[935] Memory Dysfunction in Alzheimer's Disease

rect839.png

Our group has a long standing expertise in the field of Alzheimer's and related diseases. Our main research interest focuses on translational neuroimaging combining basic research with the understanding of pathogenesis of neurodegeneration and contributing to the diagnosis of dementia in clinical settings.

In particular:

  • In vivo neuropathology of Alzheimer's disease and related diseases with nuclear magnetic resonance and PET techniques.
  • Biomarkers imaging and CSF for the early diagnosis and "disease tracking" of Alzheimer's and related diseases.
  • Drugs for the prevention of Alzheimer's disease.
  • Integration of advanced imaging techniques (PET amyloid, tau PET, MR 7T) into clinical practice.
  • The role of microbiota in the pathogenesis of Alzheimer's disease.
  • The computerized and automated analysis of large databases imaging of the brain

Research ProjectS

Personne de contact: Marie Louise MONTANDON

Behavioural and Psychological Symptoms of Dementia (BPSD) continue to raise difficult problems, because they are difficult to manage, both for caregivers and health professionals. The RECAGE project, funded by the European Union's Horizon 2020 research and innovation program, aims to assess the efficacy (alleviating BPSD and improving quality of life of patients and caregivers) and the cost-effectiveness of a quite novel intervention, the Special Care Unit for patients with BPSD. The Geriatric Service, through the participation of the Memory Center and the SOMADEM unit (SOMAtic DEMentia), is one of the centers of the six countries (Italy, France, Germany, Greece, Norway, Switzerland) selected to participate in the study. SOMADEM unit is a specialized geriatric unit for patients with dementia and exacerbated behavioral disorders in the context of an acute somatic episode.

 

Personne de contact: Christian Moro

The AMYPAD project is a new research initiative that will bring together partners from academia and the private sector to improve the understanding of the role of beta-amyloid (β-amyloid) proteins as diagnostic and therapeutic markers for Alzheimer's disease using positron emission tomography. The AMYPAD consortium includes 8 academic centres, 3 pharmaceutical companies, 2 SMEs and 1 patient organisation across Europe.

 

Working directly in the clinical setting, AMYPAD seeks to determine for which types of patients and under which circumstances diagnostic β-amyloid imaging would be particularly relevant. The project also aims to assess how the information gathered can influence the certainty of diagnosis and the management of patients in a way that minimises costs. In this way, the AMYPAD project will provide an in-depth understanding of the evolution of Alzheimer's disease at a pre-symptomatic stage, allowing for better secondary prevention of the disease and more efficient selection of patients for clinical trials. In order to achieve these goals, AMYPAD will work closely with the EPAD project (http://ep-ad.org/).

 

AMYPAD is primarily funded by the European Union's Horizon 2020 Framework Programme for Research and Innovation and by the European pharmaceutical industry (EFPIA), under the auspices of the Innovative Medicines Initiative Joint Undertaking (IMI JU).

 

Personne de contact: Szymon TOMCZYK

Research project in which data concerning clinical and neuropsychological assessments acquired in the course of routine care of patients at the Memory Clinic of the University Hospitals of Geneva are collected and organised in a dedicated database. It is an observational study, cross-sectional in its comparison between different diagnostic groups, as well as longitudinal, in order to analyse the progression of each dementia, with the final aim of developing precise and feasible diagnostic and prognostic biomarkers for neurodegenerative diseases.

.

Personne de contact: Federica RIBALDI

In the field of Alzheimer’s disease (AD), realities such as the constant improvement of risk estimation, or of the accuracy of blood tests for a large-scale screening of AD biomarkers, as well as the possibility of earlier detection in cognitively unimpaired individuals might change the individual and public attitude towards predictive medicine and medicine in general. PreTAD aims to clarify people’s needs in relation to the health care system and its services.

 

Personne de contact: Moira MARIZZONI

The aim of the project is to evaluate the interaction between: the intestinal bacteria (gut microbiota or flora), the peripheral inflammatory states, and the presence of bamyloid or Tau proteins in the brain, in patients with mild cognitive impairment or cognitively healthy.

