2021

Webinar "Insights on the ninth session of the Meeting of the Parties of the Coonvention on the Protection and Use of Transboundary Watercourses and International Lakes"

8 November, 12:30-1:30pm (CET)

The Geneva Water Hub, through its Platform for International Water Law, in partnership with DiploFoundation and the Secretariat of the Convention on the Protection and Uses of Transboundary Watercourses and International Lakes are pleased to invite you to the Webinar on “Insights on the ninth Meeting of the Parties of the Convention on the Protection and Use of Transboundary Watercourses and International Lakes”. The Webinar is organized in the framework of the Distance Learning Course on “International Water Law and the Law of Transboundary Aquifers” offered by the Centre for Continuing and Distance Education of the University of Geneva. 

The ninth session of the Meeting of Parties was organized by United Nations Economic Commission for Europe (UNECE) in cooperation with the Government of Estonia, and it took place from the 29th of September to the 1st of October in Geneva, Switzerland. It discussed and reviewed the progress towards achieving Sustainable Development Goal (SDG) target 6.5. The Meeting of the Parties also discussed challenges and good practices related to transboundary water cooperation and the role of the Convention. Over 500 participants, from more than 100 countries, both Parties and non-Parties to the Convention, as well as from joint bodies, international and non-governmental organizations, academia and youth attended this meeting.

Some highlights of this Meeting of the Parties include the signature of a Ministerial Declaration by The Gambia, Guinea Bissau, Mauritania and Senegal with a commitment to establish a framework for cooperation on the Senegal-Mauritanian Aquifer Basin. Moreover, the Meeting welcomed new Parties including Guinea Bissau and Togo. Other countries such as Iraq are concluding the process of accession to the Convention.

There are still many challenges to the achievement of the SDGs. The second report on the SDG indicator 6.5.2 (UNECE, UNESCO, 2021) shows that only 24 countries worldwide have all their shared waters covered by operational arrangements for water cooperation.

Furthermore, several challenges are still faced by countries in cooperating for the joint management of transboundary waters. In order to face these challenges the Secretariat of the Water Convention has developed several tools including the Practical guide on the development of agreements and other arrangements for transboundary cooperation and the Handbook on water allocation in a transboundary context

 

August 11, 2021
  2021
Geneva Water Hub

2021

Webinaire "Moments clés de la neuvième réunion des Parties de la Convention sur la protection et l’utilisation des cours d’eau transfrontières et des lacs internationaux"

8 novembre, 12:30-1:30pm (CET)

Le Geneva Water Hub et sa Plateforme pour le droit international de l'eau, en partenariat avec DiploFoundation et le Secrétariat de la Convention sur la protection et l’utilisation des cours d'eau transfrontières et des lacs internationaux nt le plaisir de vous inviter au webinaire sur « Les moments clés de la neuvième réunion des Parties de la Convention sur la protection et l’utilisation des cours d’eau transfrontières et des lacs internationaux ».  Le webinaire est organisé dans le cadre du cours à distance sur le « Droit international de l'eau et le droit des aquifères transfrontaliers » organisé dans le cadre du Centre de formation continue et à distance de l'Université de Genève.

La neuvième session de la Réunion des Parties a été organisée par la Commission économique des Nations Unies pour l'Europe (CEE-ONU) en coopération avec le gouvernement estonien et s'est déroulée du 29 septembre au 1er octobre à Genève. Il a discuté et examiné les progrès accomplis vers la réalisation de la cible 6.5 des objectifs de développement durable (ODD). La Réunion des Parties a également discuté des défis et des bonnes pratiques liés à la coopération dans le domaine des eaux transfrontières et au rôle de la Convention. Plus de 500 participants, de plus de 100 pays, Parties et non-Parties à la Convention, ainsi que d'organes conjoints, d'organisations internationales et non gouvernementales, d'universités et de jeunes ont assisté à cette réunion.

Parmi les faits saillants de cette réunion des parties, citons la signature d'une déclaration ministérielle par la Gambie, la Guinée Bissau, la Mauritanie et le Sénégal avec l'engagement d'établir un cadre de coopération sur le bassin aquifère sénégalo-mauritanien. De plus, la réunion a accueilli de nouvelles Parties dont la Guinée Bissau et le Togo. D'autres pays comme l'Iraq achèvent le processus d'adhésion à la Convention.

Il reste encore de nombreux défis à relever pour atteindre les ODD. Le deuxième rapport sur l'indicateur ODD 6.5.2 (UNECE, UNESCO, 2021) montre que seuls 24 pays dans le monde ont toutes leurs eaux partagées couvertes par des accords opérationnels de coopération.

En outre, plusieurs défis sont encore rencontrés par les pays dans la coopération pour la gestion conjointe des eaux transfrontalières. Afin de relever ces défis, le Secrétariat de la Convention sur l'eau a développé plusieurs outils dont le Guide pratique sur l'élaboration d'accords et d'autres arrangements pour la coopération transfrontalière et le Manuel sur l'allocation de l'eau dans un contexte transfrontalier.

 

8 novembre 2021
  2021
Geneva Water Hub