2017

A participatory system to track down the flu

In 2016, researchers from UNIGE and ETHZ launched grippenet.ch to provide participatory monitoring of Influenza. Early results open new perspectives for the prevention of epidemics

page_garde_Flahault.jpg

© All rights reserved

The flu is a major public health issue, resulting in issues such as increased medical care consumption, absenteeism and mortality, to name a few. Along with several partners, researchers from the University of Geneva (UNIGE), Switzerland, developed grippenet.ch, the Swiss component of a European initiative for participatory influenza surveillance called Influenzanet. Contrary to Sentinella, the epidemiological surveillance system active in Switzerland since 1986, the data is not obtained through the filter of health practitioners, but directly from patients. Early results show that this novel system could prove a useful supplemental tool for early detection and monitoring of infectious outbreaks, through increased speed and flexibility. In addition to this, it could allow scientists to better understand the transmission of the virus and how human behavioral responses can help to contain epidemics.

Each year in Switzerland, the flu causes from 112’000 to 275’000 medical consultations, as well as an excess of mortality rate among the elderly and an additional 97 million francs in costs to the health care system. Absenteeism-related costs amount to an additional 200 million francs. These reasons motivated the start of the Grippenet project in December 2016, allowing for the monitoring of influenza epidemics though the direct action of Swiss citizens and residents. Based on the European Influenzanet platform launched in 2003 in the Netherlands and Belgium, grippenet.ch was implemented and launched in Switzerland by the Institute of Global Health of the Faculty of Medicine at UNIGE, the Professorship of Computational Social Sciences (ETH, Zürich), the Digital Epidemiology Lab (EPFL, Lausanne) and the National Reference Center for Influenza (HUG, Geneva).


“The principle is very simple. After an anonymous and free registration on grippenet.ch, participants receive a short survey on a weekly basis, enquiring whether or not they have suffered from potentially flu-related symptoms”, explains Aude Richard, medical doctor at the Institute of Global Health at the Faculty of Medicine of UNIGE and coordinator for the French speaking Grippenet platform. Throughout the winter of 2016-2017, 342 Swiss residents informed researchers about the presence or absence of flu-like symptoms both in themselves and in those living with them.


The website is also an educational and information platform.  “The more aware and informed people are, the better they can protect themselves”, says Dirk Helbing, Professor of Computational Social Science at the ETH Zurich. “I am thinking, for example, about measures such as vaccination, avoiding contact with crowds, hand hygiene and the reduction of physical contacts with others.” Contributors can view a map of Switzerland to see the flu levels reported by the community in different cantons, including their own, as well as other statistics on flu incidence. They can also access more information about influenza and preventive measures. “Our ultimate goal is to create a tool that gives people accurate information about their exposure to flu so that they have the power to take smart actions to protect themselves and avoid spreading the flu to others”, explains Olivia Woolley, who leads Grippenet.ch at ETH Zurich.


Taking a leap towards this goal, the grippenet.ch team just launched a state-of-the-art smartphone app, initiating a research study to develop artificial intelligence methods to predict flu exposure through sensor data collected with the utmost respect for user privacy. This app and study are developped in collaboration with the the Computational Epidemiology Laboratory (ISI, Turin), and the center for Embeded Intelligence (DFKI, Germany).


Grippenet.ch, a complement to the Sentinella system


In Switzerland, the Sentinella epidemiological surveillance system has been monitoring flu outbreaks since 1986. Based on weekly reports by doctors, it provides a continuous observation of influenza viruses circulating within the country. Sentinella works in the surveillance of many acute communicable diseases and is used for research in general medicine. Since its start in 1986, 150 to 250 GPs have participated voluntarily in the Sentinella system each year.


If Sentinella is a well-established and effective system, then why was grippenet.ch developed? “Unlike the Sentinella network that relies on medical practitioners for the declaration of cases of flu, grippenet.ch gets its data directly from the population”, explains Antoine Flahault, Director of the Institute of Global Health at the Faculty of Medicine of UNIGE. This provides us with a surveillance system that could potentially be faster and more flexible than Sentinella, and allows for direct international comparisons of flu epidemics, since the data is directly comparable with other European countries. In addition, not everyone who gets sick with the flu sees a doctor, which is why grippenet.ch is complementary to Sentinella. “The comparison of the two systems gives us important insights for the planning and prioritization of the public health epidemic response, allowing us, for example, to estimate the percentage of people who do not consult a doctor in case of flu-like symptoms”, adds Antoine Flahault.


A precursor system


Thanks to demographic and geographical localization data allowing greater insight into the causes and localization of rising disease clusters, grippenet.ch could give rise to novel research on the transmission and risk factors of influenza epidemics. “Ultimately, our hope is to better prevent and control the course of the epidemic, as well as its negative consequences”, explains Antoine Flahault. In the future, this precursor system could be extended to the surveillance of other diseases, including emerging diseases, providing more reactive data than current surveillance systems, thus allowing for earlier action.


If you wish to help grippenet.ch by participating in the project, you can register here.

