Information - COVID-19

The information on this page is changing constantly. Please check it regularly to stay up to date.

If you cannot find the answer to your question on this page or on our website you can contact us via the platform admissions.unige.ch (then click on "Ask us your question").

REOPeNING of the Admissions Office

The Admissions Office has reopened : check our opening times.

applications

The deadline for sending applications has expired. We invite you to apply from mid-September for the spring semester starting mid-February 2021, if the course is offered, or from January 2021 for the academic year starting mid-September 2021 (autumn semester).

Processing of applications

Applications sent within the deadline are still being processed as normal, although the current situation has slowed down operations at the university. We do our best to keep the processing time (generally 8 to 12 weeks) indicated in the confirmation of receipt that was sent by email when we received your application (check your junk email too).

Unable to obtain documents required

Despite the current circumstances, every application is processed in the same way to avoid any unequal treatment.

1. I have already sent my application but it has not been processed yet

If required documents listed in the guide were missing from your enrollment file when you sent it, they are still required and must be provided as soon as possible via the platform admissions.unige.ch (except photographs, and certified true copies, if required, which must be sent by post).
Your enrollment file must be complete when we process it, generally within 8 to 12 weeks of us receiving it. If a document is still missing, we cannot guarantee that we will process it or that it will be possible to finalize your application for the start of term in September 2020.

2. I have already sent my application and the admissions OFFICE has asked for missing documents

If the documents requested in our reminder message (which should have been submitted with the initial application) will arrive after the deadline, we cannot guarantee that we will process them or that it will be possible to finalize your application for the start of term in September 2020.

3. I have not yet sent my application

The deadline for sending applications has expired. We invite you to apply from mid-September for the spring semester starting mid-February 2021, if the course is offered, or from January 2021 for the academic year starting mid-September 2021 (autumn semester).

Conditions for enrollment for the 2020–21 academic year

The terms and conditions of enrollment as set out in the PDF of official terms and conditions (in French only) remain unchanged for the 2020–21 academic year. No exemptions will be granted.

1. Enrollment on the basis of secondary studies

  • Candidates currently preparing for a secondary studies certifcate (e.g. the French Baccalauréat or the International Baccalaureate)

Despite the fact that final examinations for many foreign secondary school certificates could not take place this year, the University of Geneva will accept foreign secondary school certificates issued at the end of 2019-20, provided that they are recognised by the University of Geneva, comply with the conditions laid down (see the guide) and are issued by the competent authority of the country.

For the rest of the procedure, please follow the indications on the enrollment confirmation sent by e-mail.

  • Candidates currently resitting an examination in order to comply with our conditions of enrollment

If you cannot resit the examination(s) that you failed and will not meet the conditions of enrollment, you cannot enroll for the 2020–21 academic year. You can reactivate your application next year.  

  • ECUS

If you need to sit the ECUS examination and you have received registration information from us, please follow the instructions and respect the deadlines. If you have any questions, particularly about a possible refund of the examination fees, please contact ECUS directly: ecus.geneve@edu.ge.ch.

  • Proof of admission in the relevant field at a university recognized by UNIGE in the country where the secondary studies diploma was earned

- If the entrance examinations will take place as usual, please follow the indications on the enrollment confirmation sent by email.
- If your country has announced that entrance examinations will not take place because of COVID-19, please contact us via our online platform admissions.unige.ch and attach any official document specifying the situation in your country/institution.

 

2. Enrollment on the basis of university studies

  • Candidates currently studying at university and not aiming for a certificate

- If the grade transcripts for the spring semester will be issued as usual, please follow the indications on the enrollment confirmation sent by email.
- If your country has announced that spring semester examinations will not take place or if your conditions of study or for awarding grade transcripts have been changed because of COVID-19, please contact us via our online platform admissions.unige.ch and attach any official document specifying the situation in your country/institution..

  • Candidates currently studying at university for a qualification

Despite the fact that some examinations could not take place this semester in many countries/institutions, the University of Geneva will accept university qualifications issued at the end of the 2019-20 academic year, provided that these qualifications are recognised by the University of Geneva, comply with the conditions laid down (see the guide) and are issued by the competent authority of the country.

For the rest of the procedure, please follow the indications on the enrollment confirmation sent by e-mail.

3. UNIGE French exam

Currently, the date of the French exam has not changed. The payment details on the enrollment confirmation sent by email are also unchanged.

Obtaining a visa

Please consult the State Secretariat for Migration's website and contact the Swiss representation in your country for further information. The Admissions Office cannot intervene on behalf of candidates. We cannot provide you with any documents other than the enrollment confirmation sent by email.

