Programs Offered

DURATION OF STUDIES

2 years (4 semesters)

LANGUAGE OF INSTRUCTION

French (level B1) / English (level B1)

ADMISSION CONDITIONS

A Bachelor degree in Science, Economics, Social Science, International Relations, Medicine, Law or another degree deemed to be equivalent. HES (University of Applied Sciences) students who are specializing in environmental sciences are eligible for this programme, provided that their application is accepted and that they successfully complete additional courses, which may be equivalent to a maximum of 30 credits.

Merit-based admission.

THE MASTER IN ENVIRONMENTAL SCIENCE

is offered through University of Geneva's Institute for Environmental Sciences (ISE). ISE pool distinct disciplinary expertise and backgrounds from various faculties, including the Faculty of Science, the Geneva School of Social Sciences and the Geneva School of Economics and Management.

This Master program aims at interdisciplinary teaching and research within current dynamic and fast growing environmental fields such as climate, energy, water biodiversity, human ecology, urbanism, governance and health.

Bridging these fields is the cornerstone of the curriculum offered to students -committing themselves to environmental careers or to fundamental research -an interdisciplinary approach to environmental sciences based on natural sciences and economic as well as social sciences.

Ultimately the master's program, enable the students to professionally navigate within complex and interdisciplinary environmental context far beyond the usual sectorial approach. This broad understanding of fields in natural sciences and economic and social sciences entailed in environmental management is a unique academic offering in Switzerland.

AVAILABLE SPECIALISATION MODULES:

  • Biodiversity Ecosystems and Society
  • Climate Impacts
  • Sustainable Development and Urbanization
  • Energy
  • Water Sciences

STUDY PROGRAMME

4 semesters (max. 6 semesters) | 120 ECTS credits

Interdisciplinarity and immersion (16 credits)

Fundamentals (18 credits)

Methods (8 credits)

Specialized courses (27 credits)

Elective (18 credits)

Dissertation (33 credits)

ACADEMIC CALENDAR

LEVEL OF FRENCH REQUIRED BY UNIGE

No French proficiency test required for non-Francophones.

MOBILITY

Students may earn up to 30 credits while on exchange. They may also conduct research outside the university, under the supervision of a faculty member, or do a work placement at a leading external laboratory in order to complete their Master's degree.

http://www.unige.ch/international/en/

EXCELLENCE MASTER FELLOWSHIPS

The Faculty of Science, with the support of external partners, has established an Excellence Fellowship program open to outstanding and highly motivated students who wish to pursue a Master of Science degree in one of the disciplines covered by the Faculty. Candidate selection is based on excellence.

Deadline for applications : March 15, 2019

www.unige.ch/sciences/Masters/Bourses

PROFESSIONAL PROSPECTS

A Master in Environmental Science leads to a number of opportunities both in Switzerland and abroad, in areas such as:

  • Government policy analysis and decision making: implementation of Sustainability agendas ( eg. Agenda-21) urban, land-use, transport and energy planning
  • Private sector consulting for companies: resources management, carbon emission limitation, energy savings
  • International negotiations: post-Kyoto international negotiations (2012 and beyond), biodiversity, health, habitat
  • Sectorial opportunities: energy (renewable energy, energy savings, constructions), chemical lab analysis, used waters, environmental heritage management (biodiversity, etc.), health, natural and financial risks, urban and land planning
  • Consulting firm, administration, politics, scientific journalism, teaching, cooperation
  • Fundamental research: physics, biology, chemistry, climatology, the humanities and social sciences

UNIVERSITY TAXES

500 CHF / semester (~430 €, ~530 $US)
Rate of the day

REGISTRATION

Deadline: 28 February 2018 for graduates from a university in Switzerland or abroad

Deadline: 30 April 2018 for graduates from the University of Geneva (UNIGE) AND not requiring a visa for entry into Switzerland of more than 90 days (or with a residence permit in Switzerland valid beyond April 30th)

More information on the "How to apply" page of the MUSE website.

CONTACTS

Formations proposées

DURÉE DES ETUDES

2 ans (4 semestres)

LANGUE D'ENSEIGNEMENT

Français (niveau B1) / Anglais (niveau B1)

CONDITIONS D'ADMISSION

Bachelor en sciences, sciences économiques, sciences sociales, relations internationales, médecine, droit ou titre jugé équivalent. Les étudiants HES de disciplines en lien avec les sciences de l'environnement peuvent accéder à ce Master sous réserve d'acceptation de leur dossier et de la réussite d'un programme complémentaire équivalent au maximum à 30 crédits.