Personne de contact: Claire CHEVALIER

The aim of this pre-clinical study is to evaluate the effect of fecal transplantation (eg, intestinal flora) in the treatment of Alzheimer’s disease (AD). A selection of individuals protected against AD, or with diagnosed AD will be used as donors for microbiota transplantation to a mice model of AD. We wish to identify which microbiota (or which bacteria) can attenuates or treat AD, and if fecal transplantation could be a new therapeutic tool for AD.

Personne de contact: Daniel ALTOMARE

CLAMP aims to assess whether an intervention consisting of 40 Hz multi-sensory (auditory and visual) stimulation is able to reduce the amyloid load in non-demented amyloid-positive individuals. As secondary endpoints, we will assess whether such intervention is able to: (i) improve the brain electrical activity, (ii) improve or slow down the worsening of Alzheimer’s blood-based biomarkers, (iii) improve or slow down the worsening of cognition.

 

Personne de contact: Federica RIBALDI

Nowadays, about 25% of memory clinics patients complain of cognitive decline in absence of objective deficits (subjective cognitive decline, SCD). These individuals could be at higher risk of developing dementia, but the majority have psychiatric conditions, physical diseases, polypharmacy, or simply normal brain ageing. Differentiating these potential causes is often a difficult exercise even for expert physicians. This project aims to investigate possible subgroups of SCD and their association with neurological, psychiatric, and physical causes.

 

Personne de contact: Valentina Garibotto

This is a longitudinal study that aim at evaluating the risk of cognitive deterioration in individuals with no or subtle cognitive symptoms who are fully characterized in term of Amyloid, Tau and Neurodegeneration status. This study will have strong impact on our knowledge on the longitudinal interplay of amyloid and tau accumulation on disease progression.

Personne de contact: Blanche Pirotte

This is a phase 3, multi-centre, randomised, double-blind, placebo-controlled, parallel-group study to evaluate the efficacy and safety of aducanumab in patients with early Alzheimer's disease. The treatment period is 18 months, during which time individuals who meet all protocol inclusion criteria will be blinded to either the treatment or placebo group. The study will include 1350 patients from approximately 180 sites worldwide. The Memory Centre of the University Hospital of Geneva is among the sites selected to participate in the study. The study leader is Professor Giovanni Frisoni and the coordinator is Mrs Blanche Pirotte.

Contact person : Rahel Park

Normal pressure hydrocephalus (NPH) is the leading cause of reversible dementia in aging. It is caused by altered cerebrospinal fluid (CSF) dynamics bringing about increased CSF in the lateral ventricles, distortion of brain tissue, with ensuing neurological symptoms. The precise etiology and pathophysiology of idiopathic type NPH (iNPH) still largely remains unclear.

Technological advancements during the last decade have allowed understanding the type and quantity of microbes that humans host in their skin, mouth, and guts in health and disease. Gut bacteria have been shown to play a role among others in Parkinson’s disease, Alzheimer’s disease, and amyotrophic lateral sclerosis, but the involvement of gut microbiota in iNPH has never been investigated. The main objective of the project is to investigate potential links between gut microbiome composition and/or its metabolites and the pathophysiology of iNPH.

Contact person : Blanche Pirotte

This is a pilot, monocentric, randomized, prospective study with a radiotherapy group and an observation group (without radiotherapy). Therapies targeting amyloid and tau proteins in the context of Alzheimer's disease have been developed in recent years. However, their results, for the moment, are inconclusive or under evaluation, hence the importance of testing alternative strategies. Radiotherapy in the context of this disease has two main arguments in its favour: 1. radiotherapy would reduce the systemic forms of amyloidosis and 2. it would have an anti-inflammatory effect. This last mode of action is particularly interesting in the context of Alzheimer's disease because recent studies have shown that the development of the amyloid protein in the brain is accelerated by an inflammatory phenomenon. The objective of this promising study is to determine the safety and adverse effects associated with low-dose brain radiation therapy and the reduction of amyloid plaques in patients with Alzheimer's disease. The study will include 20 participants at the single site of the University Hospital of Geneva.

