MA Translation

Applying to the MAs in Translation


examens-admission-fti-MAINT-EN.jpg


To study at the University of Geneva (UNIGE) and be admitted to the Faculty of Translation and Interpreting (FTI), you must:

What are the FTI's admission conditions ?

You must:

  • (A) pass the entrance exam
  • (B) fulfill the admission conditions based on your application file
  • or (C) be a student in your last year of the BA in Multilingual Communication at the FTI

(A) If you already hold a university diploma : You will still have to sit for the FTI entrance exam.


(B) If you hold a BA in the same branch of studies and your diploma is deemed to be equivalent: if you do not change language combinations, the FTI may decide to admit you without requiring you to sit for some or all of the admission tests.

Exemption requests
You may request exemption from the entrance exam when registering online. The Faculty's exemption committee will examine each application individually. To have an idea of how your previous degree compares to the FTI’s BA programme, look at the curriculum of the Bachelor in Multilingual Communication. In particular, pay attention to the number of translation credits required for each language combination.


(C) If you are in the last year of your BA in Multilingual Communication at the FTI:
as long as you do not change language combinations, you will be admitted to the MA in Translation programme without having to sit for the entrance exam (on condition that you have passed all your BA exams). To register for the MA, you simply have to send an email to Marie-Laure Cudet before 31 August 2021.


Also have a look at the general description page for this programme.


Back to top

 

Image décorative

What does the entrance exam consist of?

Description of the entrance exam

You will have to pass a test for each of your language pairs (B-A) :

By language pair, we mean the combination of your A language with one of your B languages. You must sit for a test for each of your pairs (B1-A, B2-A, B3-A), which will allow us to both verify your knowledge and writing skills in your native language (A), as well as your understanding of your passive languages (B).

The aim of the entrance exam is for us to ensure that applicants are able to understand the meaning and nuances of a text written in their passive language and express themselves perfectly in their active language.

For the summary component, you will be given a text in your B language. You will then be asked to present the main ideas of the text in your A language in a style that is fitting and natural. This exercise will require you to distinguish essential from nonessential information and present it in a well-structured form. When evaluating your A language skills, we will be looking at the wealth and precision of your vocabulary, as well as your command of spelling, syntax and punctuation.

The second part of the exam consists of questions that will test your understanding of specific nuances in the B language text. Your answers will also allow us to evaluate your written expression in your A language in a less restrictive context than the summary exercise.

Each of the tests will be marked on a scale from 0 to 6. In order to pass the entrance exam, you must obtain a minimum mark of 4 on one or several of the language pair tests.

What happens if I fail?

If all of your marks are below 4, you will not be able to begin the MA in Translation programme the following academic year. You do, however, have the option of sitting for the entrance exam a second time.
If your mark is below 4 for one language pair, but you obtain at least 4 for your other language pairs, you can resit the test that you have failed. In the meantime, you can begin your studies with the language combination for which you have been accepted.

How strong do my language skills need to be?

You must have a perfect command of your A language: you must be able to write a logical, well-structured text in an appropriate style. For your B languages, we recommend that you have at least a C1 level under the Common European Framework of Reference for Languages.

B2 level of French for applicants who don't have French in their language combination

Besides passing the FTI entrance exam, the University requires you to have at least a B2 level in French to enrol. Go to the University's webpage for information on the French exam and verify whether or not you fulfil one of the exemption conditions. If this is not the case, you can either submit one of the diplomas listed on the page (see section two of “Exemption from the French exam”) or sit for the French exam.
If you decide to sit for the exam, the University's admission services will have you write it in Geneva two to three weeks before the beginning of the semester. If you fail, you will not be able to begin your studies at the FTI.

You must choose two, three or four languages for your combination.
Your A language is your mother tongue or language of education. We expect you to have a perfect command of this language. Based on your A language, you then have to choose one, two or three B languages from the language combination chart. Together, these languages make up your language combination.

Back to top

 

formation-inscription-quoi.jpg

Where and when will the entrance exam take place?

The entrance exam will take place online from 6 to 8 April 2021.
Results will be published on 4 June 2021.


Back to top

 

formation-inscription-procedure.jpg

What do you have to do to apply?

  •  How to apply to the FTI

Register online for the entrance exam:

- from 1 October 2020 to 31 January 2021, which is the final deadline to apply.

a) Begin by setting up your ORISIS account (you can use this login for the whole application process).

b) Sign up for the entrance exam on the FTI's online platform using your ORISIS login details. See the list of documents you need to prepare and scan in order to register for the entrance exam.

(If you are already enrolled at UNIGE, please use the username and password that you created when first setting up your ORISIS account; it is likely linked to your private email address. If you are unable to access your account, please create a new one using your @etu.unige.ch address)

You will receive confirmation of your registration for the extrance exam by email. You will receive an invitation to the exam session, along with your exam schedule by email before the end of February.