Notification of unsuccessful application

If your application is rejected, as it is currently difficult to send letters by post in some countries, decisions may be exceptionally sent as email attachments. In such cases, the decision will only be sent by post if you specifically request it using our platform admissions.unige.ch, and only once the situation has returned to normal.

Date of the start of term

Currently, the date of the start of term has not changed : 14 September 2020.

enrollment confirmation

For some candidates, the confirmation of enrollment procedure may be modified (i.e. confirmation by mail rather than in person). Please go to the web link indicated on the enrollment confirmation sent by e-mail and follow the steps.

In any case, new students must have confirmed their registration by September 26th, otherwise it will not be possible to start the academic year (unless exceptions are duly justified and accepted by the faculty/institute/centre/school concerned).

CANCElLING YOUR APPLICATION

If you decide not to pursue your application - at any time, even after you have been admitted, please let us know on our online platform admissions.unige.ch (then "Ask us your question."). This will ensure that we no longer inconvenience you unnecessarily.

If you wish to reactivate your application the following semester or year, click here for the relevant procedure.

Informations - COVID-19

Les informations figurant sur cette page évoluent en permanence. Veuillez la consulter régulièrement pour vous tenir informé-e.

Si vous ne trouvez pas la réponse à votre question sur cette page ou sur notre site, vous pouvez nous contacter via la plateforme admissions.unige.ch (puis cliquez sur "Cliquez ici pour...).

Réouverture du service des admissions

Le Service des admissions a réouvert selon l'horaire habituel.

Délai d'envoi des candidatures (dossiers de demandes d'immatriculation)

Le délai d'envoi des candidatures est échu depuis le 30 avril 2020. Nous vous invitons à postuler dès mi-septembre pour la rentrée de février 2021 (semestre de printemps), si la formation est offerte, ou dès janvier 2021 pour la rentrée de septembre 2021 (semestre d’automne).

Traitement des candidatures

Les candidatures envoyées dans le délai continuent d'être traitées normalement, même si la situation actuelle ralentit le fonctionnement de notre institution dans son ensemble. Nous nous efforçons cependant de respecter le délai de traitement (en général 8 à 12 semaines) indiqué dans l'accusé-réception qui a été envoyé à réception de la candidature (pensez à vérifier vos spams).

Impossibilité d'obtenir les documents requis

Malgré la situation actuelle, chaque candidature continue d’être traitée de manière identique afin d’éviter toute inégalité de traitement.

1. Vous avez déjà envoyé votre candidature, mais elle n’a pas encore été traitée

Dans le cas où des documents requis selon la liste qui figure sur le guide manquaient à votre candidature lors de son envoi, ils restent requis et doivent être fournis dès que possible, via la plateforme en ligne admissions.unige.ch (sauf pour les photographies format passeport et les copies certifiées conformes, si exigées, qui doivent nous parvenir par voie postale).

Le dossier devra être complet au moment où nous traiterons votre candidature, en général dans les 8 à 12 semaines dès réception du dossier. S'il manque toujours un document à ce moment-là, nous ne pourrons malheureusement pas garantir son traitement, ni le fait que votre candidature puisse être finalisée pour la rentrée de septembre 2020.

2. Vous avez déjà envoyé votre candidature, et le Service des admissions vous a réclamé des documents manquants

Dans le cas où des documents requis dans notre message de relance (alors qu’ils auraient dû être joints lors de l’envoi initial du dossier) devaient nous parvenir au-delà du délai accordé, nous ne pourrons malheureusement pas garantir leur traitement, ni le fait que votre candidature puisse être finalisée pour la rentrée de septembre 2020.

3. Vous n’avez pas encore envoyé votre candidature

Le délai d'envoi des candidatures est échu depuis le 30 avril 2020. Nous vous invitons à postuler dès mi-septembre pour la rentrée de février 2021 (semestre de printemps), si la formation est offerte, ou dès janvier 2021 pour la rentrée de septembre 2021 (semestre d’automne).

Conditions d'immatriculation pour la rentrée 2020-21

Les conditions d'immatriculation telles qu'elles figurent dans le PDF des conditions officielles restent inchangées pour la rentrée 2020-21. Aucune dérogation ne sera accordée.

1. Immatriculation basée sur les études secondaires

  • Candidat-es en cours de préparation d'un diplôme d'études secondaires supérieures (ex. baccalauréat français, baccalauréat international)

Malgré le fait que les épreuves finales de nombreux certificats d’études secondaires étrangers n’ont pas pu avoir lieu cette année, l’UNIGE acceptera les certificats d'études secondaires étrangers délivrés à l’issue de l’année 2019-20, pour autant qu'il s'agisse du diplôme reconnu par l’UNIGE, qu’il respecte les conditions complémentaires fixées (cf. le "guide") et qu’il soit délivré par l'autorité compétente du pays.

