2018

MIME: 72 questions of linguistic policy under the microscope

After four years of work, the MIME project (Mobility and Inclusion in Multilingual Europe) has produced its conclusions on the challenges of language diversity in Europe, focusing in particular on the balance between mobility and inclusion.

Vademecum_Coverpage_300dpi.jpg

MIME Vademecum, a work focusing on 72 questions of linguistic policy with two pages devoted to each issue. © MIME

 

With the support of the European Commission, the MIME PROJECT (Mobility and Inclusion in Multilingual Europe) set out to study the diversity of languages in a context of political change, the challenges that this diversity poses for European companies and the innovative solutions available thanks to integrated linguistic policies. Twenty-five teams from sixteen countries, including the University of Geneva (UNIGE), Switzerland, bringing together researchers from eleven different disciplines, worked on this topic for four years. One of its results is a collection of 72 linguistic policy questions, with two pages devoted to each, covering most of the themes studied under the project. Called MIME Vademecum, this work is a tool to help people confronting multilingualism issues to familiarise themselves with the latest advances in research and to develop their own responses to the challenges of linguistic diversity.

The MIME Project has received 5 million Euros in the European Commission’s 7th Framework Programme for Research and Development. It is the first research project on linguistic diversity that simultaneously tackles questions as varied as the constitutional provisions for the protection of minorities, the sociological conditions for the linguistic integration of migrants, the effectiveness of various pedagogical approaches in the teaching of foreign languages, recourse to new technologies in automatic translation or the development of an integrated theory of linguistic policy as a question of public policy.


The four challenges of language diversity in the 21st century

These four years of research are reflected in a number of publications, conferences and scientific seminars, allowing four main challenges to be studied in depth. The first concerns the management of language diversity, taking into account its transversal nature. “Multilingualism occurs in all facets of political, social, economic and cultural life,” explains François Grin, Professor of economics at the Faculty of Translation and Interpreting at UNIGE and coordinator of the MIME project. “The manner in which it is managed has major effects on the well-being of people and societies, whether in terms of use or the sharing of resources, both material and symbolic.” States should therefore seriously address the management of language diversity; a laissez-faire attitude is not really a solution.

The second challenge is to involve monolingual people in this issue, showing them that this challenge also has relevance for them. To be really inclusive, a multilingual project should also engage people and communities whose daily life is largely monolingual, highlighting the advantages for all of a policy favouring linguistic and cultural diversity at European level.

Thirdly, the mobility of citizens within Europe needs to be taken into account, as well as its impact on the vitality of the languages. “People are increasingly confronted with the need to change country or region”, observes François Grin. “Their inclusion needs to be facilitated in the specific linguistic and cultural contexts in which they settle.”

Finally, there is the aim of managing in the best way possible the compromise between two objectives that do not necessarily converge: on the one hand, mobility, and on the other, the inclusion of citizens in a multilingual Europe. We need to design, develop and introduce linguistic policies as a form of public policy, combining measures that favour the mobility of citizens from different parts of Europe, without compromising local inclusion, and measures that favour the anchoring of people in a specific local context, without restricting the opportunities offered by mobility.


MIME Vademecum, a collection for public policy

On the basis of the research carried out on these four challenges, the teams working on the MIME project have, in parallel with publications aimed at a scientific readership, put together a collection for a wider public. This work, MIME Vademecum, contains 72 linguistic policy questions, two pages being devoted to each question. They touch on most of the themes covered by the project, such as translation and interpreting, language teaching, the linguistic integration of migrants and the management of official multilingualism. This collection is primarily intended for people who, through their professional or political activities (for example civil servants or MPs at local, national or international level), are involved in questions of linguistic policy and are sometimes called upon to take a stand in this regard. MIME Vademecum is a tool that will allow them to familiarise themselves with the latest research advances made in this field, helping them to gain knowledge from actual cases and develop their own responses to the problems they may face.

MIME Vademecum can be downloaded free of charge here.

3 Sept 2018

2018

2018

MIME : 72 questions de politique linguistique sous la loupe

Après quatre ans de travaux, le projet MIME (Mobility and Inclusion in Multilingual Europe) rend ses conclusions sur les défis de la diversité des langues en Europe, entre mobilité et inclusion.