If you are already enrolled in one of the FTI's MA in translation programmes, or are in the last year of your BA at the FTI, and would like to add to your language combination, please register to "Add a language" on the online platform and scan the necessary documents.


  • How to enroll at UNIGE

Fill out the University of Geneva's online enrollment application using your ORISIS login details. You must then print it out and send it to the Admissions Services:

- from 4 January to 28 February 2021 for applicants with nationalities that are required to have a visa for a stay of more than 90 days (irrespective of your current place of residence, unless you hold a Swiss residence permit that is valid past 30 April)

- from 4 January to 30 April 2021 for applicants who do not need a visa for a stay of more than 90 days

Please ensure that you send off your enrollment application, even if you have not yet received your results for the FTI's entrance exam!

If you are already enrolled and studying at UNIGE, make a request to change faculties or apply to register in a second faculty by the given deadline.

If you have already been unenrolled or will be unenrolled before the beginning of your first semester of studies at the FTI, please request to be reenrolled before the deadline.

Being enrolled at the University means that the University has given a student permission to register in a faculty and take the courses, seminars and workshops necessary to obtain a university degree. You cannot study at the FTI without being enrolled.

The tuition fee is CHF 500 per semester of study for both Swiss and foreign students.

There is no fee to sit for the FTI entrance exam. However, there is a fee of CHF 65 for your UNIGE enrollment application.

Please note that

you may only be admitted to the FTI if:

* you have passed the FTI's entrance exam

and

* the University has accepted your enrollment application

Applicants must therefore go through two different application processes. If you do not follow this procedure, you will not be able to study at UNIGE.


Back to top

 

formation-inscription-sinscrire.jpg

Contact information

Student secretary:

Information, admissions and registration.

Mme Marie-Laure Cudet
Building: Uni Mail
Office: 6256
Telephone: +41 (0)22 37 98708
Fax: +41 (0)22 37 98750
email: Marie-Laure.Cudet(at)unige.ch

Office hours: Tuesday - Friday
10:00 am - 12:00 am / 2:00 pm - 4:00 pm


Back to top

Master Übersetzen

Anmeldung für die Masterstudiengänge Übersetzen


examens-admission-fti-MAINT-DE.jpg


Um an der Universität Genf (UNIGE) zu studieren und an der Fakultät für Übersetzen und Dolmetschen (FTI) zugelassen zu werden, müssen Sie:

Welche Aufnahmebedingungen gibt es?

Sie müssen:

  • Entweder die Aufnahmeprüfung bestehen (A)
  • Oder die Aufnahmebedingungen für eine Zulassung «sur dossier» erfüllen (B)
  • Oder das letzte Studienjahr im BA Mehrsprachige Kommunikation an der FTI absolvieren (C)

(A) Sie haben einen Hochschulabschluss: In diesem Fall müssen Sie die Aufnahmeprüfung an der FTI bestehen.


(B) Sie haben einen BA einer anderen Hochschule in derselben Studienrichtung, der als gleichwertig anerkannt wird: Wenn Sie Ihre Sprachkombination beibehalten, kann die FTI entscheiden, Sie ohne Aufnahmeprüfung für ein oder alle Sprachenpaare Ihrer Sprachkombination zuzulassen.

Möglichkeit zur Dispensation von der Aufnahmeprüfung:
Bei der Online-Anmeldung müssen Sie einen Antrag auf Dispensation stellen. Die dafür zuständige Kommission der Fakultät untersucht jeden Antrag individuell. Konsultieren Sie den Studienplan des BA Mehrsprachige Kommunikation, um Ihr Studium mit dem BA an der FTI zu vergleichen. Vergleichen Sie vor allem, ob Sie dieselbe Anzahl an Leistungspunkten in Übersetzen pro Sprachenpaar erreicht haben.


(C) Sie absolvieren das letzte Studienjahr im BA Mehrsprachige Kommunikation an der FTI:
 Wenn Sie Ihre Sprachkombination beibehalten, werden Sie ohne Aufnahmeprüfung zum MA Übersetzen zugelassen (sofern Sie die Prüfungen im BA bestanden haben). Für die Anmeldung genügt eine E-Mail an Marie-Laure Cudet bis zum 31. August 2021.


Weitere Informationen zu diesem Studiengang finden Sie in der allgemeinen Beschreibung.


