Conferences

Participation in Conferences

Platform members regularly participate in international conferences and regional expert meetings. These include, among others, the technical program of the 2010 UNESCO-ISARM Conference on Transboundary Aquifersand the 2011 XIVth IWRA World Water Congress, in which Alessandra Franca, Mara Tignino et Christina Leb participated. Additionally, Mara Tignino participated in a discussion on “Water and International Conflicts” organised by the United Nations Library in February 2011 and Badr Zerdhoud was invited to participate in the Research Forum of the American Society of International Law in November 2011.

Christina Leb also participated in the 12th International Specialised Conference organised by the International Water Association on Watershed and River Basin Management in September 2011. She gave presentations on “The Role of International Law in Cooperation Dynamics” at the 2009 Stockholm World Water Week, and on the question “Is Transboundary Water Law ready for Climate Change” at the 2008 IWA World Water Congress. Mara Tignino also participated in the roundtable on the topic of a “Rights based approach in emergencies: limits and opportunities” at the 5th World Water Forum in 2009.

Furthermore, Mara Tignino presented at several regional conferences, including on the topic of “Rethinking the Legal Protection of Water in Occupied Territories” at the “Water: Values & Rights” Conferencein Ramallah in April 2009, on “Conflict and Cooperation in the Management of Freshwater Resources” at the Bright Conference on “Food & Water: An Increasing Challenge” at the University of Milanin August 2009, and on “Le principe de la participation publique dans la gestion des eaux transfrontières: un principe à géométrie variable” at the University of Laval in October 2009. In September 2010, Mara Tignino participated in a Panel on the Convention on the Law on the Non-Navigational Uses of International Watercourses organised by WWF and Green Cross International at the World Water Week in Stockholm. In September 2014, Mara Tignino was invited to speak at the first public Symposium on “International Accountability Mechanisms” organised by the European Bank for Reconstruction and Development held in London.

In April 2015, Mara Tignino collaborated with Green Cross International and UNESCO at the 7th World Water Forum, held in Daeugu in South Korea. She participated in the session on « Water Justice and Cooperation : Perspectives and Frameworks for Fostering Cultural Diversity, Society and Nature ». In May 2015, Christina Leb and Mara Tignino also participated in the World Water Congress held in Edinburgh in the United Kingdom. They were invited to intervene in the sessions on « Equity and Water: Questions of Access and Benefit-Sharing », « Getting the Best Out of the Global Water Conventions » and « Incorporating the Science Evidence Base into Water Policy and Law : Catchment, National and Transboundary Challenges and Perspectives ».

In May 2010, Laurence Boisson de Chazournes gave the key note speech at the “Conferência da Terra - Fórum Internacional do Meio Ambiente”, which was held at the Centro de Convenções de Pernambuco in Brazil, and at the conference on the “Right to Water and Water Rights in a Changing World” organised by the Institute for Water Education in Delft in September 2010. She was also invited to participate in the conference “The Environment and Human Rights: the International Community’s Responses to Emerging Local and Global Challenges” held at the Woodrow Wilson Center for International Scholars in Washington DC in September 2011. In March 2015, she was also invited as a keynote speaker to the Conference on “Managing the Globalization of Sanitation and Water Services: ‘Blue Gold’ Regulatory and Economic Challenges” at the Chinese University of Hong Kong.

Geneva Water Hub

Conférences

Participation à des conférences

Les membres de la Plateforme participent régulièrement à des conférences internationales et à des réunions régionales d’experts. Celles-ci incluent, entre autres, le programme technique de la Conférence UNESCO-ISARM concernant les aquifères transfrontaliers en 2010 et le Congrès mondial de l'eau en septembre 2011, auxquels ont participé Alessandra Franca, Mara Tignino et Christina Leb. En outre, en février 2011, Mara Tignino a participé à une discussion sur l’eau et les conflits internationaux organisée par la bibliothèque des Nations Unies à Genève et en novembre 2011, Badr Zerdoudh a été invité à participer au Forum de recherche de l’American Society of International Law.

Christina Leb a également participé à la 12ème Conférence Internationale Spécialisée consacrée à la gestion de bassins versants organisée par l'International Water Association en septembre 2011. Elle a donné une présentation sur le thème de « The Role of International Law in Cooperation Dynamics » au World Water Week de Stockholm de 2009 et sur la question « Is Transboundary Water Law Ready for Climate Change » à l’IWA World Water Congress de 2008. Mara Tignino a également participé à la table ronde sur le thème « Rights based approach in emergencies : limits and opportunities » au 5ème Forum mondial de l’eau en 2009.

De plus, Mara Tignino a participé à plusieurs conférences régionales, notamment sur le thème « Rethinking the Legal Protection of Water in Occupied Territories » à la Conférence « Water : Values & Rights » qui s’est tenue à Ramallah en avril 2009, sur la question « Conflict and Cooperation in the Management of Freshwater Resources » à la Conférence Bright consacrée à « Food & Water : An Increasing Challenge » qui s’est tenue à l’Université de Milanen août 2009, et sur « Le principe de la participation publique dans la gestion des eaux transfrontières: un principe à géométrie variable » au colloque « La gouvernance de l’eau aux Amériques » qui s’est tenue à l’Université de Laval en octobre 2009. En septembre 2010, Mara Tignino a participé à un Panel sur la Convention sur le droit relatif aux utilisations des cours d’eau internationaux à des fins autres que la navigation, organisé par le WWF et Green Cross International à Semaine mondiale de l’eau à Stockholm. En septembre 2014, Mara Tignino a été invitée à donner une présentation au premier Symposium public sur les « International Accountabilty Mechanisms » organisé par la Banque européenne pour la reconstruction et le développement, qui a eu lieu à Londres.

En avril 2015, Mara Tignino a collaboré avec la Croix Verte Internationale et l’UNESCO lors du 7ème Forum mondial de l’eau, tenu à Daegu en Corée du Sud. Elle a participé à la session « Justice et coopération liées à l’eau : perspectives et cadres juridiques pour la diversité culturelle, la société et la nature ». En mai 2015, Christina Leb et Mara Tignino ont également participé au Congrès mondial de l’eau tenu à Edinburgh au Royaume Uni. Elles ont été invitées aux sessions sur « Equity and Water : Questions of Access and Benefit-Sharing », « Getting the Best Out of the Global Water Conventions » et « Incorporating the Science Evidence Base into Water Policy and Law : Catchment, National and Transboundary Challenges and Perspectives ».

Laurence Boisson de Chazournes a été la conférencière principale à la Conferência da Terra - Fórum Internacional do Meio Ambiente, qui s’est tenue à Pernambuco au Brésil en mai 2010, et à la conférence sur « The Right to Water and Water Rights in a Changing World » organisée par l’Institute for Water Education à Delft en septembre 2010. Elle a été également invitée à participer à la conférence « The Environment and Human Rights: the International Community’s Responses to Emerging Local and Global Challenges » qui a eu lieu au Woodrow Wilson Center International Center for Scholars à Washington DC en septembre 2011. En mars 2015, elle a aussi été la conferencière principale à la conférence sur “Managing the Globalization of Sanitation and Water Services : ‘Blue Gold’ Regulatory and Economic Challenges” organisée à la Chinese University of Hong Kong.

Geneva Water Hub