Tree of Eukaryotes
     Tree of Amoebozoa
     Tree of Rhizaria

  Tree of Amoebozoa


Amoebozoa is a supergroup of Eukaryotes that unifies lobose amoebae, pelobionts, entamoebids, and slime molds (Cavalier-Smith 1998). The monophyly of Amoebozoa has been proposed based on SSU rRNA gene phylogenies (Bolivar et al. 2001; Milyutina et al. 2001; Fahrni et al. 2003) and combined analyses of protein sequences (Baldauf et al. 2000; Arisue et al. 2002; Bapteste et al. 2002; Forget et al. 2002). Recently, Cavalier-Smith et al. (2004) and Nikolaev et al. (unpublished) have shown that the mysterious flagellated protists Phalansterium and Multicilia also belong to the Amoebozoa. Phylogenetic analyses within this supergroup allow the distinction of six monophyletic clades within two main groups. The Tubulina, Acanthopodina, Conopodina, and Vannellina belong to the Lobosea (Smirnov et al. unpublished), while the Archamoebae and Mycetozoa belong to the Conosea (Cavalier-Smith 1998). Both Lobosea and Conosea also include several independent lineages, and relationships between the six main clades and these independent lineages are not resolved yet.

Figure : Bayesian phylogeny of Amoebozoa inferred from SSU rRNA gene sequences using the GTR+G+I model of evolution.




Send a mail