Zum Seitenanfang

 

Image décorative

Die Aufnahmeprüfung kurz erklärt

Beschreibung der Aufnahmeprüfungen für die Masterstudiengänge

Sie müssen in jedem Ihrer Sprachenpaare (B-A) eine Prüfung ablegen:

Ein Sprachenpaar setzt sich jeweils aus Ihrer A-Sprache und einer Ihrer B-Sprachen zusammen. Bei den Prüfungen in den jeweiligen Sprachenpaaren (B1-A, B2-A, B3-A) werden Ihr Wissen und Ihre Redaktionskompetenz in Ihrer Muttersprache (A) sowie Ihr Textverständnis in Ihrer Passivsprache (B) überprüft.

Bei der Aufnahmeprüfung müssen die KandidatInnen zeigen, dass sie einen Text in ihrer Passivsprache mit all seinen sprachlichen Feinheiten verstehen und sich perfekt in ihrer Aktivsprache ausdrücken können.

Bei der Zusammenfassung sollen die wesentlichen Aspekte des Texts in der zusätzlichen B-Sprache in einem angemessenen und natürlichen Stil in der A-Sprache wiedergegeben werden. Bei dieser Aufgabe gilt es, wichtige Informationen von nebensächlichen Aspekten zu unterscheiden und das Wesentliche in einem gut strukturierten Text wiederzugeben. Die Hauptkriterien bei der Bewertung der A-Sprache sind Vielfalt und Präzision des Wortschatzes sowie korrekte Orthografie, Syntax und Interpunktion.

Der zweite Teil ergänzt die Bewertung der Zusammenfassung. Bei den Fragen wird das Verständnis sprachlicher Feinheiten im Text in der B-Sprache geprüft, während beim Aufsatz die Ausdrucksfähigkeit in der A-Sprache in einem weniger eingeschränkten Rahmen als bei der Zusammenfassung bewertet wird.

Sie erhalten für jede dieser Prüfungen eine Note. Die Aufnahmeprüfung ist bestanden, sofern Sie bei einer oder mehreren Prüfungen mindestens die Note 4 erreichen. Die Notenskala geht von 0 bis 6.

Was passiert bei Nichtbestehen?

Falls alle Ihre Noten unter 4 liegen, können Sie den MA Übersetzen nicht im darauffolgenden Herbst beginnen. Sie können die Aufnahmeprüfung jedoch einmal wiederholen.

Falls die Note für eines Ihrer Sprachenpaare unter 4 liegt, Sie in den anderen Sprachenpaaren allerdings mindestens mit der Note 4 bestanden haben, können Sie die nichtbestandene Prüfung einmal wiederholen. In der Zwischenzeit können Sie bereits Ihr Studium beginnen und Kurse in der Sprachkombination besuchen, für die Sie die Prüfung bestanden haben.

Welches Sprachniveau wird verlangt?

Sie beherrschen Ihre A-Sprache perfekt: Sie müssen einen logischen, gut strukturierten Text in adäquatem Stil verfassen können. Für die B-Sprachen wird mindestens das Niveau C1 gemäss Gemeinsamem Europäischem Referenzrahmen erwartet.

Niveau B2 für KandidatInnen, die Französisch nicht in ihrer Sprachkombination haben

Zusätzlich zur Aufnahmeprüfung an der FTI wird für die Immatrikulation an der Universität ein Niveau B2 in Französisch verlangt. Überprüfen Sie zunächst auf der Seite der Universität Genf zur Französischprüfung, ob Sie eine der Bedingungen für eine Dispensation erfüllen. Sollte dies nicht der Fall sein, dann können Sie entweder eines der auf der Seite (unter Punkt 2 des Abschnitts "DISPENSES DE L'EXAMEN DE FRANÇAIS") genannten Diplome einreichen oder die Französischprüfung ablegen.
Die Französischprüfung wird von der Zulassungsstelle durchgeführt und findet zwei bis drei Wochen vor Semesterbeginn statt. Bei Nichtbestehen können Sie das Studium an der FTI nicht aufnehmen.

Wählen Sie eine Sprachkombination mit zwei, drei oder vier Sprachen.
Ihre Mutter- oder Grundsprache ist Ihre A-Sprache.  Diese Sprache beherrschen Sie perfekt. Ausgehend von Ihrer A-Sprache wählen Sie dann in der Tabelle der Sprachkombinationen eine, zwei oder drei B-Sprachen (auch „Passivsprachen“ genannt). Diese Sprachen ergeben zusammen Ihre Sprachkombination.


Zum Seitenanfang

 

formation-inscription-quoi.jpg

Wo und wann finden die Aufnahmeprüfungen statt?

Die Aufnahmeprüfungen finden online vom 6. bis 8. April 2021 statt.


Zum Seitenanfang

 

formation-inscription-procedure.jpg

Wie kann man sich anmelden?