Contact person : Blanche Pirotte

EMBARK is a Phase 3b, open-label, multicenter, longitudinal, single arm clinical trial. It follows the interruptions of previous BIOGEN studies that evaluated the treatment of aducanumab in early-stage Alzheimer's disease. Indeed, the results of futility analyzes of these studies did not show any encouraging effect. However, the additional results on the data set subsequently showed a significant slowing of cognitive and functional decline in people in the high-dose group, hence the need for a new clinical trial: the EMBARK study. This study evaluates the long-term efficacy and safety of aducanumab in patients with early-stage Alzheimer's disease who have participated in previous aducanumab studies. Patients receive treatment by intravenous infusion once a month for a period of 24 months. 1696 subjects are included in this clinical trial spread over 297 sites worldwide. The Memory Center of Geneva University Hospitals selected to participate in the study, is the site with the most active patients in Switzerland. The head of the study is Professor Giovanni Frisoni.

Contact person : Blanche Pirotte

 

EPAD LCS is a prospective, multicentre, pan-European and longitudinal cohort study. This European project for the Prevention of Alzheimer's Dementia (EPAD LCS) has been established to overcome the major hurdles hampering drug development for secondary prevention of dementia due to Alzheimer’s disease. Interventions must start early in the course of Alzheimer’s disease, but accurate disease models covering the entire course of it before dementia onset are lacking. Its objective is therefore to create a cohort of well-phenotyped people by studying multiple risk and protective factors for the disease and, thus, to represent a spectrum of the probability of developing Alzheimer's dementia. Participants are stratified and placed on an overall risk continuum derived from three dimensions: cognition, biomarkers, and traditional risk factors (genetic and environmental). For this they are subjected to blood, saliva and urine samples in addition to MRI, neuropsychological tests, various questionnaires and lumbar punctures repeated over time.

Considering these continuous dimensions allows for greater efficiency and insight into why and where a participant falls in the overall probability continuum spectrum as they may indeed have similar overall risk probability but with very different contributions.

In addition to allowing continuous improvement of models of Alzheimer's disease in people without dementia, this study provides a well-phenotyped population for a clinical trial and thus minimizes trial screening failures

Contact person : Moira Marizzoni

The aim of the project is to apply a non-invasive imaging tool, positron emission tomography (PET), to study the involvement of peripheral organs in Alzheimer’s Disease (AD). 18F-Flutemetamol PET has been extensively applied to identify amyloid pathology in the brain, and here we will explore whether it enables the detection of amyloid-related deposits in the abdomen.

Contact person  : Estefania Vilarino

Alzheimer’s Disease (AD) is associated with staggering costs and suffering, which are particularly related to the social impacts of caring for increasingly disabled individuals. These functional disabilities can be almost undetectable in the early stages of the disease, worsening over time often and at a varying rate of progression in different people. The measurement of such functional disabilities is typically blunt and relies on direct observation or caregiver recall. Digital technologies, particularly those based on the use of smartphones, wearables and/or home-based monitoring devices, here defined as ‘Remote Measurement Technologies’ (RMTs), provide an opportunity to change radically the way in which functional assessment is undertaken in AD,  RMTs have the potential to obtain better measurements of behavioural and biological parameters associated with individual Activities of Daily Living (ADL) when compared to the current subjective scales or questionnaires. Divergence from normative ADL profiles could objectively indicate the presence of specific functional disabilities even at the very early stages of AD. Therefore, the main hypothesis of this project is that RMTs should allow the detection of impairments in functional component of ADLs that occur below the threshold of clinical scale detection or disability questionnaires.

