MA Translation

Master in Translation – Concentration in Translation Technologies


The Master (MA) in Translation is divided into four different concentrations, including “Translation Technologies”, which is described below.


Presentation of the programme

Because terminology and translation technologies are an integral part of the translator’s professional activities, they are also key components of training in translation. The Master in Translation with a Concentration in Translation Technologies trains experts in these two fields. With its varied coursework, oriented towards both professional practice and research, the programme focuses on four main areas of study:

  • IT tools for the translator-terminologist
  • Basic knowledge of information technologies and linguistics
  • Tools for studying translation
  • The multilingual web

Content


Curriculum

  • Master comprising 120 ECTS credits
    • Required courses and optional courses
    • Thesis (25 ECTS credits)
  • One or two passive languages

Areas of study

  • Advanced translation and revision (core curriculum)
  • Translation technologies
    • Terminology
    • Technologies for terminology
    • Terminography
    • Automatic translation
    • Computer-assisted translation
    • Linguistic engineering
    • Corpora for translation
    • XML and multilingual documents
    • Localisation and project management
  • Specialised translation
  • Specialised subject areas
  • Translation studies

The programme begins each year in September and lasts 4 semesters. Courses are given in French (or in English in a few cases) and in the languages of the student’s chosen combination.

Objectives

The Master of Arts in Translation with a Concentration in Translation Technologies focuses on the various uses of information technologies in translation: what translation-related IT tools are available to the translator and how can translators make the most of them? The aim of the programme is to train translator-terminologists capable not only of evaluating existing tools and adapting them for specific needs, but also of participating in the creation and design of new multilingual tools.

All of the courses combine theory and practice, thanks to a state-of-the art IT environment. They are given by a team of teachers with interdisciplinary backgrounds who are also intensely involved in research. An (optional) in-company internship gives students the opportunity to put their acquired skills into practice, and the thesis can be an extension of the internship. Graduates with this concentration may go on to do a doctorate in Multilingual Information Processing.

Career opportunities

The Master of Arts in Translation with a Concentration in Translation Technologies trains both translator-terminologists specialised in new translation technologies, and multilingual linguistic engineering professionals, thereby contributing to the creation of new translation-oriented professions, including:

  • Multilingual engineer
  • Expert in translation technologies
  • Specialist in computer-assisted translation (CAT)
  • Linguist-IT professional specialised in multilingual applications
  • Multilingual web editor

Practical information


Useful links and documents to download

Contacts

Master Übersetzen

Master in Übersetzen – Schwerpunkt Übersetzungstechnologien


Der Master (MA) in Übersetzen wird mit vier fachlichen Schwerpunkten angeboten. Im Folgenden wird der Schwerpunkt „Übersetzungstechnologien“ beschrieben.


Beschreibung des Studiengangs

Die Arbeit mit Terminologie und der Umgang mit Übersetzungstools sind wesentliche Bestandteile der Tätigkeit des Übersetzers; sie stellen im Übersetzerstudium zu vermittelnde Schlüsselkompetenzen dar. Der Studiengang Master in Übersetzen mit Schwerpunkt „Übersetzungstechnologien“ erlaubt eine Spezialisierung auf beiden Gebieten. Das Vorlesungsangebot des Studiengangs lässt sich vier Themenbereichen zuordnen und ist mit praxisbezogenen als auch wissenschaftlich ausgerichteten Kursen äusserst vielseitig.

  • Software für Übersetzer-Terminologen
  • Grundlagen der Informatik und Linguistik
  • Tools für die Übersetzungsanalyse
  • Das mehrsprachige Web

Aufbau des Studiums und Studienbereiche


Studienplan

  • Master: 120 ECTS-Punkte
    • Pflichtfächer und Wahlfächer
    • Wissenschaftliche Abschlussarbeit (25 ECTS-Punkte)
  • Eine oder zwei Passivsprachen

Studienbereiche

  • Allgemeine Übersetzung und Revision (schwerpunktübergreifendes Pflichtfach)
  • Übersetzungstechnologien
    • Terminologie
    • Terminologie-Tools
    • Terminographie
    • Automatische Übersetzung
    • Computergestützte Übersetzung
    • Computerlinguistik
    • Corpora für die Übersetzung
    • XML und mehrsprachige Dokumente
    • Lokalisierung und Projekt-Management
  • Fachübersetzung
  • Sachfächer
  • Übersetzungswissenschaft

Der Master-Studiengang kann jedes Jahr im Herbst begonnen werden und umfasst 4 Semester. Die Kurse werden in französischer Sprache (sowie in manchen Fällen auch auf Englisch) und in den Sprachen der gewählten Sprachkombination erteilt.

Ziele des Studiengangs

In diesem Master-Studiengang liegt der Schwerpunkt auf den verschiedenen Anwendungen der Informatik im Bereich der professionellen Übersetzung. Welche Tools stehen dem Übersetzer zur Verfügung und wie werden diese bestmöglich genutzt? Dieser Studiengang bildet Übersetzer-Terminologen aus, die nicht nur die bestehenden Tools evaluieren und für bestimmte Bereiche spezialisieren, sondern auch an der Konzipierung neuer mehrsprachiger Tools mitarbeiten können.

Alle Kurse kombinieren Theorie und praktische Übungen. Den Studierenden steht eine Soft-und Hardware-Ausstattung zur Verfügung, die auf dem neuesten Stand ist. Der Unterricht wird von Lehrkräften erteilt, die aktiv in der Forschung tätig sind und über einen multidisziplinären Hintergrund verfügen. Ein fakultatives Praktikum ermöglicht den StudentInnen die erworbenen Kenntnisse praktisch umzusetzen. Die wissenschaftliche Abschlussarbeit kann an das Praktikum anschliessen und eventuell auf das „Doctorat en Traitement Informatique Multilingue“ vorbereiten.

Berufsperspektiven

Der Master in Übersetzen mit Schwerpunkt „Übersetzungstechnologien“ bildet nicht nur Übersetzer-Terminologen aus, die Spezialisten für neue Übersetzungstechnologien sind, sondern auch mehrsprachige Computerlinguisten, die in neuen Bereichen der Übersetzung tätig werden können:

  • Mehrsprachiger Computerlinguist
  • Experte für Übersetzungstechnologien
  • Spezialist für computergestützte Übersetzung
  • Mehrsprachiger Web-Redakteur

Praktische Informationen


Nützliche Links und Download von Dokumenten

Kontakte