

Summary Regulations Jury & Prize Selection

Fondation Lombard Odier Prize for Academic Excellence in Philanthropy Inaugural 2020 Edition

1. Jury Composition and Process

The **Fondation Lombard Odier Prize for Academic Excellence in Philanthropy** established by Fondation Lombard Odier (FLO) and the Geneva Centre for Philanthropy (GCP), recognizes two scholarly papers in the field of philanthropy, one submitted by a junior and one by a senior scholar.

- 1. For the purpose of the scholarly paper submission, junior scholars are defined as scholars who are either doctoral students, post-doctoral students or adjunct faculty.
- 2. Senior scholars are defined as assistant professors, associate professors and full professors (tenured) or full professors emeritus.

Submissions must consist of original work and not have been published elsewhere previously. The language of submission is English. The prize for the best paper submitted by a senior scholar is awarded CHF 10'000. The prize for the best paper submitted by a junior scholar is awarded CHF 5'000.

The inaugural edition of the Prize will take place in 2020; its announcement will take place during GCP's international academic conference on taxation and philanthropy, on 26 November 2020 in Geneva (6.15-7.45 pm CEST). The key questions guiding the conference, and therefore the papers to be submitted, are the following:

- 1. Are tax incentives for philanthropy justified?
- 2. Which types of tax incentives for philanthropic activities should governments favour, and what are their respective strengths?
- 3. Should tax barriers to cross-border philanthropy be eliminated?
- 4. What is the role of tax incentives in corporate philanthropy and social entrepreneurship?

The jury of the 2020 edition consists of six members. In order to ensure continuity over time, four of the six jury members are nominated for a period of three years. These consist of:

- 1. One representative of Fondation Lombard Odier (chair)
- 2. The rector of the University of Geneva
- 3. One internationally renowned scholar in the field of the philanthropy
- 4. One practicing philanthropist or senior social sector or international organization leader from Switzerland or abroad

The two additional jury members are appointed specialist members: they are selected for a single award cycle, as subject matter experts. For example, in the inaugural jury awarding the prize in November 2020 in connection with the GCP's conference on taxation and philanthropy, these two members are chosen because of their specific scholarly competence on public finance and/or taxation related to philanthropy.

2. Inaugural Jury Members

The following constitutes the list of generalist jury members:

- Patrick Odier, President, Fondation Lombard Odier (chair)
- James Andreoni, Professor of Economics, University of California at San Diego, USA
- Yves Flückiger, Rector, University of Geneva
- André Hoffmann, Philanthropist, Switzerland

For the 2020 edition of the prize, the following two specialist members of the jury have been appointed:

- Prof. Sigrid Hemels, Erasmus University of Rotterdam, Netherlands
- Prof. Kimberley Scharf, University of Birmingham, UK

Geneva, 14 July 2020