[935] Troubles de mémoire et maladie d'Alzheimer

rect839.png

Le groupe de GB Frisoni bénéficie d'une expertise de longue date dans le domaine de la maladie d'Alzheimer et de maladies apparentées. Son principal intérêt de recherche concerne la neuro-imagerie translationnelle alliant la recherche fondamentale à la compréhension de la physiopathologie de la neurodégénérescence et participant au diagnostic de la démence en milieu cliniques. En particulier:

  • La neuropathologie in vivo de la maladie d'Alzheimer et maladies apparentées l’imagerie par résonance magnétique et PET
  • Les biomarqueurs d’imagerie et de l’LCR pour le diagnostic de précoce et le « disease tracking » de la maladie d'Alzheimer et maladies apparentées
  • Les médicaments pour la prévention de la maladie d'Alzheimer
  • L’intégration dans la clinique des techniques avancées d’imagerie (amyloid PET, tau PET, MR 7T)
  • Le rôle du microbiote dans la physiopathologie de la maladie d’Alzheimer
  • L’analyse informatisée et automatisée de larges bases de données d’imagerie du cerveau

Projets de recherche

Personne de contact: Marie Louise MONTANDON

Le projet RECAGE vise à mesurer l’efficience (coût/efficacité) d’une unité de soins médicaux  spécialisés dans la prise en charge de patients présentant des symptômes comportementaux et psychologiques liés à la démence (SCPD). Il vise à évaluer son efficacité en vue de soulager les SCPD et améliorer la qualité de vie des patients et des soignants. Il est financé par le programme de recherche et d'innovation Horizon 2020 de l'Union européenne. Le service de gériatrie, grâce à la participation du centre de mémoire et de l'unité SOMADEM (SOMAtic DEMentia), est l'un des centres des six pays (Italie, France, Allemagne, Grèce, Norvège, Suisse) sélectionnés pour participer à l'étude. L'unité SOMADEM est une unité gériatrique spécialisée pour les patients atteints de démence et de troubles du comportement exacerbés dans le contexte d'un épisode somatique aigu.

 

Personne de contact: Christian Moro

Le projet AMYPAD représente une nouvelle initiative de recherche qui réunira des partenaires des milieux universitaires et privés, et visant à améliorer la compréhension du rôle des protéines bêta-amyloïde (β-amyloïde) comme marqueurs diagnostiques et thérapeutiques de la maladie d'Alzheimer en utilisant la tomographie par émission de positons. Le consortium AMYPAD regroupe 8 centres universitaires, 3 entreprises pharmaceutiques, 2 PME et 1 organisation de patients répartis dans toute l'Europe.

En travaillant directement dans le contexte clinique, AMYPAD cherche à déterminer pour quels types de patients et dans quelles circonstances l'imagerie diagnostique β-amyloïde serait particulièrement pertinente. Le projet vise également à évaluer comment les informations récoltées peuvent influencer le degré de certitude du diagnostic et la gestion des patients de manière à minimiser les coûts. Ainsi, le projet AMYPAD offrira une compréhension approfondie de l’évolution de la maladie d'Alzheimer à un stade pré-symptomatique, permettant une meilleure prévention secondaire de la maladie et une sélection plus efficace des patients pour les essais cliniques. Afin d’atteindre ces objectifs, AMYPAD travaillera en étroite collaboration avec le projet EPAD (http://ep-ad.org/).

AMYPAD est principalement financé par le programme-cadre de l’Union Européenne pour la recherche et d’innovation Horizon 2020 et par l'industrie pharmaceutique européenne (EFPIA), sous les auspices de l’Innovative Medicines Initiative Joint Undertaking (IMI JU).

Personne de contact: Szymon TOMCZYK

Projet de recherche dans lequel les données concernant les évaluations cliniques et neuropsychologiques acquis dans le cadre de la prise en charge routinière des patients de la Clinique Mémoire des Hôpitaux Universitaires de Genève sont collectées et organisés dans une base de données dédiée. Il s’agit d’une étude observationnelle, transversale dans sa comparaison entre différents groupes diagnostiques, ainsi que longitudinale, afin d’analyser la progression de chaque démence, avec le but final de développer des biomarqueurs diagnostiques et pronostiques précis et réalisables pour les maladies neurodégénératives.

