Academic networks


LERU is an association of 23 leading research-intensive universities that share the values of high-quality teaching within an environment of internationally competitive research. Founded in 2002, the League aims to advocate the values of these universities, influence European policy and develop best practice through the mutual exchange of experience.

LERU's activities are undertaken at the request of the Rectors' Assembly. They are implemented by groups composed of representatives from member universities. LERU also publishes joint documents and research papers written by representatives of its member universities..LERU activities are situated between international relations and research. As a result, UNIGE's involvement is handled jointly by the International Affairs Office and the Research Service. The list below indicates the UNIGE representatives by group as well as the coordinating Office at the Rectorate
(SAI = International Affairs, RS = Research Service).

UNIGE LERU representatives
(as of 7 May 2019)

Nom du groupe Personne Suivi
Rectors Assembly (RA) Yves Flückiger SAI
Advanced Therapeutic Medicinal Products
Karl-Heinz Krause SAI
Advanced Therapeutic Medicinal Products
Samia Hurst SAI

Advanced Therapeutic Medicinal Products

Gabriele Thumann SAI
Alumni Relations (ALUM) Pascal Praplan SAI
Biomedicine/Life Sciences (BIOM) Henri Bounameaux SAI
Biomedicine/Life Sciences (BIOM) Nicolas Demaurex SAI
Careers of researchers & HR (CARE) Marie-Claire Cors-Huber RS
Careers of researchers & HR (CARE) Caroline Loutre RS
Crime & Social Control NN  
Digital Education (DIGE) Christelle Bozelle SAI
Digital Education (DIGE) Pierre-Yves Burgi SAI
Directors of Communication (COMM) Marco Cattaneo SAI
Diversity (DIVERSITY) Frédéric Darbellay SAI
Diversity (DIVERSITY) Didier Wernli SAI
Doctoral Studies (DOCT) Jean-Michel Bonvin SAI
Doctoral Studies  (DOCT-SS) Christiane Bezuchet RS
Dual Use (DUAL USE) Frédéric Esposito SAI
Enterprise & Innovation (ENTE) Antoine Geissbuhler SAI
Enterprise & Innovation (ENTE) Laurent Miéville SAI
Ethics  (ETHI) Christine Clavien SAI
European Research Projects Managers (ERPM) Alex Waehry RS
Gender (GEND) Brigitte Mantilleri SAI
General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR) Vladan Janjusevic SAI
Implementation of the LERU Open Science Roadmap  NN  
Information & Open Access (INFO) Marie Fuselier SAI
Law (LAW) Bénédict Foëx SAI
Learning & Teaching (LEAR) Micheline Louis-Courvoisier SAI
Nagoya ABS (Nagoya ABS) Emerson Ferreira Queiroz SAI
Nagoya ABS (Nagoya ABS) Jean-Luc Wolfender SAI
Natural Sciences (NATU) Costanza Bonadonna SAI
Philanthropy (PHIL) Christiane Fux SAI
Protection of Animals Used for Scientific Purposes (ANIM) Marjolaine Philit RS
Research (RESE) Laure Ognois-Zaugg RS
Research (RESE) Brigitte Galliot RS
Research Integrity (INTE) Samia Hurst RS
Senior Officers (SON) Noria Mezlef SAI
Social Sciences & Humanities (SSHU) Claudine Burton-Jeangros RS
Social Sciences & Humanities (SSHU) Giacomo De Giorgi RS
Social Sciences & Humanities (SSHU) François Grin  RS
Social Sciences & Humanities (SSHU) Alexander Keese RS
Teacher Training NN  
Theology & Religious Studies (THRS) Hans-Christoph Askani SAI
Theology & Religious Studies (THRS) Jean-Daniel Macchi SAI
University Development Cooperation
(DEVELOPMENT Cooperation)
Michel Oris SAI