from passive sensing systems to activated ones, where we gain full control about the time the sensing reaction takes place. With this in mind, we are developing controlled current protocols for speciation analysis of ions, coulometric thin layer principles for the realization of calibration free sensors, and optical triggering of extraction events for caged compound analogs.

We also develop and deploy integrated voltammetric sensing probes for environmental applications (Marylou Tercier-Waeber).

Please see our separate research page for more details and the right margin for recent publications.


Eric Bakker is the 2014 recipient of the RSC Robert Boyle Prize in Analytical Science



For a publication list see our entry at ResearcherID

Learn more about our group at ResearchGate

Check out my ibook series  Fundamentals of Electroanalysis on the ibooks store


Group Members

Wenyue Gao, Zdenka Jarolimova, Elena Zdrachek (post-doctorants)

Sutida Jansod, Pitchnaree Kraikaew, Canwei Mao, Stephanie Sadler, Yoshiki Soda, Lu Wang, Dajing Yuan (doctoral students)

Suphasinee Sateanchok (scholarship fellow)

Marylou Tercier (senior scientist), Thomas Cherubini (lab technician), Guy Lecoultre (technician), Magali Cissokho (secretary)



Analytical Chemistry I autumn (second year course)

Analytical Chemistry I spring (second year course)

Analytical Chemistry II spring (third year course), link to chamillo

Advanced Analytical and Instrumental Chemistry spring (Masters course)

Analytical Chemistry Teaching Laboratory Course for Chemists

Analytical Chemistry Laboratory Course for Chemists





groupe bakker 2018

 groupe bakker 2018 dos