Personne de contact: Federica RIBALDI

L’amélioration constante de l’évaluation des risques au sein de la recherche sur la maladie d’Alzheimer (MA), la précision des tests sanguins pour un dépistage à grande échelle des biomarqueurs de la MA ainsi que la possibilité d’une détection précoce chez les personnes sans déficience cognitive pourraient transformer l’opinion public envers la médecine prédictive et la médecine en général. PreTAD vise à clarifier les besoins des personnes par rapport au système de soins de santé et à ses services.

 

Personne de contact: Moira MARIZZONI

L'objectif du projet est d'évaluer l'interaction entre les bactéries intestinales (microbiote ou flore intestinale), les états inflammatoires périphériques et la présence de protéines amyloïdes ou Tau dans le cerveau chez des patients souffrant de troubles cognitifs légers ou en bonne santé cognitive.

Personne de contact: Claire CHEVALIER

L'objectif de cette étude préclinique est d'évaluer l'effet de la transplantation fécale (par exemple, de la flore intestinale) dans le traitement de la maladie d'Alzheimer (MA). Une sélection d'individus protégés contre la MA, ou avec une MA diagnostiquée, sera utilisée comme donneurs pour la transplantation de microbiote dans un modèle de souris de la MA. Nous souhaitons identifier quel microbiote (ou quelles bactéries) peut atténuer ou traiter la MA, et si la transplantation fécale pourrait être un nouvel outil thérapeutique pour la MA.

Personne de contact: Daniele ALTOMARE

CLAMP a pour objectif d'évaluer si une intervention consistant en une stimulation multisensorielle (auditive et visuelle) de 40 Hz est capable de réduire la charge amyloïde chez les personnes amyloïdes positives non démentes. Comme paramètres secondaires, nous évaluerons si une telle intervention est capable de : (i) améliorer l'activité électrique du cerveau, (ii) améliorer ou ralentir l'aggravation des biomarqueurs sanguins de la maladie d'Alzheimer, (iii) améliorer ou ralentir l'aggravation de la cognition.

 

Personne de contact: Federica RIBALDI

Actuellement, environ 25 % des patients des cliniques de la mémoire se plaignent d'un déclin cognitif en l'absence de déficits objectifs (déclin cognitif subjectif, DCS). Ces personnes pourraient présenter un risque plus élevé de développer une démence, mais la majorité d'entre elles souffrent de troubles psychiatriques, de maladies physiques, de polypharmacie ou simplement d'un vieillissement normal du cerveau. Différencier ces causes potentielles est souvent un exercice difficile, même pour les médecins experts. Ce projet vise à étudier les sous-groupes possibles de DCS et leur association avec des causes neurologiques, psychiatriques et physiques.

 

Personne de contact: Valentina Garibotto

Il s'agit d'une étude longitudinale qui vise à évaluer le risque de détérioration cognitive chez des personnes ne présentant aucun symptôme cognitif ou des symptômes subtils, mais entièrement caractérisées en termes de statut Amyloïde, Tau et Neurodégénérescence. Cette étude aura un fort impact sur nos connaissances sur l'interaction longitudinale de l'accumulation d'amyloïde et de tau sur la présence de troubles cognitifs et sur la progression de la maladie.

Personne de contact: Blanche PIROTTE

Il s’agit d’une étude de phase 3, multicentrique, randomisée, en double aveugle, contrôlée contre placebo, en groupes parallèles, visant à évaluer l’efficacité et la sécurité d’emploi de l’aducanumab chez des patients atteints par la maladie d’Alzheimer au stade précoce. La période de traitement est de 18 mois, au cours de laquelle les personnes qui respectent tous les critères d’inclusion au protocole seront assignées en aveugle soit au groupe de traitement soit au groupe placebo. L'étude inclura 1350 patients provenant d’environ 180 sites dans le monde. Le Centre de la Mémoire des Hôpitaux Universitaires de Genève est parmi les sites sélectionnés pour participer à l'étude. Le responsable de l'étude est le Professeur Giovanni Frisoni et la coordinatrice est Mme Blanche Pirotte.

