wofp_students_etna.jpgWelcome to the Section of Earth and Environmental Sciences

The Section of Earth and Environmental Sciences of the University of Geneva encompasses a rich diversity of scientific expertise in a number of fields. These range from processes in the deep Earth (tectonics, volcanism, continent formation, ore deposits) to the land surface, the hydrosphere, and the evolution of life, both in the geological past and in the present, as well as at the interface between geo-environments and human society. Faculty members, post-doctoral, doctoral and master students build a lively international and dynamic teaching and research community, hosted by the Department of Earth Sciences (DESTE) and the Department F.-A. Forel for Environmental and Aquatic Sciences (DEFSE), which focuses on environmental research.

Teaching and research activities benefit from a network of partnerships in and outside of the University of Geneva, and along the Léman Geneva, including the interfaculty Institute of Environmental Sciences (ISE) and the Lemanic School of Earth Sciences (ELSTE), in partnership with the University of Lausanne. Our teaching includes a Bachelor in Earth and Environmental Sciences, a Master degree in Geology (in the framework of the ELSTE), a Master in Environmental Sciences (MUSE), in the framework of the ISE), and a Master in Prehistoric Archeology (in co-operation with the Biology section of the Faculty of Science). Those interested in combining skills can follow the bi-disciplinary Master that opens a pathway to teach at the secondary school level. We also offer specialized certificates in Geological and Climate Related Risks (CERG-C), and Geomatics (in co-operation with the Department of Geography and Environment).

We are proud of our scientific activity in a wide field of basic and applied research, which is supported by generous competitive funding from national and international sources. Our research activities benefit from direct access to state-of-the-art analytical facilities at both the Universities of Geneva and Lausanne, which offer excellent conditions for our research and education programs. We believe that the high level of our academic educational program opens a wealth of professional opportunities in industry, government and academia, to our students.

Being a part of a Faculty of Science that is known for its scientific excellence, one of our main aims is to transmit a passion for science to motivated young people, especially in those disciplines that have societal relevance such as natural resources, climate change, geological hazards, and energy. This is achieved by competent teaching and research together with numerous outreach activities.

 

Urs Schaltegger

President of the Section of Earth and Environmental Sciences

top

wofp_students_etna.jpg

Bienvenue à la Section des sciences de la Terre et de l’environnement

La section des Sciences de la Terre et de l’Environnement de l’Université de Genève regroupe une grande diversité d’expertises scientifiques dans de nombreux domaines. Cet éventail de recherche s’étend des processus de la Terre profonde (tectonique, volcanisme, formation des continents, gîte métallifère), jusqu’aux interactions de surface, à l’hydrosphère et à l’évolution de la vie, depuis le passé géologique jusqu’à nos jours, ainsi que les interactions entre les géo-environnements et notre société. Les membres de la faculté, post-doctorants, doctorants et étudiants de master bâtissent ensemble une communauté de recherche et d’enseignement active, dynamique et internationale, organisée et répartie au sein du Département des Sciences de la Terre (DESTE)  et du Département F.-A. Forel des sciences de l’environnement et de l’eau (DEFSE), ce dernier étant axé sur la recherche environnementale.

Les activités de recherche et d’enseignement s’appuient sur un large réseau de partenaires au sein et en dehors de l’Université de Genève, et le long du Léman genevois, notamment par le biais de l’Institut des Sciences Environnementale (ISE) et l’Ecole Lémanique des Sciences de la Terre (ELSTE), en partenariat avec l’Université de Lausanne. Nos enseignements comprennent un Bachelor en Sciences de la Terre et de l’Environnement, un Master en géologie (dans le cadre de l’ELSTE), un Master en Sciences de l’Environnement (MUSE) dans le cadre de l’ISE, et un Master en Archéologie préhistorique (réalisé en coopération avec la section de Biologie de la Faculté des Sciences). Les personnes souhaitant acquérir plusieurs champs de compétences peuvent suivre un Master bi-disciplinaire ouvrant la voie à l’enseignement dans le secondaire. Nous proposons également des certificats spécialisés dans les Risques liés à la Géologie et au Climat (CERG-C), ainsi qu’en Géomatique (en collaboration avec le Département de Géographie et de l’Environnement).

Nous sommes fiers de notre activité scientifique dans un vaste domaine de recherche fondamentale et appliquée, supportée par des financements généreux et compétitifs provenant de fonds nationaux et internationaux. Nos activités de recherche bénéficient d’un accès direct à des équipements d’analyses de pointe au sein des Universités de Genève et de Lausanne, offrant d’excellentes conditions pour nos programmes de recherche et d’enseignement. Nous sommes convaincus que le haut niveau de notre programme d’éducation académique ouvrira aux étudiants un important éventail d’opportunités professionnelles dans le monde de l’industrie, du gouvernement et de l’université.

Faisant partie d’une Faculté de Sciences réputée pour son excellence scientifique, un de nos objectifs principal est de transmettre la passion des sciences à de jeunes étudiants motivés, plus particulièrement dans ces disciplines pertinentes pour notre société telles les ressources naturelles, le changement climatique, les risques géologiques ou encore l’énergie. Nous atteignons cet objectif grâce à un enseignement et une recherche de qualité, ainsi qu’à des activités d’information et de vulgarisation.

 

Urs Schaltegger

Président de la Section des Sciences de la Terre et de l’environnement.

top