2017

Switzerland’s first genome center opens

Download the PDF version

CampusBiotech_interieur.JPG

 

In recognition of the growing role played by genome expertise in the medical realm, several institutions in the Lake Geneva region have pooled their resources to create Switzerland’s first ever genome center. It is located on Campus Biotech in Geneva and aims to make gene sequencing – i.e., decoding and analyzing DNA – more widely available and promote precision medicine, which is the cornerstone of personalized health care.

 

Switzerland’s first high-throughput DNA sequencing platform, which could well become one of Europe’s largest, has opened its doors on Campus Biotech in Geneva. It is a key component of the effort to promote personalized health care and precision medicine across Switzerland and was founded by the Federal Institute of Technology in Lausanne (EPFL), the University of Geneva (UNIGE) and Geneva University Hospitals (HUG). The idea for the center came out of Health 2030, an initiative launched by EPFL, the University of Lausanne, UNIGE, HUG, Lausanne University Hospital (CHUV), the University of Bern and Bern University Hospital.

The ever-expanding role of genetics in medicine will lead to exponential growth in demand for gene decoding and analysis in the coming years. One of the center’s initial missions will be to absorb demand from the CHUV, HUG and Bern University Hospital, with the long-term goal being to meet the needs of all Swiss hospitals and other potential partners.

“Health care is on the cusp of a revolution thanks to the explosion of new technologies in the life sciences, engineering, IT and communications,” said Didier Trono, EPFL professor and co-director of Health 2030. “Soon it will be unthinkable to begin treating someone for cancer without having first tested the person for gene mutations. The same is true for diabetes and obesity, where DNA sequencing of the intestinal microbiota will likely play a role in devising treatments. Systematic genome sequencing will also help identify people likely to react abnormally to certain drugs and could be used to screen for genetic anomalies with preventable negative consequences, like familial hypercholesterolemia.

 

High performance sequencers

The new genome center is equipped with cutting-edge high-throughput sequencers, giving it analytical capacity that is unparalleled in Switzerland. Starting this summer, it will be able to decode 60 to 80 complete genomes in less than a week. Further down the line, the aim is for the center to coordinate genome sequencing across the entire country.

 

Numerous objectives

“That doesn’t mean that medical researchers will stop sequencing panels of specific genes,” said Denis Hochstrasser, head of the Department of Genetic and Laboratory Medicine at HUG, vice rector of UNIGE and co-director of Health 2030. “The center will handle very large volumes and analyze entire genomes. It’s worth remembering that when we talk about analyzing DNA and RNA – the copy of the gene used by the cell to make a protein – we are talking about analyzing hereditary DNA and RNA but also the DNA and RNA from cancer tissue, for example, as well as genetically analyzing microbiota, which are the microorganisms we carry inside us.”

Gene analysis, which will one day be a routine procedure for many people treated at the hospital, requires special expertise. “It involves developing data analysis methods, running translational research projects and training researchers and clinicians in these new fields,” said Manolis Dermitzakis, co-director of the genome center and genetics professor at the UNIGE Medical School. “A clinical board, made up of representatives of each Swiss university hospital, will ensure the methods and equipment meet exacting standards.”

Ethical considerations have not been overlooked, according to Jacques Fellay, professor at EPFL and the CHUV and co-director of the genome center: “We also want to ensure that every step on the path towards more precise medicine involving individual genome decoding will benefit patients, comply with the law and be part of an ongoing dialogue with society.”

The center could eventually employ up to 40 people depending on its volume of work. It will also coordinate the efforts of hundreds of clinicians and researchers in Switzerland in order to further research and clinical practice in the area of genomics. The center was designed to serve as a national genomics hub and aims to become a European leader in this field in the near future.

 

Health 2030

Health 2030 is an initiative designed to promote research, training and services in the field of digital and personalized health in western Switzerland.

