2018

A Unique Collection of Shakespeare Editions Digitized

The Fondation Martin Bodmer hosts the greatest collection of early Shakespeare editions outside the English-speaking world. Researchers from UNIGE unveil its secrets and history.

 

Shakespeare_Hamlet_Bandeau.jpg

William Shakespeare, The Tragedy of Hamlet, Prince of Denmarke, London, forJohn Smethwick, 1611, Third edition, Cologny, Fondation Martin Bodmer.

 

The Fondation Martin Bodmer located in Cologny (Geneva) hosts the greatest collection of early Shakespeare editions outside the English-speaking world: 36 titles from Shakespeare are part of the 174 volumes of the collection of “Early Modern English Books”. Published between the late fifteenth and the end of the seventeenth century, these books have been digitized by The Bodmer Lab from the University of Geneva (UNIGE) and will be made freely available to the public. Scholars across the world will gain easy access to more than 50,000 images of books that were hardly accessible before. With the book Shakespeare in Geneva, two UNIGE researchers bring these unknown documents into new light and reveal how Martin Bodmer built his collection.

 

Describing each item in the collection, Shakespeare in Geneva, written by Lukas Erne and Devani Singh, shows the importance of Shakespeare to Martin Bodmer and documents how the latter built his collection from 1914 onwards. Two quotations from Martin Bodmer himself are self-explanatory and describe the very beginnings of his great library: “My first acquisition -  I was about fifteen – was Shakespeare’s Tempest illustrated by Dulac”, says Martin Bodmer as quoted in Shakespeare in Geneva. “I see it in a bookshop window, and I cannot help but passing by, again and again to look at it. Finally, I summon all my courage and ask for the price – it is thirty francs, but I only have twenty-nine! Nonetheless, the bookseller lets me have the volume, urging me not to forget my debt. I have settled it, but my purse has been empty ever since.”

“The greatest magician of all”

Reflecting on the early conception of the library, Bodmer also wrote, “When I started to think about what I wanted my collection to look like my favourites were not German. First, Shakespeare, the greatest magician of all.”

The purchase of the Rosenbach collection represented a significant addition to Martin Bodmer’s collection. Martin Bodmer demonstrated sharp negotiation skills to acquire these priceless volumes during World War II, and this acquisition generated quite some emotion in the USA. When the precious volumes were shipped to Geneva, after the end of the war, a farewell party, attended by President Truman’s daughter Margaret and other dignitaries, was organized for the departing treasures. It was widely reported in the press as an unprecedented event: “the first time in the history of the United States that a world-famous collection of books left its shores for Europe” wrote one commentator, whereas the headline in Time magazine read “Goodbye, Shakespeare”.

“Martin Bodmer is a towering figure among twentieth-century book collectors, yet the history of his collection of early Shakespeare editions and other early modern English books has never been told, and its make-up never been analysed. These are the lacunae our book is meant to fill” comment Lukas Erne and Devani Singh.

 

Exciting new possibilities for further research

Shakespeare in Geneva provides a detailed description of each piece of the collection, accompanied by supporting material issued from the research, to facilitate access and understanding of the collection by non-academics. It is the latest publication of The Bodmer Lab, a research and digitization program of the UNIGE. The Bodmer Lab is currently digitizing all the volumes of the constellation “Early Modern English Books” four of which are already available online, with the remaining ones due to be online by mid-2018.

“The Bodmer Lab’s digitization of the early modern English books assembled by Martin Bodmer makes available to scholars and students one of the best collections of early Shakespeare editions in the world, using the tools of the digital era to transform the way literary scholarship is conducted and opening exciting possibilities for further research” add Singh and Erne.