  • Anmeldung an der FTI 

Melden Sie sich online zu den Aufnahmeprüfungen der FTI an: vom 1. Oktober 2020 bis 31. Januar 2021 (letzter Anmeldetag).

a) Erstellen Sie zunächst ein ORISIS-Konto an der UNIGE (alle Anmeldungen laufen über dieses Konto).

b) Melden Sie sich mit Ihrem Konto auf der Online-Plattform der FTI für die Aufnahmeprüfungen an. Hier finden Sie eine Liste der Dokumente, die Sie für die Anmeldung zu den Aufnahmeprüfungen benötigen.

(Sollten Sie schon an der Universität Genf immatrikuliert sein, verwenden Sie den Benutzernamen und das Passwort Ihrer ersten Anmeldung auf ORISIS. Diese sind im Normalfall mit Ihrer privaten E-Mail-Adresse verknüpft. Sollten Sie keinen Zugriff auf Ihr Konto haben, erstellen Sie einen neuen Zugang mit Ihrer Adresse @etu.unige.ch.)

Sie erhalten eine Bestätigung für die Anmeldung zu den Aufnahmeprüfungen per E-Mail.

Die Einladung zur Prüfung sowie die Prüfungszeiten werden Ihnen bis Ende Februar per E-Mail zugeschickt.

Wenn Sie das letzte Studienjahr im BA an der FTI absolvieren oder bereits im MA an der FTI studieren und eine neue Sprache zu Ihrer Sprachkombination hinzufügen möchten, melden Sie sich auf der Online-Plattform für eine neue Sprache („Ajout de langue“) an und scannen Sie die für diese neue Sprache benötigten Dokumente ein.


  • Anmeldung an der UNIGE

Verwenden Sie Ihr ORISIS-Konto, um Ihre Immatrikulation an der Universität Genf online zu beantragen. Nachdem Sie Ihre Immatrikulation online beantragt haben, müssen Sie Ihren Antrag ausdrucken und per Post an die Zulassungsstelle schicken:

- vom 4. Januar bis 28. Februar 2021 für StaatsbürgerInnen, die für einen Aufenthalt von über 90 Tagen in der Schweiz ein Visum benötigen (unabhängig von Ihrem aktuellen Wohnsitz, ausser bei Schweizer Aufenthaltsbewilligung, die bis über den 30. April hinaus gültig ist)

- vom 4. Januar bis 30. April 2021 für KandidatInnen, die für einen Aufenthalt von über 90 Tagen kein Visum benötigen

Achten Sie darauf, Ihren vollständigen Immatrikulationsantrag rechtzeitig einzureichen, auch wenn Sie die Ergebnisse der Aufnahmeprüfungen an der FTI nocht nicht erhalten haben!

Falls Sie bereits an der UNIGE studieren (und somit immatrikuliert sind), stellen Sie innerhalb der entsprechenden Fristen einen Antrag auf Wechsel der Fakultät oder einen Antrag auf Immatrikulation an einer zweiten Fakultät.

Falls Sie exmatrikuliert wurden oder vor Ihrem Studienbeginn an der FTI exmatrikuliert werden, stellen Sie innerhalb der entsprechenden Fristen einen Antrag auf Reimmatrikulation.

Die Immatrikulation ist die von der Universität erteilte Zulassung, sich als StudentIn an einer Fakultät einzuschreiben, um an den verschiedenen Kursen, Seminaren und Übungen teilzunehmen, die zur Erlangung eines akademischen Grades notwendig sind. Sie ist für jedes Studium an der FTI verpflichtend.

Die Studiengebühr beträgt CHF 500.- pro Semester, sowohl für Studierende aus der Schweiz als auch aus dem Ausland. 

Die Aufnahmeprüfungen an der FTI sind kostenlos. Für den Immatrikulationsantrag an der UNIGE ist jedoch eine Gebühr von CHF 65.- zu entrichten.

ACHTUNG

Die Zulassung an der FTI wird erst bestätigt, wenn Sie

* die Aufnahmeprüfung an der FTI bestanden haben

und

* Ihr Immatrikulationsantrag an der UNIGE angenommen wurde.

BewerberInnen durchlaufen somit zwei separate Anmeldeverfahren.
Beide Verfahren sind verpflichtend, um an der UNIGE studieren zu können.


Zum Seitenanfang

 

formation-inscription-sinscrire.jpg

Kontakt

Studiensekretariat:

Informationen, Zulassung und Anmeldung

Marie-Laure Cudet
Gebäude: Uni Mail
Büro: 6256
Tel.: +41 (0)22 37 98708
Fax: +41 (0)22 37 98750
E-Mail: Marie-Laure.Cudet(at)unige.ch

Bürozeiten: Dienstag-Freitag, 10:00-12:00 und 14:00-16:00 Uhr


Zum Seitenanfang