Strategic partnership between the Universities of Geneva and Zurich

The Universities of Geneva (UNIGE) and Zurich (UZH) have concluded a strategic partnership agreement to explore the impact of the digital revolution and the unprecedented challenges it represents for society. The agreement will intensify existing collaborations in the fields of research and training, promote mobility between the two institutions and facilitate joint participation in European programmes. A seed fund of CHF 400,000, supported equally by the Universities, will enable the first joint projects to be initiated. Pursuing their common missions of service to the cities that host them, both universities want to stimulate a strategic vision thanks to the creation of a common center, the Digital Society Policy Institute.


The digital revolution is transforming society in depth, radically changing the way both public and private enterprises operate. The impact of digital technology on employment, on issues of privacy and data protection, as well as on the very nature of the democratic process, need to be addressed.

"Our universities must provide a rigorous academic perspective, rooted in a multidisciplinary approach to studying the many profound impacts of digital technology, with the goal of enhancing the social benefits and managing the attendant risks. Digital technology is not just a tool, it’s changing our society" says Yves Flückiger, Rector of UNIGE. "In our universities, we not only want to study this change, we want to be part of shaping it, too." adds Michael Hengartner, President of UZH. «Our strategic partnership with UNIGE is a great opportunity to intensify our cooperation in this field, while strengthening research and training around digital technology at the national level."


Smart Cities and a Digital Society Initiative

Research initiated in the strategic partnership between the two Universities, independent of commercial or technical constraints set by the main actors in the sector, can affect many domains. Geneva and Zurich are both cities with exceptionally large amounts of open data available to researchers, and are therefore natural candidates for the development of research on Smart Cities. It is one of the research directions that the new strategic partnership will pursue, along with digital democracy, online citizen science, digital health solutions and the legal issues occurring in cyberspace.

Both universities are already pursuing strategies for digital transformation: The UZH Digital Society Initiative, which relies on a network of researchers across the University, has established an important knowledge base for digitization which covers a wide range of fields such as law, health, democracy, economics and the promotion of technical innovation. This initiative also aims to engage the public in direct dialogue about the opportunities and risks of the digital world. Echoing this strategy, UNIGE is currently running " a broad consultation on its digital strategy, so that it best meets internal needs, but also to the expectations of society. Our colleagues in Zurich have initiated a similar public dialogue. It is an excellent moment to coordinate our efforts ", notes Jacques de Werra, Vice-Rector of UNIGE, in charge of the University’s digital strategy.

In the area of citizen science, both universities want to go beyond the collection and analysis of data by the public. The democratization of science happens not only through the delegation of such tasks, but by associating citizens to the definition of research projects. In this area, two entities will collaborate closely: the Zurich Citizen Science Center, a partnership between UZH and ETH Zurich, and the Citizen Cyberlab, developed by UNIGE in collaboration with CERN and UNITAR (the United Nations Institute for Training and Research).


Developing mobility

The partnership between UNIGE and UZH also aims to foster dialogue and exchange between two cities and two regions that participate in the identity of Switzerland. In the field of training, greater student mobility between the two universities will be encouraged, along with the joint supervision of doctoral theses. In the field of research, more exchange between young researchers and the sharing of scientific and technical information and data will be prioritized, as well as the development of research projects within European funding programs. Common courses using virtual classrooms will be considered, as well as the organization of conferences and seminars around specific digital themes.

UNIGE and UZH are the only two universities Swiss members of the League of European Research Universities (LERU). This network of 23 research universities from ten European countries is a major player in area of European higher education, promoting the development of favorable conditions, especially for fundamental research and teaching.

15 December 2017

2017

Partenariat stratégique entre les Universités de Genève et Zurich

Les universités de Genève (UNIGE) et Zurich (UZH) concluent un accord de partenariat stratégique pour explorer les enjeux de la révolution numérique et le défi sans précédent qu’elle représente pour la collectivité. L’accord permettra de densifier leurs collaborations dans les domaines de la recherche et de la formation, de développer la mobilité entre les deux institutions et de participer conjointement à des programmes européens. Un fonds d’impulsion de 400’000 francs, financé à égalité par chacune des deux Universités, permettra d’amorcer les premiers projets. Répondant à leur mission de service à la Cité, les deux universités veulent proposer une vision stratégique globale grâce à la création d’un centre commun, le Digital Society Policy Institute.