 

The constellation “Early Modern English Books”

It consists of 36 titles from Shakespeare, and 138 titles from other authors, totaling more than 50’000 images. Digitized versions are or will be available on The Bodmer Lab website. The constellation includes:

  • A pristine copy, in original calf binding, of the First Folio edition (1623) of Shakespeare’s collected dramatic works.
  • A copy of the first edition of Shakespeare’s Troilus and Cressida (1609) whose edges are uncut (i.e. untrimmed). This is the only copy in the world of a Shakespeare quarto published during his lifetime to have this bibliographical feature.
  • A copy of every Shakespeare play, with one exception, that was published before the First Folio.
  • A copy of the 1598 quarto of Love’s Labour’s Lost, the earliest extant edition of any work, play or poem, with Shakespeare’s name on the title page.
  • The greatest number of Shakespeare quarto playbooks outside the English-speaking world (26 volumes).
  • The first illustrated edition of The Canterbury Tales by Geoffrey Chaucer, printed around 1484. Its 26 woodcut illustrations of the pilgrims make it one of the most renowned ever printed in English.
  • A unique copy of Tyndale’s New Testament printed in Zürich.
  • A unique copy of an undated folio of Arthur of Brytain.


About the Bodmer Lab

The Bodmer Lab, initiated in 2015, is a research and digitization program of the University of Geneva that examines and makes available online significant parts of the holdings of the Fondation Martin Bodmer in Cologny (Geneva), employing methods and tools of the digital humanities. More than 20 academic researchers and 40 volunteers contribute to the research, digitization and publication activities. The mission of the Bodmer Lab is to create digital archives of World Literature, based on the Bodmer Collection, and to facilitate access to, and use of, these archives for the broadest possible public. 

30 January 2018
  2018

2018

Une collection unique d’œuvres de Shakespeare numérisée

La Fondation Martin Bodmer détient la plus grande collection de premières éditions de Shakespeare hors du monde anglophone. Des chercheurs de l’UNIGE en racontent dans un livre l’histoire et les secrets.

 

Shakespeare_Hamlet_Bandeau.jpg

William Shakespeare, The Tragedy of Hamlet, Prince of Denmarke, Londres, pour John Smethwick, 1611, troisième édition, Cologny, Fondation Martin Bodmer.

 

La Fondation Martin Bodmer, située à Cologny (Genève) détient la plus grande collection de premières éditions de Shakespeare hors du monde anglophone: 36 titres de Shakespeare font partie des 174 volumes du fonds «Early Modern English Books». Publiés entre la fin du quinzième et du dix-septième siècles, ces ouvrages ont tous été numérisés par le Bodmer Lab de l’Université de Genève (UNIGE) et seront disponibles en ligne en accès libre. Etudiants et chercheurs, bibliophiles et curieux du monde entier pourront ainsi accéder à plus de 50’000 images et documents, difficilement accessibles auparavant. Le livre Shakespeare in Geneva, rédigé par deux chercheurs de l’UNIGE, révèle des documents inconnus et explique comment Martin Bodmer a construit sa collection.

 

Décrivant en détail chaque élément du fonds «Early Modern English Books», Shakespeare in Geneva, rédigé par Lukas Erne et Devani Singh, rend compte de l’influence centrale de Shakespeare sur la constitution de la collection de Martin Bodmer, tout en permettant aux non-spécialistes de se familiariser facilement avec cette collection. Deux citations de Martin Bodmer sont éloquentes et représentatives de l’influence de Shakespeare, dans une bibliothèque qui se propose de réunir les vestiges les plus précieux de la «littérature mondiale». Elles décrivent bien l’esprit dans lequel il a débuté sa collection.

«Ma première acquisition – j’avais environ 15 ans – fut La Tempête de Shakespeare, illustrée par Dulac» explique Martin Bodmer, cité dans Shakespeare in Geneva. «Je l’ai vu dans la vitrine d’une librairie, et je n’ai pu m’empêcher de passer et repasser devant pour la regarder, jusqu’à ce que je rassemble tout mon courage et entre en demander le prix. Il coûtait 30 francs, et je n’en avais que 29. Le libraire me l’a laissé malgré tout, en me priant de ne pas oublier ma dette. Je ne l’ai pas oubliée, mais à compter de ce jour, mon porte-monnaie ne s’est jamais rempli.»