In keeping with the project’s nationwide approach, partners in the German-speaking part of the country will focus their efforts on proteomics and metabolomics, which refer to the molecular study of proteins and metabolites. “Since the Lake Geneva region has globally recognized expertise in genomics, this division of labor was an obvious one,” said Professor Trono.

 

About the Fondation Campus Biotech Genève

The Fondation Campus Biotech Genève (FCBG), a non-profit organisation, was created on 5th December 2013 by EPFL, UNIGE and the Canton of Geneva to manage the academic, clinical and entrepreneurial entities in Campus Biotech, to host and support the research groups, to provide financing, and to operate shared support platforms. FCBG manages the Sécheron site, hosts and supports research groups, provides financing and operates the shared support platforms.

 

Contacts

Denis Hochstrasser, HUG / UNIGE, co-directeur de Health 2030
+41 79 553 45 95

Didier Trono, EPFL, co-directeur de Health 2030
+41 79 379 55 03

HUG, Service de presse et relations publiques
Nicolas de Saussure +41 22 372 60 06 / +41 79 553 60 07

UNIGE, médias et publications
Marco Cattaneo, +41 22 379 77 96 / +41 79 666 83 85

EPFL, Service médias et communications
Florence Renggli, +41 21 693 19 62 / +41 79 417 38 27

May 10, 2017
  2017

2017

La Suisse se dote de son premier centre de génomique

Télécharger la version PDF

CampusBiotech_interieur.JPG

 

Face au rôle croissant que joue la connaissance du génome dans la pratique médicale, les institutions de la région lémanique mettent leurs ressources en commun et créent à Genève le premier centre de génomique de Suisse. Basé à Campus Biotech, il a pour vocation de démocratiser le séquençage génomique – décodage et analyse de l’ADN – et de promouvoir la médecine de précision, pierre angulaire de la santé personnalisée.

 

La première plate-forme de séquençage de l’ADN à haut débit de Suisse, appelée à devenir l’une des plus importantes en Europe en termes de capacités, a été créée à Campus Biotech, à Genève. Elément clé au plan national pour la promotion de la santé personnalisée et de la médecine de précision, cette structure est le fruit d’une collaboration entre l’Ecole polytechnique fédérale de Lausanne (EPFL), l’Université de Genève (UNIGE) et les Hôpitaux universitaires de Genève (HUG). Le centre de génomique s’inscrit dans le cadre de l’initiative Health 2030, un projet émanant de l’EPFL, des universités de Lausanne et Genève, des HUG, du Centre hospitalier universitaire vaudois (CHUV), ainsi que de l’université et de l’Hôpital de l’Ile du canton de Berne.

Le rôle toujours plus important de la génétique en médecine va entraîner, dans les prochaines années, une croissance exponentielle de la demande de décryptage et d’analyse génomiques. L’une des missions du centre sera d’absorber en premier lieu la demande émanant principalement du CHUV, des HUG et de l’Hôpital de l’Ile, tout en ayant l’ambition de parvenir, à long terme, à répondre à l’ensemble des hôpitaux suisses et autres partenaires éventuels.

« La santé est à l’aube d’une révolution due à l’explosion des nouvelles technologies en sciences de la vie, ingénierie, informatique et communication, explique Didier Trono, professeur à l’EPFL et co-directeur de Health 2030. Il ne sera bientôt plus concevable d’entreprendre le traitement d’un cancer sans en établir au préalable le registre des mutations génétiques. Et il en va de même pour le diabète ou l’obésité, dont les traitements passeront probablement par le séquençage de l’ADN du microbiote intestinal. Le séquençage systématique du génome permettra aussi d’identifier les personnes susceptibles de réactions anormales à la prise de certains médicaments, ou de dépister des anomalies génétiques dont les conséquences néfastes peuvent être prévenues, comme l’hypercholestérolémie familiale. »

 

Séquenceurs ultraperformants

Des séquenceurs haut débit ultraperformants confèrent au nouveau centre des capacités d’analyse inédites en Suisse. Dès cet été, il pourra décrypter quelque 60 à 80 génomes complets en moins d’une semaine. A terme, il coordonnera un effort permettant de répondre aux besoins de séquençage de l’ensemble de la Suisse.

