UNIGE in action

SCOAP3

SCOAP3 Sponsoring Consortium for Open Access Publishing in Particle Physics is a partnership initiated by CERN aimed at bringing together countries around a common goal : negotiate with publishers to convert the main journals in particle physics (High Energy Physics) into Gold Open Access model as well as the centralised handling of Article Publication Charges. It took several years to build this consortium, which formallly began its activities January 1st, 2014 for a first three-year cycle. A second cycle covering the years 2017-2019 followed. Two journals of the publisher IOP withdrew from the partnership. The major American publisher APS joined the initiatvie. That ensures the project’s coverage of 87% of HEP articles.

The budget required for payment of APCs by CERN is funded by the different countries through the libraries’ savings on subscriptions to HEP journals. After 4 years of activities and 17'500 published articles we notice an average cost of 1032 € is actually spent on APCs, which is one third less than the overall average announced in the scientific literature.

The University of Geneva is significantly involved in this project, as it represents Switzerland in the SCOAP3 Governing Council, and is responsible for coordinating work between the country's research institutions.

A l'UNIGE

SCOAP3

SCOAP3Sponsoring Consortium for Open Access Publishing in Particle Physics, est un partenariat initié par le CERN visant à réunir les pays autour d'un objectif commun, la négociation avec les éditeurs afin de convertir en modèle Open Access Gold les revues essentielles en physique des particules (High Energy Physics), et la prise en charge centralisée des frais de publications (APC). Plusieurs années ont été nécessaires pour mettre sur pied ce consortium qui a démarré formellement ses activités le 1er janvier 2014 pour une premier cycle de trois ans. Un deuxième cycle couvrant les années 2017-2019 lui a succédé. Si deux revues de l'éditeur IOP se sont retirées du partenariat, l'important éditeur américain APS a rejoins l'initiative en cours de route, assurant ainsi au projet une couverture de 87% des articles en HEP.

Le budget nécessaire au paiement des APC par le CERN est alimenté par les différents pays grâce aux économies réalisées dans les bibliothèques sur les abonnements aux revues de HEP. Il est remarquable de relever qu'après 4 ans de fonctionnement et 17'500 articles publiés, un coût moyen de 1032.- € est effectivement dépensé pour les APC, soit un tiers de moins que la moyenne globale généralement annoncées dans la littérature scientifique.

L’Université de Genève est impliquée de manière importante dans ce projet, car elle représente la Suisse auprès du SCOAP3 Governing Council, et se charge de coordonner les travaux entre les institutions de recherche du pays.