2022

A new platform for the diplomacy of cultural heritage

UNIGE is launching a platform for cultural diplomacy to support the restitution of looted cultural property.

 

Sarcophage_web.jpg

 In 2017, the Centre for Art-Law enabled the return of a 2nd century Roman sarcophagus to Turkey.
(c) Marc-André Renold

 

Paintings, sculptures, ceramics, archaeological remains: many cultural objects resulting from past spoliations still lie dormant in museums and in the attics of private individuals. To encourage their restitution, the University of Geneva (UNIGE) is launching a platform in the diplomacy of cultural heritage. The platform seeks to assist States, communities, museums and individuals in returning these objects to their owners or countries of origin. This initiative aims in particular to promote transitional justice by participating in the recognition of certain past abuses. To date, the UNIGE has already participated in several restitutions, including those of an 18th century Cypriot icon at the end of February of this year and a 2nd century Roman sarcophagus in September 2017. 

 

What are the steps to be taken to return a cultural object held illegally, whether voluntarily or not? After having put online the ArThemis database (2010), intended to list decisions in this area, the Art-Law Centre of UNIGE is launching a platform for the diplomacy of cultural heritage. The aim is to offer States, communities, institutions and individuals a physical and virtual place to declare the possession of an object of delicate provenance in complete confidentiality. The platform will also provide support throughout the restitution process.

“We want to encourage people who own these type of objects to return them. Those wishing to recover objects of which they have been dispossessed will also be able to call on us,” explains Marc-André Renold, director of the Art-Law Centre at the UNIGE and initiator of the platform. Training courses on the legal principles for obtaining restitution will also be offered and one is planned in the next few months in Senegal.

 

Promoting transitional justice

“This is truly a platform for cultural diplomacy, continues Marc-André Renold. Returning these types of objects or works of art can indeed be very useful in improving relations between certain countries and communities by promoting so-called transitional justice.” Such an approach can, among other things, contribute to the recognition of certain abuses committed in the past, by one or other of the actors involved. “In the long term, the ambition is to make Geneva a key platform in this field, as it is already, for example, in the field of international commercial arbitration.” 

Marc-André Renold has accompanied several important restitutions over the last ten years. In 2017, his involvement led to the return of a 2nd century Roman sarcophagus to its country of origin, Turkey. Discovered in a warehouse of the Geneva freeport, it was held by an antiquities dealer who had inherited it from his father. The specialist stresses: “Such objects may be the product of illicit trafficking in cultural property, but it also happens that people or institutions find themselves unknowingly in possession of such objects.”

 

Restitution in progress

More recently, Marc-André Renold was instrumental in the return of an 18th century Cypriot icon to the Church of Cyprus. The icon had been acquired in Cyprus in the 1970s by an English officer serving on the island during the conflict between Greek Cypriots and Turks. According to the wishes of the soldier’s son, who called on the services of the Art-Law Centre of the UNIGE, the painting was handed over to the country’s religious authorities on 23 February. Within the framework of the new platform, a new restitution is being processed. It concerns two Roman vases acquired by a couple from Geneva in the 1970s and illegally exported from Italy. Their descendants now wish to return them to Italy, their country of origin.

The platform team is currently composed of three collaborators: Marc-André Renold, Alessandro Chechi (lecturer at the Art-Law Centre) and Morgane Desboeufs (assistant at the Art-Law Centre).

9 Mar 2022

2022

2022

Une nouvelle plateforme pour la diplomatie du patrimoine culturel

L’UNIGE lance une plateforme pour la diplomatie culturelle destinée à accompagner la restitution de biens culturels spoliés.

