2018

Geneva recognised as a key hub for quantum physics

The European Commission is launching the € 1 billion Quantum Flagship programme to support quantum physics research and its industrial applications – and the initiative includes three UNIGE projects.

page_garde_flagship.jpg

From left to right: Nicolas Brunner, Mikael Afzelius, Rob Thew and Hugo Zbinden, whose research projects have been selected by Quantum Flagship. © UNIGE

 

The discovery of the quantum world has shaped our daily lives: computers, telecommunications, satellite navigation, smartphones and modern medical diagnostics are all areas that could not have been developed without an understanding of quantum physics. And a second quantum revolution is now underway: the capacity to detect and manipulate “unique quanta” – atoms, photons and electrons. The European Commission (EC) has set up the Quantum Flagship programme to support research while linking it directly to industry. Twenty projects were selected by the EC for the first phase of the ten-year flagship initiative, including three from the University of Geneva (UNIGE), Switzerland. It is a fitting reward for the university, which has been a pioneer and leader in the field of quantum physics for over twenty years.

The Quantum Flagship has a budget of € 1 billion for ten years of research in quantum physics. The goal is to build synergies between academic research, applied research and industry. European scientists submitted their research projects for the launch phase of the Quantum Flagship, which runs from 2017 to 2020. During this first stage, three UNIGE projects will be backed among the 20 selected by the EC, with an overall budget of € 130 million over three years. From 2021, the remaining € 870 million will be invested in the second phase of projects for a period of seven years. “This is a great recognition for our university,” says Robert Thew, researcher in the Department of Applied Physics in UNIGE Faculty of Science and a partner in two of the selected projects. “Historically, UNIGE was the first institution to conduct quantum communications outside the protected environment of the laboratory, when, for instance, it used optical fibres under Lake Geneva. As a result, our university has been recognised as a world leader in the area for over two decades, and these three new projects will help maintain our reputation.”


Quantum random number generation

UNIGE will play a pivotal role in the QRANGE (Quantum Random Number Generation) project coordinated by Hugo Zbinden in partnership with Robert Thew, Florian Fröwis and Nicolas Brunner, researchers in UNIGE’s Department of Applied Physics. “The aim of QRANGE is to advance the academic and industrial aspects of quantum random number generation for applications in the Internet of Things (IoT), quantum cryptography and high-performance computing,” explains Zbinden. Generating random numbers can guarantee a high security level for encryption keys, and in particular ensure the confidentiality of internet transactions. “The idea is to develop high security and the generation of high-speed random numbers, and, in addition, to market inexpensive applications for everyday use,” continues Zbinden. Nine partners from five different countries will join forces with UNIGE for QRANGE with total funding of € 3.2 million.


Quantum Internet Alliance

Is it possible to cultivate a European or even global quantum telecommunication network? The Quantum Internet Alliance (QIA) is designed to answer this question and to refine the technologies devised in the laboratory. QIA, which is coordinated by the University of Delft in the Netherlands, will bring together 23 partners from nine countries, including the team headed by Mikael Afzelius, a researcher in UNIGE’s Department of Applied Physics. “One of the major challenges in creating a network like this is the repetition of the quantum signal over long distances,” says Afzelius. “My team will focus on developing quantum memories and repeaters to provide the technologies needed for a quantum Internet” – a key new research area for European industry in this emerging field. € 10 million have been assigned by the EC to support QIA.


Quantum Flagship Coordination and Support Action

The third UNIGE project supported by the EC – to the tune of € 3 million – is the Quantum Flagship Coordination and Support Action (QFlag). “Our goal is to facilitate the coordination of all stakeholders – the EC, member states, academic researchers and industry players – and to reach out to the public and end-users of quantum technologies,” says Robert Thew, a researcher in UNIGE’s Department of Applied Physics and head of QFlag at UNIGE. A wide range of events, including meetings, conferences and workshops, will bring together the world of academia and industry to draw up a strategic research agenda, strengthen the leadership of European research and help create business opportunities to address the new challenges facing society. “We also want to focus on training a workforce that is familiar with quantum issues,” says Thew. QFlag includes seven partners from six countries and is led by VDI Technologiezentrum from Düsseldorf in Germany.
 