Pour la suite de la démarche, veuillez suivre les indications figurant sur l'attestation d'immatriculation envoyée par e-mail.

  • Candidat-es en train de repasser une matière/discipline afin de répondre à nos conditions d'immatriculation

Si vous êtes dans l'impossibilité de pouvoir repasser le(s) examen(s) échoué(s), et ne pouvez ainsi pas prétendre remplir nos conditions d'immatriculation, vous ne serez a priori pas immatriculable à la rentrée 2020-21. Nous vous invitons à réactiver votre candidature l'année prochaine. 

  • ECUS

Si vous êtes soumis-e à l'ECUS, et avez reçu de notre part les informations pour vous y inscrire, veuillez respecter les indications et délais. En cas de questions, notamment sur un éventuel remboursement de l'examen, veuillez contacter directement l'ECUS: ecus.geneve@edu.ge.ch.

  • Attestation d'admission, dans la filière visée, d’une université reconnue par l’UNIGE dans le pays d’obtention du diplôme d’études secondaires supérieures

- Si les examens d’admission auront lieu normalement, veuillez suivre les indications figurant sur l'attestation d'immatriculation envoyée par e-mail.

- Si votre pays a déclaré que les examens d’admission ne seront pas administrés à cause du  COVID-19, veuillez nous contacter via notre plateforme admissions.unige.ch, en joignant tout document officiel précisant la situation dans votre pays/institution.

 

2. Immatriculation basée sur les études universitaires

  • Candidat-es en cours d’études universitaires sans obtention de titre prévue

- Si les relevés de notes du semestre de printemps sont délivrés normalement, veuillez suivre les indications figurant sur l'attestation d'immatriculation envoyée par e-mail.

- Si votre pays a déclaré que les examens du semestre de printemps ne seront pas administrés à cause du  COVID-19, veuillez nous contacter via notre plateforme admissions.unige.ch, en joignant tout document officiel précisant la situation dans votre pays/institution.

  • Candidat-es en cours de préparation d'un diplôme universitaire

Malgré le fait que les examens du semestre de printemps n’ont pas pu avoir lieu dans bon nombre de pays/institutions, l’UNIGE acceptera les diplômes délivrés à l’issue de l’année 2019-20, pour autant qu'il s'agisse du diplôme reconnu par l’UNIGE, qu’il respecte les conditions fixées (cf. le "guide") et qu’il soit délivré par l'autorité compétente du pays.

Pour la suite de la démarche, veuillez suivre les indications figurant sur l'attestation d'immatriculation envoyée par e-mail.

3. Examen de français

À ce jour, la date de l’examen de français reste inchangée, tout comme les modalités de paiement et de déroulement figurant sur l'attestation d'immatriculation envoyée par e-mail.

Obtention d'un visa

Nous vous invitons à consulter la page du Service d’État aux migrations (SEM) et à vous renseigner auprès de la représentation suisse dans votre pays (puis sélectionner le pays). Le Service des admissions ne peut pas intervenir en faveur du/de la candidat-e. Aucun autre document que l’attestation d’immatriculation reçue par e-mail ne peut vous être remis.

Notification de refus d'immatriculation

En cas de décision de refus d'immatriculation, de manière exceptionnelle puisque l'envoi de courriers postaux est difficile dans certains pays, les décisions peuvent être envoyées en pièce jointe d'un e-mail. Dans ce cas, ladite décision ne sera envoyée par courrier postal que sur demande explicite du/de la candidat-e via notre plateforme en ligne admissions.unige.ch, et seulement dès le retour à la normale de la situation.

Date de la rentrée et confirmation d’immatriculation

À ce jour, la date de la rentrée reste inchangée : lundi 14 septembre 2020.

Confirmation d'immatriculation

Pour certain-es candidat-es, les modalités de confirmation d’immatriculation peuvent être modifiées (confirmation par poste plutôt qu'en personne).

Veuillez vous rendre sur le lien internet figurant sur l'attestation d'immatriculation envoyée par e-mail, et suivre la procédure indiquée.

En tous les cas, les nouvelles et nouveaux étudiant-es doivent avoir confirmé leur immatriculation au 26 septembre sans quoi il ne sera pas possible de débuter l’année académique (sauf exceptions dûment justifiées et acceptées par la faculté/institut/centre/école concernée).

AnNULER VOTRE CANDIDATURE

Si vous renoncez à poursuivre votre démarche de demande d'immatriculation - à n'importe quel moment, même une fois que vous avez été admis-e, veuillez nous en informer sur la plateforme en ligne admissions.unige.ch (puis "cliquez ici...").

Cela nous permettra de ne plus vous importuner inutilement.

Si vous souhaitez réactiver votre candidature le semestre ou l'année suivante, cliquez ici pour connaître la procédure ad hoc.