 

Sarcophage_web.jpg

En 2017, le Centre universitaire du droit de l'art avait permis la restitution d'un sarcophage romain du IIe siècle à la Turquie. (c) Marc-André Renold

 

Tableaux, sculptures, céramiques, vestiges archéologiques: de nombreux biens culturels issus de spoliations passées dorment encore dans les réserves des musées et dans les greniers de certains particuliers. Pour encourager leur restitution, l’Université de Genève (UNIGE) lance une plateforme pour la diplomatie culturelle. Elle accompagnera les États, les communautés, les musées et les particuliers dans la restitution de ces objets à leurs propriétaires ou leur pays d’origine. Cette initiative vise notamment à favoriser la justice transitionnelle en participant à la reconnaissance de certaines exactions passées. A ce jour, l’UNIGE a déjà participé à plusieurs restitutions, dont celles d’une icône chypriote du 18e siècle fin février et d’un sarcophage romain du IIe siècle en septembre 2017. 

 

Quelles sont les démarches pour restituer un bien culturel détenu illicitement, de manière volontaire ou non? Après avoir mis en ligne la base de données ArThemis (2010), destinée à répertorier les décisions prises en la matière, le Centre universitaire du droit de l’art de l’UNIGE lance une plateforme pour la diplomatie du patrimoine culturel. L’objectif est de proposer aux États, communautés, institutions et particuliers un lieu à la fois physique et virtuel pour déclarer la possession d’un objet de provenance délicate en toute confidentialité. La plateforme fournira également un accompagnement tout au long du processus de restitution.

«Nous souhaitons inciter les personnes détenant ce type de biens à les restituer. Les personnes souhaitant récupérer des objets dont elles ont été dépossédées pourront aussi faire appel à nous», explique Marc-André Renold, directeur du Centre universitaire du droit de l’art de l’UNIGE et initiateur du projet. Des formations aux principes juridiques permettant d’obtenir une restitution seront également proposées.

 

Favoriser la justice transitionnelle

«Il s’agit véritablement d’une plateforme pour la diplomatie culturelle, poursuit Marc-André Renold. Restituer ce type d’objets ou d’œuvres peut en effet s’avérer très utile pour améliorer les relations entre certains pays en favorisant la justice dite transitionnelle.» Une telle démarche peut notamment participer à la reconnaissance de certaines exactions commises par le passé, par l’un ou l’autre des acteurs impliqués. «A terme, l’ambition est de faire de Genève une plateforme incontournable dans ce domaine comme elle l’est par exemple déjà dans celui de l’arbitrage commercial international».

Marc-André Renold a accompagné plusieurs restitutions importantes ces dix dernières années. En 2017, son implication avait notamment permis de rendre un sarcophage romain du IIe siècle à son pays d’origine, la Turquie. Découvert dans un entrepôt des Ports Francs à Genève, il était détenu par un marchand d’antiquités qui en avait hérité de son père. Le spécialiste souligne: «Il peut s’agir du produit du trafic illicite des biens culturels, mais il arrive aussi  que des personnes ou des institutions se retrouvent malgré elles en possession de tels objets.»

 

Restitution en cours

Plus récemment, Marc-André Renold a été l’artisan de la restitution à l’Eglise de Chypre d’une icône chypriote du 18e siècle. Celle-ci avait été acquise à Chypre dans les années 70 par un officier anglais en service sur l’île pendant le conflit opposant chypriotes grecs et turcs. Selon la volonté du fils du militaire, qui a fait appel aux services du Centre universitaire du droit de l’art de l’UNIGE, le tableau a été remis aux autorités religieuses du pays le 23 février dernier. Dans le cadre de la nouvelle plateforme, une nouvelle restitution est en cours de traitement. Il s’agit de deux vases étrusques acquis par un couple de Genevois dans les années 70. Leurs descendants souhaitent aujourd’hui les restituer à l’Italie, leur pays d’origine. 

L’équipe de la plateforme se compose actuellement de trois collaborateurs/trices: Marc-André Renold, Alessandro Chechi (chargé de cours au Centre universitaire du droit de l’art) et Morgane Desboeufs (assistante au Centre universitaire du droit de l’art).

 

9 mars 2022

2022