Personne de contact: Rahel Park

L'hydrocéphalie à pression normale (HPN) est la principale cause de démence réversible chez les personnes âgées. Elle est due à une altération de la dynamique du liquide céphalo-rachidien (LCR), qui entraîne une augmentation du LCR dans les ventricules latéraux, une distorsion du tissu cérébral et des symptômes neurologiques. L'étiologie et la physiopathologie précises de la HPN de type idiopathique (HPNi) restent encore largement à déterminer.

Les progrès technologiques réalisés au cours de la dernière décennie ont permis de comprendre le type et la quantité de microbes que les humains hébergent dans leur peau, leur bouche et leurs intestins en cas de santé ou de maladie. Il a été démontré que les bactéries intestinales jouent un rôle, entre autres, dans la maladie de Parkinson, la maladie d'Alzheimer et la sclérose latérale amyotrophique, mais l'implication du microbiote intestinal dans le HPNi n'a jamais été étudiée. L'objectif principal du projet est d'étudier les liens potentiels entre la composition du microbiome intestinal et/ou ses métabolites et la pathophysiologie de le HPNi.

 

Personne de contact : Blanche Pirotte

Il s'agit d'une étude pilote, monocentrique, randomisée et prospective avec un groupe de radiothérapie et un groupe d'observation (sans radiothérapie). Des thérapies ciblant les protéines amyloïde et tau dans le contexte de la maladie d'Alzheimer ont été développées ces dernières années. Cependant, leurs résultats, pour l'instant, ne sont pas concluants ou sont en cours d'évaluation, d'où l'importance de tester des stratégies alternatives. La radiothérapie dans le contexte de cette maladie a deux arguments principaux en sa faveur :

1. la radiothérapie réduirait les agrégats d'amyloïde
2. elle aurait un effet anti-inflammatoire.

Ce dernier mode d'action est particulièrement intéressant dans le contexte de la maladie d'Alzheimer car des études récentes ont montré que le développement de la protéine amyloïde et possiblement tau dans le cerveau est accéléré par un phénomène inflammatoire. L'objectif de cette étude prometteuse est de déterminer la sécurité et les effets indésirables associés à la radiothérapie cérébrale à faible dose ainsi que son impact sur la réduction des plaques amyloïdes chez les patients atteints de la maladie d'Alzheimer. L'étude comprendra 20 participants, dont 10 traités, sur le site unique des Hôpitaux universitaires de Genève.

Personne de contact : Blanche Pirotte

EMBARK est un essai clinique de phase 3b, ouvert, multicentrique et longitudinal à groupe unique. Il fait suite aux interruptions des précédentes études BIOGEN qui évaluaient le traitement de l’aducanumab dans le cadre de la maladie d’Alzheimer précoce. En effet, les résultats d’analyses de futilité de ces études n’avaient pas montré d’effet encourageant. Toutefois, les résultats supplémentaires sur l’ensemble des données ont par après mis en évidence un ralentissement significatif du déclin cognitif et fonctionnel chez les personnes dans le groupe à haute dose, d’où la nécessité de mettre en place un nouvel essai clinique : l’étude EMBARK. Cette étude évalue l’efficacité et la sécurité à long terme de l’aducanumab chez des patients avec une maladie d'Alzheimer au stade précoce et ayant déjà participé aux études précédentes sur l'aducanumab. Les patients reçoivent une fois par mois le traitement par perfusion intraveineuse sur une durée de 24 mois. 1696 personnes sont incluses dans cet essai clinique réparties sur 297 sites dans le monde. Le Centre de la Mémoire des Hôpitaux Universitaires de Genève sélectionné pour participer à l’étude, est le site présentant le plus de patients actifs en Suisse. Le responsable de l'étude est le Professeur Giovanni Frisoni.