Admission sur dossier.

LE MASTER EN SCIENCES DE L'ENVIRONNEMENT (MUSE)

est offert dans le cadre de l'Institut des sciences de l'environnement (ISE) de l'Université de Genève par la Faculté des sciences, la Faculté des sciences de la société et la Faculté d'économie et de management.

Cette formation universitaire a pour vocation l'enseignement et la recherche interdisciplinaires dans les domaines très actuels et porteurs de l'environnement que sont le climat, l'énergie, l'eau, la biodiversité, l'écologie humaine, l'urbanisme et la gouvernance, ou encore la santé.

La volonté de bâtir des passerelles entre ces domaines est à la base du cursus MUSE qui propose aux candidats se destinant aux métiers de l'environnement ou à la formation approfondie une approche interdisciplinaire des sciences de l'environnement basée sur les sciences naturelles et les sciences économiques et sociales.

Au terme du MUSE, les étudiants sont capables de traiter des problèmes environnementaux dans un contexte interdisciplinaire loin de l'approche sectorielle habituelle. Cette large compréhension des disciplines des sciences naturelles et des sciences économiques et sociales impliquées dans la gestion de l'environnement est une offre unique en Suisse.

MODULES DE SPÉCIALISATION AU CHOIX:

  • Biodiversité, écosystèmes et société
  • Impacts climatiques
  • Développement durable et urbanisation
  • Energie
  • Sciences de l'eau

PROGRAMME D'ÉTUDES

4 semestres (max. 6 semestres) | 120 crédits ECTS

Interdisciplinarité et immersion (16 crédits)

Fondamentaux (18 crédits)

Méthodes (8 crédits)

Enseignements spécialisés (27 crédits)

Options des spécialisations ou enseignements à choix (18 crédits)

Mémoire (33 crédits)

NIVEAU DE FRANÇAIS REQUIS PAR L'UNIGE

Aucun examen de français n'est requis pour les non francophones.

MOBILITÉ

Il est possible d'acquérir au maximum 30 crédits en période d'échange. Il est également possible d'effectuer un travail de recherche extra-muros sous la direction d'un enseignant de la Faculté ou de réaliser un stage dans un laboratoire de pointe extérieur à l'Université pour compléter un travail de Master.

www.unige.ch/exchange

BOURSES MASTER D'EXCELLENCE

La Faculté des sciences, avec le soutien de partenaires externes, a établi un programme de bourses d’excellence ouvert aux étudiant·e·s exceptionnel·le·s et très motivé·e·s qui veulent poursuivre un Master en sciences dans l'une des disciplines couvertes par la Faculté. La sélection des candidat·e·s est basée sur l’excellence.

Délai de candidature : 15 mars 2019

www.unige.ch/sciences/Masters/Bourses

PERSPECTIVES PROFESSIONNELLES

Le Master en sciences de l'environnement conduit à de nombreuses voies, tant en Suisse qu'à l'étranger:

  • Aide à la décision gouvernementale: mise en oeuvre d'Agenda-21, planification urbaine, territoriale, de l'énergie et des transports
  • Consultants pour des grandes entreprises: gestion des ressources, limitation des émissions, économies d'énergie
  • Négociations internationales: post-Kyoto (2012 et au-delà), biodiversité, santé pour tous, habitat
  • Débouchés sectoriels: énergie (renouvelables, économies d'énergie, énergétique du bâtiment), laboratoires d'analyses chimiques, traitement des eaux usées, gestion du patrimoine environnemental (biodiversité, etc.), santé, risques naturels et financiers, planification urbaine, aménagement du territoire
  • Cabinets d'études et de conseil, administration, politique, journalisme scientifique, enseignement, coopération
  • Recherche fondamentale: physique, biologie, chimie, climatologie, sciences humaines et sociales

TAXES UNIVERSITAIRES

CHF 500.- par semestre (~430 €, ~530 $US)
Cours du jour

INSCRIPTION

Délai d'inscription: 28 février 2018 pour les titulaires d'un diplôme d'une université ou haute école suisse ou étrangère.

Délai d'inscription: 30 avril 2018 pour les titulaires d'un diplôme de l'Université de Genève (UNIGE) ET non-soumis-e à un visa pour entrée en Suisse de plus de 90 jours (ou au bénéfice d’un permis de séjour en Suisse valable au-delà du 30 avril).

Plus d'information sur la page « Candidater » du site du MUSE.

CONTACTS