2018

Digitalisation reveals the secrets of autograph manuscripts

Volunteer students from UNIGE Faculty of Humanities retrace the life stages of manuscripts from their origin until their purchase by Martin Bodmer.

 

 

illustration_CdP_bodmer_manuscrit_autographe.jpg

First page of the autograph manuscript of Proust’s A la Recherche du Temps Perdu with the re-written first sentence. © Bodmer Lab

 

Nearly 500 French-language manuscripts are kept in the Martin Bodmer Foundation. Until recently, they had never been available to researchers and the wider public. They have been digitalised by the Bodmer Lab at the University of Geneva (UNIGE), Switzerland, and now form part of a vast research project. Over 50 student volunteers have taken part in it over the last two years. This research aims to analyse the creation process behind every document, contextualise it and gain access to an additional way of interpreting the texts.

Analysing a manuscript helps to deepen our understanding of the author’s work process: his or her doubts and repeated attempts to find the right word or phrase are made visible and become concrete. Marc Adam Kolakowski, research assistant at the Bodmer Lab and co-director of the Autograph Manuscripts project, explains: “Reading the text written by your favourite author in his own hand, retracing the genesis of a novel or theory, following the writing process and journey of a historical or love letter – that’s what digitalisation is all about, as well as putting these exceptional documents online.”


Getting up close and personal with the writing


Making the manuscripts freely available online on the Bodmer Lab website will enhance the ways the documents can be read. Henceforth we will not only look at a text’s “definitive» (printed) version but also at the successive stages in its development and its different “states”.


For example, we can see that Proust’s initial title for A la Recherche du Temps Perdu was Les Intermittences du Cœur. And that Proust hesitated over and re-wrote the book’s famous opening sentence many times before deciding on its final form. Whereas on the printed page we read: “For a long time, I used to go to bed early (Longtemps, je me suis couché de bonne heure)”, the manuscript shows us that Proust crossed the sentence out, replacing it with: “For many years, every night, when I had just gone to bed, I used to read a few pages (Pendant bien des années, chaque soir, quand je venais de me coucher, je lisais quelques pages)” before scratching it out again and re-writing the original “Longtemps, je me suis couché de bonne heure”. In the case of Paul Verlaine, an entire stanza of his Poèmes Saturniens has now been saved from oblivion.


“It’s a unique opportunity to have access to these manuscripts,” says Pauline Brandt, a master’s student in French language and literature. “It’s a way of putting into practice what we’re studying in class. We come face-to-face with a writer or well-known literary work and get up close to their writing. It’s exciting to have a way into the details – where they’ve rubbed things out or made corrections as well as small creases and marks – all the things that disappear when the text is published.”


Work carried out by the students


For the past two years, some fifty students have been working on the autograph manuscripts on a voluntary basis, preparing descriptive notes that will accompany the original documents online. These studies may raise fundamental questions, especially regarding the problem of a work’s authenticity. This is why the students are trying to trace each stage in the life of the manuscripts, from their creation until the moment they became part of the Martin Bodmer collection. To do this, they look for various editions of a text and “network” the manuscript, allowing comparisons between versions and an evaluation of an author’s work from multiple perspectives.


Studying a manuscript can take a few days or several months. “Just a simple note in pencil can mean that you ferret about for hours and hours trying to understand the development of the manuscript and the importance the note had for its author. It gives a new perspective on the literary document,” says Elsa Nguyen, who is continuing her work on the manuscripts after completing her university studies. For example, the analysis of a letter by Corneille made it possible to reconstruct its journey, despite its numerous owners (over a dozen), from the Jesuit library in the Collège de Clermont in Paris (where it was deposited at the end of the 17th century) until it was acquired by Martin Bodmer in 1967.


Martin Bodmer’s autograph manuscript collection


Martin Bodmer’s Autograph Manuscripts collection consists of over 2,000 unique works, mainly from the Zweig Collection acquired in 1936. Martin Bodmer always maintained the unity of his holding, expanding it in line with the principles set out by the famous Austrian writer.

 


About the Bodmer Lab


The Bodmer Lab, initiated in 2015, is a research and digitization program of the University of Geneva that examines and makes available online significant parts of the holdings of the Fondation Martin Bodmer in Cologny (Geneva), employing methods and tools of the digital humanities. More than 20 aca¬demic researchers and 40 volunteers contribute to the research, digitization and publication activities. The mission of the Bodmer Lab is to create digital archives of World Literature, based on the Bodmer Collection, and to facilitate access to, and use of, these archives for the broadest possible public.


17 April 2018
  2018

2018

Les secrets des manuscrits autographes

Des étudiants bénévoles de la Faculté des lettres de l’UNIGE retracent les étapes de la vie des manuscrits, depuis leur création jusqu’à leur achat par Martin Bodmer.