 

Objectifs multiples

« Cela ne signifie pas que les services médicaux vont renoncer au séquençage de panels de gènes spécifiques, précise Denis Hochstrasser, chef du département de médecine génétique et de laboratoire aux HUG, vice-recteur à l’UNIGE et co-directeur de Health 2030. Il est question ici de très gros volumes et d’analyses de génomes entiers. A noter que l’on parle d’analyse de l’ADN ou de l’ARN – la copie d’un gène utilisée par la cellule pour fabriquer une protéine – non seulement héréditaire, mais également des tissus par exemple cancéreux, ainsi que de l’analyse génétique du microbiote, c’est-à-dire des micro-organismes dont les individus sont porteurs. »

L’analyse génomique, future routine pour de nombreuses prises en charge hospitalières, requiert des compétences pointues. « Il s’agit d’élaborer les méthodes d’analyse de données, de mener des projets de recherche translationnelle et de former des chercheurs et des cliniciens dans ces nouvelles disciplines, souligne Manolis Dermitzakis, co-directeur du centre de génomique et professeur de génétique à la Faculté de médecine de l’UNIGE. Un clinical board, composé de délégués de chaque hôpital universitaire suisse, assure la validité tant des méthodes que des équipements. »

Les aspects éthiques n’ont pas été oubliés, précise Jacques Fellay, professeur à l’EPFL et au CHUV et co-directeur du centre: « Nous voulons aussi nous assurer que chaque étape vers une médecine plus précise, intégrant le décryptage du génome individuel, bénéficiera aux patients, respectera le cadre légal en vigueur, et s’inscrira dans un dialogue permanent avec la société. »

A terme, en fonction du volume d’activité, le centre pourrait avoir jusqu’à 40 collaborateurs.  De plus, il coordonnera les travaux de centaines de cliniciens et chercheurs de Suisse pour faire progresser la recherche et la pratique clinique en matière de génomique. Il a pour mission de servir de hub national en génomique et il a l’ambition, dans un proche avenir, de devenir un leader en Europe dans ce domaine.

 

Health 2030

Health 2030 a pour objectif de promouvoir la recherche, la formation et les services dans le domaine de la santé numérique et personnalisée en Suisse occidentale.

Dans le cadre de la réflexion nationale initiée par ce projet, la Suisse alémanique concentre ses efforts sur la protéomique et la métabolomique, soit l’analyse moléculaire des protéines et des métabolites. « Dans la mesure où l’expertise de la région lémanique en matière de génomique est mondialement reconnue, cette répartition s’est imposée comme une évidence », conclut le Pr Didier Trono.

 

A propos de la Fondation Campus Biotech Genève

La Fondation Campus Biotech Genève (FCBG), à but non lucratif, a été créée le 5 décembre 2013 par l’EPFL, l’UNIGE et le Canton de Genève pour gérer les entités académiques, cliniques et entrepreneuriales à Campus Biotech, héberger et soutenir les groupes de recherche, pourvoir au financement et opérer les plateformes de support communes. La FCBG gère le site de Sécheron, héberge et soutient les groupes de recherche, pourvoit au financement et opère les plateformes de support communes.

 

Contacts

Denis Hochstrasser, HUG / UNIGE, co-directeur de Health 2030
+41 79 553 45 95

Didier Trono, EPFL, co-directeur de Health 2030
+41 79 379 55 03

HUG, Service de presse et relations publiques
Nicolas de Saussure +41 22 372 60 06 / +41 79 553 60 07

UNIGE, médias et publications
Marco Cattaneo, +41 22 379 77 96 / +41 79 666 83 85

EPFL, Service médias et communications
Florence Renggli, +41 21 693 19 62 / +41 79 417 38 27

10 mai 2017
  2017