 

La révolution numérique bouleverse en profondeur le fonctionnement global de nos sociétés. Son impact sur l’emploi, sur la sphère privée, sur la protection des données et sur la démocratie au sens large doit être abordé dans toutes ses dimensions. «Nos universités généralistes se doivent d’apporter une réflexion académique et pluridisciplinaire pour accompagner ce changement sociétal, en maximiser les bénéfices sociaux et en encadrer les risques. Le numérique ne doit pas être pensé seulement comme outil technologique, mais aussi comme enjeu de société» estime Yves Flückiger, recteur de l’UNIGE. «En tant qu’universités, nous pouvons et voulons façonner la digitalisation», renchérit Michael Hengartner, recteur de l’UZH. «Notre partenariat stratégique avec l’UNIGE est une formidable occasion d’intensifier notre coopération dans ce domaine et de renforcer la recherche et la formation au niveau national. Nous voyons un potentiel important dans de nombreux secteurs.»

 

Smart Cities et Digital Society Initiative

Les recherches initiées dans le cadre du partenariat stratégique entre les deux universités, dégagées des contraintes commerciales ou technologiques des principaux acteurs du secteur, peuvent toucher de nombreux domaines. Genève et Zurich disposent par exemple d’un volume exceptionnel de données librement accessible aux chercheurs et sont donc des candidates naturelles pour le développement de la recherche sur les villes intelligentes (Smart Cities). C’est l’un des axes de recherche envisagés, aux côtés de la démocratie digitale, de la science citoyenne en ligne, du numérique appliqué à la santé ou des questions de droit dans le cyberespace.

Les deux universités poursuivent déjà des stratégies de transformation numérique: L’UZH Digital Society Initiative dispose d’une importante base de connaissances pour la numérisation et couvre un large éventail de domaines tels que le droit, la santé, la démocratie, l’économie et la promotion des développements techniques, en s’appuyant sur son réseau de chercheurs. Cette initiative engage aussi un dialogue direct avec le public sur les chances et les risques du numérique. En écho à cette stratégie, l’UNIGE mène actuellement «une vaste consultation sur sa stratégie numérique, pour qu’elle réponde au mieux aux besoins internes, mais aussi aux attentes de la société. Nos collègues zurichois ont initié un dialogue public similaire. C’est donc un moment très propice pour coordonner nos efforts», note Jacques de Werra, vice-recteur de l’UNIGE, en charge de l’Université numérique.

En matière de science citoyenne, les deux universités veulent dépasser la collecte ou le traitement de données brutes. La démocratisation de la science ne passe pas seulement par la délégation des tâches, mais par l’association citoyenne à la définition même des projets de recherche. Dans ce domaine, deux entités importantes sont appelées à collaborer étroitement : le Zurich Citizen Science Center, partenariat entre l’UZH et l’ETH Zurich, et le Citizen Cyberlab, développé par l’UNIGE en collaboration avec le Cern et l’UNITAR (Institut des Nations Unies pour la formation et la recherche).

 

Développement de la mobilité

Le partenariat entre l’UNIGE et l’UZH vise aussi à favoriser le dialogue et l’échange entre deux villes et deux régions qui participent de l’identité suisse. Dans le domaine de la formation, il permettra de développer la mobilité estudiantine entre les deux universités, ainsi que la direction conjointe de thèses de doctorat. Dans le domaine de la recherche, il va encourager les échanges entre jeunes chercheurs et chercheuses, le partage d’informations et de données académiques, scientifiques et techniques, ainsi que le développement de projets de recherches conjoints dans le cadre des programmes de financement européens. Des cours communs par le biais de classes virtuelles sont envisagés, tout comme l’organisation de conférences et séminaires autour de thèmes numériques spécifiques.

L’UNIGE et l’UZH sont les deux seules universités suisses membres de la LERU (League of European Research Universities). Ce réseau de 23 universités de recherche issues de dix pays européens est un acteur important de l’Espace européen de l’enseignement supérieur ; il défend le développement de conditions cadres favorables, en particulier la recherche fondamentale et l’enseignement.

15 décembre 2017
  2017