 

 

illustration_CdP_bodmer_manuscrit_autographe.jpg

Première page du manuscrit autographe d’«A la recherche du temps perdu» de Marcel Proust, avec la reprise de la célèbre première phrase du roman. © Bodmer Lab

 

 

Près de 500 manuscrits d’auteurs de langue française sont conservés à la Fondation Martin Bodmer. Jusqu’à présent, ils demeuraient inaccessibles au grand public et aux chercheurs. Numérisés par le Bodmer Lab de l’Université de Genève (UNIGE), ils font aujourd’hui l’objet d’un vaste travail de recherche auquel plus de cinquante étudiants bénévoles ont participé au cours des deux dernières années. Ce travail a pour ambition d’analyser chaque document dans son processus de création, de le situer dans son contexte et d’accéder ainsi à une dimension supplémentaire de lecture.

Etudier un manuscrit permet de se saisir du travail de l’auteur : les doutes, les itérations pour trouver le mot, la phrase juste deviennent visibles, concrets. «Lire dans son écriture le texte de son auteur favori, retracer la genèse d’un roman ou d’une théorie, suivre la rédaction et le parcours d’une lettre historique ou amoureuse, c’est tout l’intérêt de la numérisation et de la mise en ligne de ces documents exceptionnels», explique Marc Adam Kolakowski, collaborateur scientifique au Bodmer Lab, co-responsable de la constellation «Autographes».


Entrer dans l’intimité de la rédaction


La mise à disposition en ligne gratuite de ces manuscrits sur le site du Bodmer Lab permet ainsi un élargissement des pratiques de lecture : on ne tient plus seulement compte de la version «définitive» (imprimée) d’un texte, mais de ses étapes successives d’élaboration, de ses différents «états».
Ainsi, on constate que Proust avait tout d’abord intitulé Les Intermittences du Cœur l’œuvre qui deviendra par la suite A la recherche du temps perdu. La célèbre première phrase du livre a fait l’objet de nombreuses hésitations et ré-écritures avant de trouver sa forme définitive. Sur la page où est imprimé «Longtemps, je me suis couché de bonne heure.», Proust biffe, écrit «Pendant bien des années, chaque soir, quand je venais de me coucher, je lisais quelques pages...», puis il biffe encore avant de ré-écrire et confirmer «Longtemps, je me suis couché de bonne heure.» Dans le cas de Verlaine, c’est une strophe entière des Poèmes saturniens, qui sort de l’oubli.


«C’est une opportunité unique d’avoir accès à ces manuscrits», indique Pauline Brandt, étudiante en master de langue et littérature françaises. «C’est une manière de mettre en pratique ce que l’on étudie en cours. On se confronte à un écrivain ou à une œuvre littéraire connue, on entre dans l’intimité de sa rédaction. C’est passionnant d’avoir accès aux détails - des ratures, des corrections, des petites pliures, des taches...-  qui disparaissent lorsque le texte est ensuite édité.»


Le travail des étudiants


Depuis deux ans, une cinquantaine d’étudiants travaillent bénévolement sur les manuscrits autographes et préparent des notices descriptives qui vont accompagner, en ligne, le document original. Des questionnements fondamentaux peuvent découler de ces études, notamment le problème de l’authenticité d’une pièce. C’est pourquoi les étudiants tentent de retracer chacune des étapes de la vie du manuscrit depuis sa création jusqu’à son entrée dans la collection Martin Bodmer. Pour ce faire, ils recherchent les différentes éditions du texte et mettent le manuscrit «en réseau». Cette pratique permet de comparer les diverses versions du texte et d’apprécier ainsi le travail de l’auteur sous de multiples perspectives.


L’étude d’un manuscrit peut prendre quelques jours ou plusieurs mois. «Il suffit d’une note au crayon pour que l’on fouille pendant des heures et des heures afin de comprendre le parcours du manuscrit et l’importance qu’il a eue pour son auteur. On apporte ainsi un regard nouveau au document littéraire», indique Elsa Nguyen, qui continue ce travail sur les manuscrits autographes après avoir terminé son cursus universitaire. Par exemple, l’étude d’une lettre de Corneille a permis de retracer son parcours, malgré le nombre élevé de ses propriétaires (plus d’une dizaine), depuis la librairie jésuite du Collège de Clermont à Paris, où elle fut déposée à la fin du XVIIème siècle, jusqu’à son acquisition par Martin Bodmer en 1967.


La construction du fonds des manuscrits autographes de Martin Bodmer


Le fonds des « Manuscrits autographes » de la collection Martin Bodmer comprend plus de 2’000 pièces uniques, issues notamment de la collection Zweig acquise au cours de l’année 1936. Depuis lors, Martin Bodmer n’a eu de cesse de maintenir l’unité de cet ensemble et de le développer selon les principes mis en place par le célèbre écrivain autrichien.

 


A propos du Bodmer Lab


Le Bodmer Lab est un programme de recherche et de numérisation de l’UNIGE qui étudie et rend accessibles en ligne des ouvrages fondamentaux de la Collection Martin Bodmer à Cologny, en employant les outils et méthodes des humanités numériques. Plus de 20 chercheurs et de 40 bénévoles contribuent à la numérisation, aux travaux de recherche et à leur publication. Le Bodmer Lab a pour mission de créer des archives numériques de Littérature Mondiale à partir de la Collection Bodmer et de les rendre accessibles au public, grâce à un travail de recherche et d’accompagnement.

17 avril 2018
  2018