December 11, 2017
  2017

2017

Un système participatif pour traquer la grippe

Une équipe de chercheurs conduite par l’UNIGE et l’ETH Zurich a lancé en 2016 le projet grippenet.ch, fondé sur une surveillance participative de la grippe.  Les premiers résultats ouvrent de nouvelles  perspectives pour  la prévention des épidémies.

page_garde_Flahault.jpg

©DR

Soins médicaux, absentéisme, mortalité, la grippe est un enjeu majeur de santé publique. Des chercheurs suisses, notamment de l’Université de Genève (UNIGE), et italiens ont mis sur pied le volet suisse de grippenet.ch, une initiative européenne de surveillance participative de la grippe nommée Influenzanet, fondée sur la participation citoyenne volontaire. Les premiers résultats, tirés directement des données des patients et non plus par le filtre des praticiens, montrent que ce nouveau système pourrait s’avérer plus rapide et plus flexible que le système d’évaluation épidémiologique en place depuis 1986. Instrument supplémentaire pour l’alerte précoce et le suivi des épidémies, il permet également aux scientifiques de mieux comprendre le fonctionnement et la transmission du virus.


Chaque année, la grippe entraîne entre 112’000 et 275’000 consultations médicales en Suisse, avec une surmortalité observée chez les personnes âgées, et des surcoûts pour le système de soins estimé à 97 millions de francs, auxquels s’ajoutent les coûts liés à l’absentéisme qui avoisinent les 200 millions de francs. C’est pourquoi un projet basé sur la surveillance de cette pathologie en Suisse, grâce à l’action des citoyens eux-mêmes, a été mis en place en décembre 2016. Fondé sur la plateforme européenne Influenzanet, lancée en 2003 aux Pays-Bas et en Belgique, grippenet.ch a été adapté, implémenté et lancé en Suisse par l’Institut de santé globale de la Faculté de médecine de l’UNIGE, le laboratoire d’épidémiologie computationnelle (ISI, Turin), les sciences sociales computationnelles (ETH, Zürich), le laboratoire d’épidémiologie digitale (EPFL, Lausanne) et le centre national de référence de l’influenza (HUG, Genève).


«Le principe est simple, tout volontaire peut s’inscrire gratuitement et anonymement sur le site de grippenet.ch, puis il lui est proposé de répondre à un court questionnaire qui lui est transmis chaque semaine pour savoir s’il a souffert de de symptômes qui pourraient s’apparenter à la grippe», détaille Aude Richard, médecin et coordinatrice grippenet à l’Institut de Santé Globale de la Faculté de médecine de l’UNIGE. Pendant l’hiver 2016-2017, 342 personnes résidant en Suisse se sont prêtées à l’exercice, renseignant les chercheurs sur la présence ou l’absence de symptômes grippaux pour eux-mêmes et pour les personnes présentes dans leur foyer, et ce tout au long de l’épidémie.


Le site internet est aussi une plateforme éducative et informative. «Plus les gens sont informés, mieux ils peuvent se protéger», explique Dirk Helbing, professeur de sciences sociales computationnelles à l’ETH Zurich. Je pense, par exemple, à des mesures comme la vaccination, l’hygiène des mains et la réduction des contacts avec des groupes de personnes. » Les participants peuvent consulter une carte de la Suisse indiquant les niveaux de grippe déclarés dans les différents cantons. Ils peuvent également accéder à plus d’informations sur la grippe et les mesures préventives. «Notre but final est de créer un outil qui donne aux gens des informations précises sur leur exposition à la grippe afin qu’ils puissent prendre des mesures pour se protéger et éviter de transmettre la grippe aux autres», explique Olivia Woolley, coordinatrice grippenet à l’ETH de Zurich.


Grippenet.ch, un complément au système Sentinella


Un système d’évaluation épidémiologique de la grippe saisonnière, nommé Sentinella, existe déjà depuis 1986. Basé sur les déclarations hebdomadaires des affections grippales transmises par les médecins, il offre une description en continu des virus grippaux circulant en Suisse. Le système de déclaration Sentinella œuvre dans le cadre de la surveillance des maladies transmissibles aiguës et sert à la recherche en médecine générale. Depuis sa mise en place, 150 à 250 médecins généralistes participent de façon volontaire au système Sentinella.


Dès lors, pourquoi avoir mis grippenet.ch en place ? «Contrairement au réseau Sentinella, alimenté par des médecins praticiens, grippenet.ch obtient ses données directement de la population, explique Antoine Flahault, directeur de l’institut de Santé Globale de la Faculté de médecine de l’UNIGE. Il en résulte un système de surveillance qui pourrait s’avérer plus rapide et plus flexible que Sentinella, et qui permet aussi des comparaisons internationales directes de l’évolution des épidémies grâce à sa compatibilité avec d’autres pays européens.» De plus, toutes les personnes grippées ne consultent pas un médecin, c’est pourquoi grippenet.ch est complémentaire de Sentinella. «La comparaison des deux systèmes nous offre aussi des résultats importants pour la planification et la priorisation de la réponse de santé publique, en nous permettant par exemple d’estimer le pourcentage de personnes qui ne consultent pas de médecin en cas de symptômes grippaux», ajoute Antoine Flahault.


Un système précurseur


Les informations récoltées par grippenet.ch sont aujourd’hui une nouvelle source de recherche sur la transmission de la grippe et ses facteurs de risque, grâce aux données démographiques et de localisation qui permettent d’identifier les facteurs et les lieux de démarrage de l’épidémie. «A terme, notre espoir est de mieux prévenir les dégâts qu’entraîne l’épidémie et de mieux en contrôler l’évolution aussi», s’enthousiasme Antoine Flahault. De plus, ce système précurseur pourrait être étendu à la surveillance d’autres maladies, y compris des maladies émergentes, de façon plus sensible que le système actuel, et permettrait une action également plus précoce pour les endiguer.

Si vous souhaitez participer au projet grippenet.ch, vous pouvez vous inscrire ici.

11 déc. 2017

2017