All three projects will benefit from the strong innovation ecosystem that has been fostered in Geneva, which originated in the group led by Professor Nicolas Gisin, co-founder of the start-up ID Quantique, which markets the quantum technology generated by Geneva’s university research. The synergy between UNIGE and ID Quantique is a model of innovation for the Quantum Flagship, which could now be replicated at European level.
 
About the Quantum Flagship

The Quantum Flagship was launched in 2018 as one of the largest and most ambitious research initiatives of the European Union. With a budget of €1 billion and a duration of 10 years, the flagship brings together research institutions, academia, industry, enterprises, and policy makers, in a joint and collaborative initiative on an unprecedented scale. The main objective of the Flagship is to consolidate and expand European scientific leadership and excellence in this research area as well as to transfer quantum physics research from the lab to the market by means of commercial applications and disruptive technologies. With over 5000 researchers from academia and industry involved in this initiative throughout its lifetime, it aims to create the next generation of disruptive technologies that will impact Europe’s society, placing the region as a worldwide knowledge-based industry and technological leader in this field.

29 Oct 2018

2018

2018

Genève, un pôle incontournable de la physique quantique

La Commission européenne lance le Quantum Flagship doté d’un milliard d’euros, dans le but de soutenir la recherche en physique quantique et ses applications industrielles. Trois projets de l’UNIGE en font partie.

page_garde_flagship.jpg

De gauche à droite: Nicolas Brunner, Mikael Afzelius, Rob Thew et Hugo Zbinden, dont les  projets de recherche ont été retenus par le Quantum Flagship. © UNIGE

La découverte du monde quantique a façonné notre quotidien : ordinateurs, télécommunication, navigation par satellite, smartphones ou encore diagnostics médicaux modernes, autant de domaines qui n’auraient pu être développés sans la maîtrise de la physique quantique. Aujourd’hui, une deuxième révolution quantique est en marche: la capacité à détecter et manipuler des «quanta uniques» – atomes, photons ou électrons. Afin de soutenir la recherche, tout en la liant directement à l’industrie, la Commission européenne (CE) a mis sur pied un Quantum Flagship. Pour la première phase de ce programme phare de dix ans, vingt projets ont été retenus par la CE, dont trois de l’Université de Genève (UNIGE). Une reconnaissance pour l’alma mater, pionnière et leader depuis plus de vingt ans dans le domaine quantique.

Quantum Flagship, c’est un milliard d’euros pour dix ans de recherche dans le domaine quantique. L’objectif : développer les synergies entre recherche académique, recherche appliquée et industrie. Les scientifiques européens ont soumis leurs projets de recherches pour la phase de lancement du Quantum Flagship, qui court de 2017 à 2020. Pour cette première étape, trois projets de l’UNIGE seront soutenus parmi les 20 retenus par le CE, pour un soutien global de 130 millions d’euros sur trois ans. Dès 2021, l’investissement des 870 millions d’euros restants soutiendra une deuxième phase de projets pour une durée de sept ans. «C’est une belle reconnaissance pour notre université», relève Robert Thew, chercheur au Service de physique appliquée à la Faculté des sciences de l’UNIGE et partenaire dans deux des projets retenus. «Historiquement, l’UNIGE est la première institution à avoir effectué des communications quantiques hors du milieu protégé du laboratoire, par exemple en utilisant les fibres optiques sous le lac Léman. De ce fait, elle est reconnue comme leader mondial dans ce domaine depuis plus de vingt ans et ces trois nouveaux projets contribuent à maintenir cette réputation», complète-t-il.


