MA Translation

Master in Translation – Concentration in Translation Technologies


The Master (MA) in Translation is divided into four different concentrations, including “Translation Technologies”, which is described below.


Presentation of the programme

Because terminology and translation technologies are an integral part of the translator’s professional activities, they are also key components of training in translation. The Master in Translation with a Concentration in Translation Technologies trains experts in these two fields. With its varied coursework, oriented towards both professional practice and research, the programme focuses on four main areas of study:

  • IT tools for the translator-terminologist
  • Basic knowledge of information technologies and linguistics
  • Tools for studying translation
  • The multilingual web

Content


Curriculum

  • Master comprising 120 ECTS credits
    • Required courses and optional courses
    • Thesis (25 ECTS credits)
  • One or two passive languages

Areas of study

  • Advanced translation and revision (core curriculum)
  • Translation technologies
    • Terminology
    • Technologies for terminology
    • Terminography
    • Automatic translation
    • Computer-assisted translation
    • Linguistic engineering
    • Corpora for translation
    • XML and multilingual documents
    • Localisation and project management
  • Specialised translation
  • Specialised subject areas
  • Translation studies

The programme begins each year in September and lasts 4 semesters. Courses are given in French (or in English in a few cases) and in the languages of the student’s chosen combination.

Objectives

The Master of Arts in Translation with a Concentration in Translation Technologies focuses on the various uses of information technologies in translation: what translation-related IT tools are available to the translator and how can translators make the most of them? The aim of the programme is to train translator-terminologists capable not only of evaluating existing tools and adapting them for specific needs, but also of participating in the creation and design of new multilingual tools.

All of the courses combine theory and practice, thanks to a state-of-the art IT environment. They are given by a team of teachers with interdisciplinary backgrounds who are also intensely involved in research. An (optional) in-company internship gives students the opportunity to put their acquired skills into practice, and the thesis can be an extension of the internship. Graduates with this concentration may go on to do a doctorate in Multilingual Information Processing.

Career opportunities

The Master of Arts in Translation with a Concentration in Translation Technologies trains both translator-terminologists specialised in new translation technologies, and multilingual linguistic engineering professionals, thereby contributing to the creation of new translation-oriented professions, including:

  • Multilingual engineer
  • Expert in translation technologies
  • Specialist in computer-assisted translation (CAT)
  • Linguist-IT professional specialised in multilingual applications
  • Multilingual web editor

Practical information


Useful links and documents to download

Contacts

Maîtrises en traduction

Maîtrise en traduction - mention technologies de la traduction


La Maîtrise (Ma) en traduction se décline en quatre mentions différentes, dont la mention "technologies de la traduction".


Présentation de la formation

La terminologie et la traductique font partie intégrante du travail du traducteur et constituent deux composantes-clés de la formation en traduction. La Maîtrise en traduction, mention Technologies de la traduction, forme des experts dans ces deux domaines. Elle s’articule autour de quatre grands axes, grâce à une série de cours variés, orientés à la fois vers la pratique professionnelle et la recherche :

  • Les outils informatiques pour le traducteur-terminologue
  • Les bases informatiques et linguistiques
  • Les outils d’étude de la traduction
  • Le web multilingue

Programme d'études


Plan d'études

  • Maîtrise à 120 crédits ECTS
    • Cours obligatoires et cours à option
    • Mémoire de recherche (25 crédits ECTS)
  • Une ou deux langues passives

Domaines de l'enseignement

  • Traduction argumentée et révision (tronc commun)
  • Technologies de la traduction
    • Terminologie
    • Terminotique
    • Terminographie
    • Traduction automatique
    • Traduction assistée par ordinateur
    • Ingénierie linguistique
    • Corpus pour la traduction
    • XML et documents multilingues
    • Localisation et gestion de projet
  • Traduction spécialisée
  • Spécialité
  • Traductologie

La maîtrise débute chaque année en septembre pour une durée de quatre semestres. Les cours sont dispensés en français (ou en anglais dans quelques cas) et dans les langues de la combinaison choisie par l’étudiant.

Objectifs de la formation

La Maîtrise universitaire en traduction, mention Technologies de la traduction, met l’accent sur les diverses utilisations de l’informatique en traduction : quels sont les outils disponibles pour le traducteur et comment en tirer le meilleur parti possible ? Elle a pour objectif de former des traducteurs-terminologues capables non seulement d’évaluer les outils existants et de les spécialiser pour des domaines particuliers, mais aussi de participer à la conception de nouveaux outils multilingues.

Tous les cours combinent la théorie et la pratique, grâce à un environnement informatique de pointe, à la fois matériel et logiciel. Ils sont dispensés par une équipe d’enseignants multidisciplinaires, très impliqués dans la recherche. Un stage en entreprise (facultatif) permet à l’étudiant de mettre en application les connaissances acquises. Le mémoire peut être une prolongation du stage et prépare au doctorat en Traitement informatique multilingue.

Perspectives professionnelles

La Maîtrise en traduction, mention Technologies de la traduction forme non seulement des traducteurs-terminologues spécialisés dans les nouvelles technologies de la traduction, mais aussi des professionnels de l’ingénierie linguistique multilingue, ouvrant ainsi la porte à des nouveaux métiers de la traduction, en particulier:

  • Ingénieur multilingue
  • Expert en technologies de la traduction
  • Spécialiste en traduction assistée par ordinateur (TAO)
  • Linguiste-informaticien spécialisé dans les applications multilingues
  • Rédacteur multilingue web

Informations pratiques


Liens utiles et documents à télécharger

Contacts