13 December 2013 - Geneva. The Platform organizes a Conference on “Public Participation and Water Resources Management: Where do we Stand in International Law?”

The Platform for International Water Law of the Faculty of Law of the University of Geneva and the Secretariat of the Convention on the Protection and Use of Transboundary and International Lakes and the Protocol on Water and Health jointly organizes the conference on “Public participation and water resources management: where do we stand in international law?”, with the financial support of the Swiss National Research Fund (SNF).

The conference will offer an opportunity to analyse current developments in the involvement of non-state actors in the management of freshwater resources. It will also examine the practice of river basin commissions which provide a useful window on the various norms and standards that regulate public participation, on the ways in which those norms are adapted to specific cases and on the evolution of their application over time.

The conference takes place on 13 December 2013 at the Palais des Nations (Room V). The working languages of the Conference are English and French with simultaneous interpretation.

Please note that it is required to register to the conference by filling in the UN registration form and returning by email to: water.convention(at)unece.org and mara.tignino(at)unige.ch by 29 November 2013.

The program and the registration form are available here:

Guests to the conference must enter at the Pregny Gate of the Palais des Nations at 14, avenue de la Paix. Valid identity documents are required. For practical information about the Palais des Nations please check: http://www.unece.org/meetings/practical.html

Public transport: lines 8, 28, F, V and Z stop at "Appia"; lines 5 and 11 stop at "Nations"; Tramways 13 and 15 Terminus "Nations".

UNECE Website on Conference:  http://www.unece.org/env/water/public_participation_water.html

21 October 2013

2013

13 Décembre 2013 – Genève. La Plateforme organise un colloque sur “La participation du public et la gestion des ressources en eau: où en est le droit international?”

La Plateforme pour le droit international de l’eau douce de la Faculté de droit de l’Université de Genève et le Secrétariat de la Convention sur la protection et l’utilisation des cours d’eau transfrontières et des lacs internationaux et du Protocole sur l’eau et la santé organisent conjointement, avec le soutien financier du Fonds national suisse de la recherche scientifique (FNS), un colloque sur le thème “La participation du public et la gestion des ressources en eau: où en est le droit international?”.

Ce colloque offrira l’occasion d’analyser les tendances actuelles et nouvelles en matière d’implication des acteurs non-étatiques dans la gestion des eaux douces. Il permettra également d’examiner la pratique des organismes de bassin qui constituent des cadres pour saisir les variantes des règles et standards relatifs à la participation du public, d’observer ses adaptations aux cas particuliers et d’évaluer les évolutions en cours.

Le colloque aura lieu le 13 décembre 2013 au Palais des Nations (Salle V). Les langues de travail sont le français et l’anglais avec une interprétation simultanée.

La participation au colloque est gratuite mais les participants devront impérativement s’inscrire avant le 29 novembre 2013 en remplissant le formulaire ci-dessous et le renvoyant à water.convention(at)unece.org et mara.tignino(at)unige.ch

Le programme et le formulaire d’inscription sont disponibles ici :

Pour accéder à l’enceinte du Palais des Nations les participants devront se présenter à la Porte de Prégny, située au 14 avenue de la Paix. Compte tenu des délais nécessaires pour l’accomplissement des formalités, les participants sont invités à se présenter au moins une heure en avance munis d’une pièce d’identité valide. Pour plus d’informations pratiques voir: http://www.unece.org/meetings/practical.html

Moyens de transport public pour se rendre à la Porte Prégny : Lignes 8, 28, F, V et Z stop arrêt « Appia »; lignes 5 et 11 stop arrêt « Nations »; trams 15 Terminus « Nations ».

Site de la CEE-ONU sur la conférence:  http://www.unece.org/env/water/public_participation_water.html

21 octobre 2013
  2013
Geneva Water Hub