 

«Le plus grand des magiciens»

Au sujet des débuts de la constitution de sa bibliothèque, Martin Bodmer a aussi écrit: «Lorsque j’ai commencé à réfléchir à ce que ma collection devait contenir, ce n’est pas la littérature allemande qui m’est tout d’abord venue à l’esprit. En priorité Shakespeare, le plus grand des magiciens.» L’achat de la collection Rosenbach à Philadelphie, pendant la Seconde Guerre mondiale, a représenté une étape importante dans la constitution de la collection de Martin Bodmer. Il a dû faire preuve de talents de négociateur pour acquérir ces volumes d’une valeur inestimable. Cette acquisition a engendré beaucoup d’émotion aux USA. Lorsque les livres furent prêts à être expédiés à Genève après la fin de la guerre, un cocktail de départ fut organisé en leur honneur. De nombreuses personnalités, y compris la fille du président Truman, se déplacèrent pour rendre hommage à cette collection. Cet événement fut salué comme un fait sans précédent «C’est la première fois dans l’histoire des Etats-Unis qu’une collection d’envergure mondiale quitte notre continent pour l’Europe» écrivit par exemple un commentateur alors que la couverture de Time Magazine, titrait «Goodbye, Shakespeare».

 

De nouvelles possibilités pour les recherches futures

Martin Bodmer est une figure emblématique dans le monde des collectionneurs de livres au vingtième siècle, et pourtant l’histoire de la partie de sa collection consacrée aux «Early Modern English Books» n’avait jamais été racontée à ce jour, et la constitution de la collection jamais encore analysée. «Ce sont ces lacunes que notre livre souhaite combler» indiquent Lukas Erne et Devani Singh.

Shakespeare in Geneva est publié par le Bodmer Lab qui numérise tous les ouvrages du fonds « Early English Modern Books ». Quatre ouvrages sont déjà disponibles en  ligne, les autres le seront au printemps 2018. La numérisation par le Bodmer Lab, du fonds «Early Modern English Books» de Martin Bodmer permet aux étudiants et aux chercheurs d’accéder à l’une des meilleures collections des premières éditions de Shakespeare dans le monde. Grâce aux outils et technologies numériques actuels, cette numérisation transforme la manière dont les recherches littéraires sont effectuées et ouvre des possibilités beaucoup plus larges encore pour les recherches futures.

 

 

La constellation «Early Modern English Books»

Elle est constituée de 36 titres de Shakespeare et de 138 titres d’autres auteurs, représentant plus de 50’000 images. Les exemplaires déjà numérisés sont disponibles sur le site du Bodmer Lab. La constellation contient:

  • Un exemplaire original, avec sa reliure d’origine en veau, de l’édition du First Folio (1623) des œuvres dramatiques de Shakespeare.
  • Un exemplaire de la première édition de Troilus et Cressida (1609), avec les bords non découpés. C’est le seul exemplaire au monde d’un Quarto de Shakespeare publié de son vivant avec cette caractéristique.
  • Un exemplaire de chaque pièce de Shakespeare publiée avant le First Folio, avec une seule exception.
  • Un exemplaire du Quarto des Peines d’amour perdues de 1598, la plus ancienne édition existante de toute pièce, poème ou œuvre avec le nom de Shakespeare sur la page de garde.
  • Le plus grand nombre de Quartos de Shakespeare hors du monde anglophone (26 volumes).
  • La première édition illustrée des Contes de Canterbury, par Geoffrey Chaucer, imprimée vers 1484. Ses 26 illustrations de gravure sur bois des pèlerins sont un des plus célèbres incunables imprimés en Angleterre.
  • Un exemplaire unique du Nouveau Testament de Tyndale imprimé à Zürich.
  • Un exemplaire unique d’un folio non daté d’Arthur de Bretagne.


A propos du Bodmer Lab

Le Bodmer Lab est un programme de recherche et numérisation de l’UNIGE qui étudie et rend accessibles en ligne des ouvrages fondamentaux de la Collection Martin Bodmer à Cologny, en employant les outils et méthodes des humanités numériques. Plus de 20 chercheurs et plus de 40 bénévoles contribuent à ses travaux de recherche, de numérisation et de publication. Le Bodmer Lab a pour mission de créer des archives numériques de Littérature Mondiale à partir de la Collection Bodmer et de les rendre accessibles au public intéressé, grâce à un travail de recherche et d’accompagnement.

1 février 2018
  2018