Quantum Random Number Generation

L’UNIGE jouera un rôle de premier plan dans le projet QRANGE (Quantum Random Number Generation), coordonné par Hugo Zbinden, en collaboration avec Robert Thew, Florian Fröwis et Nicolas Brunner, chercheurs au Département de physique appliquée à la Faculté des sciences de l’UNIGE. «QRANGE a pour objectif de développer les aspects académique et industriel de la génération de nombres aléatoires quantiques pour des applications dans l’Internet des objets (IoT), la cryptographie quantique et le calcul de haute performance», explique Hugo Zbinden. Générer des nombres aléatoires permet de garantir la haute sécurité de clés de cryptage, pour assurer notamment la confidentialité de transactions sur internet. «L’idée est de développer d’une part la haute sécurité et la génération de nombres aléatoires à haut débit, et d’autre part de commercialiser des applications peu chères pour la vie quotidienne», complète Hugo Zbinden. Neuf partenaires de cinq pays différents seront associés à l’UNIGE pour QRANGE, pour un total de 2 millions d’euros.


Quantum Internet Alliance

Est-il possible de développer un réseau de télécommunication quantique européen, voire mondial ? Afin de répondre à cette question et d’affiner les technologies développées en laboratoire, le projet Quantum Internet Alliance (QIA), coordonné par l’Université de Delft au Pays-Bas, rassemblera 23 partenaires de neuf pays, dont l’équipe de Mikael Afzelius, chercheur au Département de physique appliquée à la Faculté des sciences de l’UNIGE. «L’un des grands défis de la création d’un tel réseau est la répétition du signal quantique sur de longues distances», expose Mikael Afzelius. «Mon équipe se concentrera justement sur le développement de mémoires quantiques et de répétiteurs visant à fournir les technologies nécessaires à un Internet quantique.» Des recherches capitales pour l’industrie européenne dans ce domaine émergent. 10 millions ont été attribués par la CE pour soutenir QIA.


Quantum Flagship Coordination and Support Action

Le dernier projet de l’UNIGE soutenu par la CE à hauteur de 3 millions est le Quantum Flagship Coordination and Support Action (QFlag). «Notre objectif est de coordonner toutes les parties prenantes – CE, Etats membres, chercheurs académiques, acteurs industriels – et d’atteindre le public et les utilisateurs finaux des technologies quantiques», explique Robert Thew, responsable de QFlag à l’UNIGE. Réunions, conférence, workshops, autant d’événements chargés de réunir le monde universitaire et l’industrie pour élaborer un agenda stratégique, renforcer le leadership de la recherche européenne et contribuer à créer des opportunités commerciales pour faire face aux nouveaux défis sociétaux. «Nous souhaitons également mettre l’accent sur la formation d’une main-d’œuvre sensibilisée aux questions quantiques», ajoute Robert Thew. Réunissant sept partenaires de six pays, QFlag est dirigé par le VDI Technologiezentrum de Düsseldorf en Allemagne.

Ces trois projets profiteront du fort écosystème d’innovation développé à Genève et issu du groupe du professeur Nicolas Gisin, co-fondateur de la start-up ID Quantique qui commercialise justement la technologie quantique développée par la recherche universitaire genevoise. La synergie qui lie l’UNIGE et ID Quantique est un modèle d’innovation pour le Quantum Flagship, qu’il s’agit à présent de répliquer au niveau européen.
 
À propos du Quantum Flagship

Le Quantum Flagship, lancé en 2018, est l’une des initiatives de recherche les plus importantes et les plus ambitieuses de l’Union européenne. Doté d’un budget d’un milliard d’euros pour une durée de 10 ans, ce programme phare rassemble des institutions de recherche, des universités, des entreprises et des décideurs politiques dans une initiative conjointe et collaborative d’une ampleur sans précédent. L’objectif principal du programme Flagship est de consolider et d’étendre le leadership et l’excellence scientifiques européens dans ce domaine de recherche, ainsi que de transférer la recherche en physique quantique du laboratoire vers le marché au moyen d’applications commerciales et de technologies de rupture. Avec plus de 5000 chercheurs du monde universitaire et de l’industrie impliqués, elle vise à créer la prochaine génération de technologies qui auront un impact sur la société européenne.

29 octobre 2018
  2018