Personne de contact : Blanche Pirotte

EPAD LCS est une étude de cohorte prospective, multicentrique, européenne et longitudinale. Ce projet européen de prévention de la démence d'Alzheimer (EPAD LCS) a été mis en place pour surmonter les principaux obstacles qui entravent le développement de traitement médicamenteux pour la prévention secondaire de la démence due à la maladie d'Alzheimer. Il est effectivement crucial que les interventions débutent au plus tôt dans le développement de la maladie mais les modèles sont trop peu précis sur le cours de son évolution avant l'apparition de la démence. Son objectif est donc de créer une cohorte de personnes bien caractérisée en étudiant de nombreux facteurs de risque et de protection de la maladie et, ainsi de représenter un spectre de probabilité de développer une démence d’Alzheimer. Les participants sont stratifiés et placés sur un continuum de risque global dérivé de trois dimensions : la cognition, les biomarqueurs et les facteurs de risque traditionnels (génétiques et environnementaux). Pour cela ils sont soumis à des prélèvements sanguins, salivaires et urinaires en plus d’IRM, de tests neuropsychologiques, de divers questionnaires et de ponctions lombaires répétés dans le temps.

La prise en compte de ces dimensions continues permet d’être plus efficace et de mieux comprendre pourquoi et où un participant se situe dans le spectre du continuum de risque global car ils peuvent en effet avoir une probabilité de risque global similaire mais avec des contributions très différentes.

En plus de permettre une amélioration continue des modèles de la maladie d’Alzheimer chez des personnes sans démence, cette étude permet de fournir une population bien caractérisée pour un essai clinique et minimiser ainsi les échecs de sélection.

Personne de contact : Moira Marizzoni

L'objectif de ce projet est d'appliquer un outil d'imagerie non invasif, la tomographie par émission de positons (TEP), pour étudier l'implication des organes périphériques dans la maladie d'Alzheimer (MA). La TEP au 18F-Flutemetamol a été largement appliquée pour identifier la pathologie amyloïde dans le cerveau, et ici nous allons explorer si elle permet de détecter les dépôts liés à l'amyloïde dans l'abdomen.

Personne de contact : Estafania Vilarino

La Maladie d'Alzheimer (MA) est associée à des coûts et des souffrances considérables, qui sont particulièrement liés aux impacts sociaux des soins apportés à aux personnes présentant de plus en plus d’incapacités. Ces handicaps fonctionnels peuvent être presque indétectables dans les premiers stades de la maladie, s'aggravant souvent avec le temps et à un rythme de progression variable selon les personnes. La mesure de ces handicaps fonctionnels est généralement brutale et repose sur l'observation directe ou le rappel du proche aidant. Les technologies numériques, en particulier celles qui reposent sur l'utilisation de smartphones, d'autres appareils portables et/ou de surveillance à domicile, définis ici comme des "Technologies de Mesure à Distance"(TMDs), offrent l'opportunité de changer radicalement la manière dont l'évaluation fonctionnelle est réalisée dans le cadre de la MA. Les TMDs ont le potentiel d'obtenir de meilleures mesures comportementales et de paramètres biologiques associés aux Activités individuelles de la Vie Quotidienne (AVQs) comparées aux échelles ou questionnaires subjectifs actuels. Les divergences par rapport aux AVQs normatives pourraient indiquer objectivement la présence de handicaps fonctionnels spécifiques, même aux tout premiers stades de la MA. Par conséquent, l'hypothèse principale de ce projet est que les TMDs devraient détecter les handicaps fonctionnels dans les AVQs qui se produisent en dessous du seuil de détection d’une échelle clinique ou de questionnaires sur le handicap.

Personne de contact : Blanche PIROTTE

Ces deux études cliniques menées à l’échelle internationale évaluent l’efficacité et la sécurité du sémaglutide, un anti-diabétique, afin de déterminer s’il peut retarder la progression des symptômes liés à la maladie d’Alzheimer au stade précoce. En effet, plusieurs recherches cliniques ont mis en évidence qu’il réduirait deux processus clefs impliqués dans la maladie d’Alzheimer : la neuro-inflammation et la phosphorylation de la protéine Tau.

Sur une durée de trois ans, les participants recevront quotidiennement soit le médicament d’étude (un sur deux), soit un placebo, sous forme orale.

EVOKE et EVOKEplus sont deux mêmes essais cliniques avec les mêmes procédures. La seule différence est qu'EVOKEplus permet d’inclure des participants présentant une pathologie significative des petits vaisseaux au niveau cérébral.