Vademecum_Coverpage_300dpi.jpg

Le MIME Vademecum, ouvrage qui réunit 72 questions de politique linguistique traitées en deux pages chacune. © MIME

 

Avec le soutien de la Commission européenne, le projet MIME (Mobility and Inclusion in Multilingual Europe) a pour mission d’étudier la diversité des langues dans un contexte de changement politique, les défis que cette diversité constitue pour les sociétés européennes et les réponses novatrices qui peuvent y être apportées grâce à des politiques linguistiques intégrées. 25 équipes de 16 pays, dont l’Université de Genève (UNIGE), rassemblant des chercheurs de 11 disciplines différentes, ont travaillé sur ce thème pendant quatre ans. L’un de ses résultats est un recueil de 72 questions de politique linguistique traitées en deux pages chacune et parcourant l’ensemble des thématiques du projet. Nommé MIME Vademecum, cet ouvrage est un outil permettant aux personnes touchées par cette problématique de se familiariser avec les dernières avancées de la recherche et de développer leurs propres réponses aux problèmes auxquels elles sont confrontées.

Financé à hauteur de 5 millions d’euros par  le 7ème Programme-cadre de recherche et de développement de la Commission européenne, MIME est le premier projet de recherche sur la diversité des langues traitant simultanément de questions aussi variées que les dispositions constitutionnelles pour la protection des minorités, les conditions sociologiques de l’intégration linguistique des migrants, l’efficacité de différentes approches pédagogiques dans l’enseignement des langues étrangères, le recours aux nouvelles technologies dans la traduction automatique ou le développement d’une théorie intégrée de la politique linguistique en tant que politique publique.


Les quatre défis de la diversité des langues au 21ème siècle

Ces quatre années de recherche ont débouché sur de nombreuses publications, conférences et colloques scientifiques, permettant d’étudier en profondeur quatre défis principaux. Le premier concerne la gestion de la diversité des langues, dont il faut saisir le caractère transversal. «Le multilinguisme concerne toutes les facettes de la vie politique, sociale, économique et culturelle, explique François Grin, professeur d’économie à la Faculté de traduction et interprétation de l’UNIGE et coordinateur du projet. La façon dont il est géré a des effets majeurs sur le bien-être des personnes et des sociétés, que ce soit en termes d’usage ou de répartition  des ressources, tant matérielles que symboliques.» Il convient donc que les Etats s’engagent réellement dans la gestion de la diversité des langues, le laissez-faire n’étant pas une solution.

Second défi : impliquer les personnes monolingues dans cette problématique en leur montrant que cet enjeu les concerne aussi. Pour être réellement inclusif, un projet multilingue doit s’adresser également aux personnes et aux communautés dont le quotidien est largement monolingue, mettant en évidence les avantages pour tous d’une politique favorisant la diversité des langues et des cultures au niveau européen.
Dans un troisième temps, il convient de prendre en compte la mobilité des citoyens dans les frontières de l’Europe et son impact sur la vitalité des langues. «Les personnes sont de plus en plus amenées à changer de pays et de région, constate François Grin. Il faut alors favoriser leur inclusion dans les contextes linguistiques et culturels spécifiques où elles viennent s’établir.»

Enfin, il s’agit de gérer de façon optimale le compromis entre deux objectifs qui ne convergent pas nécessairement : d’un côté la mobilité et, de l’autre, l’inclusion des citoyens dans une Europe multilingue. Il est nécessaire de concevoir, développer et mettre en place des politiques linguistiques pensées comme des politiques publiques, combinant au mieux les mesures qui favorisent la mobilité des citoyens entre différentes parties de l’Europe – sans compromettre l’inclusion locale–, et les mesures qui favorisent l’ancrage de tous dans un contexte local spécifique, sans restreindre les opportunités qu’offre la mobilité.


MIME Vademecum, un recueil pour les politiques publiques

Sur la base des travaux de recherche réalisés autour de ces quatre défis, les équipes du projets MIME ont, en parallèle aux publications visant un lectorat scientifique, rédigé un recueil fait pour un public plus large. Cet ouvrage, le MIME Vademecum, réunit 72 questions de politique linguistique traitées en deux pages chacune. Celles-ci touchent à l’ensemble des thématiques du projet, parmi lesquelles la traduction et interprétation, l’enseignement des langues, l’intégration linguistique des migrants et la gestion du multilinguisme officiel. Cet ouvrage est destiné en priorité aux personnes qui, de par leur activité professionnelle ou leur engagement politique (par exemple des fonctionnaires ou parlementaires au niveau local, national ou supranational), sont amenées à se pencher sur des questions de politique linguistique et, parfois, à prendre position à cet égard. Le MIME Vademecum est un outil leur permettant de se familiariser avec les dernières avancées de la recherche, de s’informer sur des expériences réelles et de développer leurs propres réponses aux problèmes auxquels elles sont confrontées.

Le MIME Vademecum peut être téléchargé gratuitement ici.

3 septembre 2018
  2018