2015

The synthesis report of the Round Table on “Cooperation and Benefit Sharing in the basins of the Senegal River and the Niger River” is available online.

The key lessons identified in the report are:

  • Each river basin organisation has its own particular traits. As a consequence, the effective operation of basin institutions flows out of multiple factors but the level of homogeneity between the parties seems to weigh in favour of effective coordination. From a methodological perspective, the comparative approach allows the examination of the factors unique to each case while facilitating the identification of factors that can explain differences in their development pathways.
  • The development of hydroelectric facilities on international waterways creates opportunities for cooperation between riparian states and facilities inter-state cooperation while supporting the continued development of river networks.
  • Multi-sectoral development programs (encompassing energy, agriculture, and industry, as well as the provision of drinking water) foster benefit sharing.
  • The establishment of common facilities plays a significant role in constituting an international watercourse as a shared space of integration among States and populations.
  • Benefit sharing is a multifaceted concept which includes not only the economic gains earned from infrastructure projects located on international watercourses, but also the social and environmental benefits that infrastructure has for riparian populations.
  • The development of hydroelectric facilities on international waterways creates opportunities for cooperation between riparian states and facilities inter-state cooperation while supporting the continued development of river networks.
  • The practice of the OMVS and the NBA each provide examples in which consultation with riparian populations plays an important part in decision processes throughout the conception and implementation of hydroelectric projects. Their practice also takes care to prevent negative environmental impacts, especially on aquatic ecosystems, from the initial decision to the completion of those projects.

November 30, 2015
  2015
Geneva Water Hub

2015

Le rapport de synthèse de la Table Ronde sur “Coopération et partage des bénéfices dans les bassins du fleuve Sénégal et du fleuve Niger” est en ligne

À la lumière des résultats de la Table Ronde, un certain nombre de d’enseignements clés ont été identifiés :

  • Chaque organisme de bassin a des traits spécifiques. Le bon fonctionnement des institutions de bassin est par conséquent tributaire de multiples facteurs mais le niveau d’homogénéité entre les parties semble favoriser l’efficacité de la coordination. Du point de vue méthodologique, l’approche comparative a permis de mettre en lumière les caractéristiques propres à chaque cas mais également d’identifier des facteurs explicatifs pour comprendre les différentes trajectoires de développement.
  • Le développement des ouvrages hydroélectriques sur un cours d’eau international offre des opportunités de coopération entre les États riverains et contribue ainsi à renforcer la coopération interétatique et à développer la mise en valeur des bassins hydrographiques.
  • Les programmes de développement multisectoriels (dans le domaine de l’énergie, de l’agriculture, de l’industrie, ainsi que dans l’approvisionnement en eau potable) favorisent le partage des bénéfices.
  • La réalisation d’ouvrages communs joue un rôle significatif dans le processus de constitution d’un cours d’eau international comme espace commun d’intégration entre les États et les populations.
  • Le partage des bénéfices est un concept multiforme qui inclut tant les bénéfices économiques tirés de l’exploitation des ouvrages sur un cours d’eau international que les bénéfices sociaux et environnementaux pour les populations riveraines.
  • La pratique de l’OMVS et de l’ABN montre que la consultation des populations riveraines fait partie du processus décisionnel dans la conception et le développement d’un ouvrage hydroélectrique. La prévention des impacts négatifs sur l’environnement et les écosystèmes aquatiques sont également pris en compte lors de la prise de décisions sur l’exécution d’un projet hydroélectrique.

30 novembre 2015
  2015
Geneva Water Hub