2018

A new bridge between research and International Geneva

UNIGE, supported by the FDFA, launches the Science Policy Interface to better address the complexity of today’s global challenges. The SPI will make collaboration and innovation easier between scientific communities and international organisations.

 

PalaisNations_BandeauWeb.jpg

UNIGE pursues a long-term strategy that aims to make its scientific know-how easily accessible to International Geneva actors. (UNIGE/Marco Cattaneo)

 

The University of Geneva (UNIGE) undertakes to promote interactions between the world of academia and IOs and to make the skills of the research community more accessible to actors at the policy level and on the ground. The creation of the Geneva Science Policy Interface (SPI), which was announced in January during the World Economic Forum in Davos, is supported by the Swiss Federal Department of Foreign Affairs (FDFA). This structure, hosted by UNIGE – will identify and accelerate opportunities for collaboration.

 

The SPI, at the nexus between academia and the IO and NGO ecosystem, will address the challenges both  researchers and practitioners encounter when working together to solve specific and complex issues. It will support the efforts of those involved in the formulation and implementation of international policies who will benefit from the scientific community’s targeted inputs in a timely and cost effective manner.

 

Facilitating access to scientific expertise

UNIGE is fully integrated into the ecosystem of International Geneva, the main capital of multilateral diplomacy with 99 IOs, programmes, institutes and funds, 250 NGOs, representatives from 177 countries and 246 permanent missions and delegations. The SPI stems from UNIGE’s long-term strategic and proactive policy  that aims to make the scientific know-how of its wide network of academics and partner institutions easily accessible to International Geneva actors, thereby asserting and strengthening its special links with IOs and NGOs.

The SPI aims to facilitate exchange, act as a single entry point for IOs, and provide tailored support facilitateinnovative collaborative processes. These organisations will benefit from an independent and apolitical incubator where scientific expertise and innovation can be harnessed in support of public policy, and of the concrete needs of practitioners. The SPI has been designed as a global network that will host other partner universities and centres of expertise, focusing on multidisciplinary approaches and opened to public-private collaborations.

The SPI’s skillset will make it possible to quickly overcome the bottlenecks that still hamper the development of collaborative projects between the academic world and the IO ecosystem: mismatch between research outcomes and challenges in the field;  disjuncture between academic research cycles and the IO’s policymaking cycles; the complex fabric of International Geneva; and the need to adopt a common language for defining IO requirements. The SPI will foster agile, long-term relationships that will have a lasting impact.

Enhancing collaboration between the academia and IOs will make it possible to deliver rapid and original solutions to the global challenges facing our societies.

 

March 27, 2018
  2018

2018

Un pont entre la recherche et la Genève internationale

L’UNIGE , soutenue par le DFAE, crée le Science Policy Interface, une interface qui facilitera la collaboration et l’innovation entre milieux scientifiques et organisations internationales, pour mieux répondre à la complexité des défis contemporains globaux.

 

PalaisNations_BandeauWeb.jpg

L’UNIGE mène une politique active pour encourager et faciliter l’accès de la Genève internationale à son expertise scientifique. (UNIGE/Marco Cattaneo)

 

L’Université de Genève (UNIGE) veut fluidifier les contacts entre le monde académique et les organisations internationales, et mettre l’expertise des milieux de la recherche à la disposition des acteurs de terrain grâce au Science Policy Interface Geneva (SPI). Le projet, dont la création avait été annoncée en janvier à l’occasion du World Economic Forum de Davos, est soutenu par le Département fédéral des affaires étrangères (DFAE). Cette nouvelle structure, hébergée par l’UNIGE, identifiera et accélérera les opportunités de collaboration.

 

A l’interface entre le monde académique et l’écosystème des organisations internationales et des ONG, le SPI répond à des besoins concrets, manifestés aussi bien par les chercheurs que par les partenaires de terrain. Il permettra de soutenir les efforts des acteurs engagés dans la formulation et la mise en oeuvre des politiques internationales. Grâce au SPI, ils bénéficieront rapidement et à moindre coût des apports les plus pertinents de la communauté scientifique.

 

Faciliter l’accès à l’expertise scientifique

L’UNIGE est pleinement intégrée à l’environnement international de Genève, l’une des capitales mondiales de la diplomatie multilatérale avec ses 37 organisations internationales, ses 380 ONG, et ses 177 missions permanentes. La création du SPI s’inscrit dans sa stratégie à long terme : mener une politique active pour encourager et faciliter l’accès de la Genève internationale à son expertise scientifique et à celle de ses partenaires académiques à travers le monde, affirmer et renforcer ses liens privilégiés avec les OI et les ONG.

Le SPI se développe dans une logique de facilitateur et d’accélérateur d’échanges offrant un point d’entrée unique pour les organisations internationales et un accompagnement personnalisé pour la mise en oeuvre de collaborations innovantes avec les milieux scientifiques ; elles y trouveront un véritable incubateur indépendant et apolitique où l’expertise scientifique et l’innovation pourront être mises au service des politiques publiques, en réponses aux besoins concrets des praticiens. Pensé comme un vaste réseau mondial qui accueillera d’autres universités et centres d’expertise partenaires, le SPI privilégie les approches pluridisciplinaires et est ouvert aux collaborations public-privé.

Son expertise permettra de dépasser rapidement les goulets d’étranglement qui freinent encore le développement des collaborations entre le monde académique et l’écosystème des OI : résultats de recherches insuffisamment calibrés sur les besoins du terrain, inadéquation des calendriers de la recherche et de la mise en oeuvre des politiques publiques, complexité du tissu de la Genève internationale, besoin d’adopter un langage commun autour de la définition des besoins des OI. Le SPI permettra l’émergence de relations agiles, fondées sur la durée et visant un impact durable.

La collaboration renforcée entre le monde académique et les organisations internationales doit permettre d’amener rapidement des solutions innovantes aux défis globaux auxquels nos sociétés font face.

 

27 mars 2018
  2018