[154] Pierre Burkhard Group (Neurology)

The Neuroproteomics Group (NPG)’s field of research involves determine, identify and compare proteomes of neural tissues, cells or biological liquids. Samples are mostly of human origin obtained in vivo or at autopsy. Experimental protocols are based on conventional proteomics using, on a routine basis, two-dimensional gel electrophoresis (2-DE) coupled with mass spectrometry (MALDI-TOF/TOF). Particular attention is paid to the quality and specificity of studied samples. Aims of this line of research include the study of biological and molecular mechanisms underlying certain neurological disorders, in particular neurodegenerative and inflammatory conditions, and the identification of diagnostic, prognostic and therapeutic biomarkers. The following projects are currently under way:

1. Establishing a 2-DE map of the human cerebrospinal fluid (CSF)’s proteome and identifying as many proteins as possible including their post-translational modifications. This master map allows comparisons with the CSF of patients with various neurodegenerative diseases, including Parkinson’s disease (PD), Alzheimer’s disease and amyotrophic lateral sclerosis.

2. Analyzing by 2-DE the immunological profile of the CSF from patients with multiple sclerosis (MS) including the formation of oligoclonal bands typical of this condition. Our analyses currently suggest that the proteomic signature of the intrathecal synthesis of immunoglobulins exhibits some specificities that may distinguish oligoclonal bands from MS compared to other inflammatory conditions of the central nervous system. We are also conducting a study on the immunological profile of tears from MS patients based on literature data suggesting that tears may also contain oligoclonal bands.

3. Determining the 2-DE proteome of the substantia nigra obtained at autopsy from patients with PD and from normal controls. In addition, various proteomic strategies will be used to study mesencephalic dopaminergic neurons extracted by laser capture microdissection (LCM).

4. Comparative and longitudinal proteomic analyses of embryonic stem cells differentiated into a dopaminergic neuron phenotype. The aim of this study involves establishing a map of the protein modifications occurring over time during this differentiation process induced in cell culture.

 

GROUP PUBLICATIONS

top

Groupes de recherche

[154] Groupe Pierre Burkhard (neurologie)

Le NPG développe une ligne de recherche axée sur la détermination, l'identification et la comparaison de protéomes de nature neurale, qu'ils soient tissulaires, cellulaires ou liquidiens. Les échantillons sont principalement d'origine humaine, obtenus in vivo ou à l'autopsie. L'approche expérimentale est de type protéomique traditionnelle, avec utilisation en routine de l'électrophorèse bidimensionnelle (2-DE) couplée à la spectrométrie de masse (MALDI-TOF/TOF). Une attention toute particulière est portée à la qualité et à la spécificité des échantillons étudiés. Les buts de cette recherche sont d'étudier les mécanismes biologiques et moléculaires à la base de certaines maladies neurologiques, notamment dégénératives et inflammatoires, et d'en identifier des biomarqueurs diagnostiques, pronostiques ou thérapeutiques. Les projets sur lesquels le groupe travaille actuellement sont les suivants:

  1. Cartographie 2-DE du protéome du liquide céphalo-rachidien (LCR) humain et identification de ses protéines ainsi que de leurs modifications post-transcriptionnelles. Comparaison du LCR physiologique (normal) avec celui de patients présentant diverses affections neurodégénératives, notamment maladie de Parkinson (MP), maladie d'Alzheimer et sclérose latérale amyotrophique.
  2. Analyse par 2-DE du profil immunologique du LCR de patients avec sclérose en plaques (SEP) et de la formation des bandes oligoclonales typiques de cette maladie. A ce stade, nos analyses suggèrent que l'aspect protéomique de la synthèse intrathécale d'IgG présente des spécificités qui différencient la distribution oligoclonale de la SEP des autres maladies inflammatoires du système nerveux central. Comme recherche corollaire, nous analysons le profil immunologique des larmes de patients avec SEP, qui pourraient aussi, selon certaines données de la littérature, contenir des bandes oligoclonales.
  3. Détermination du protéome 2-DE de la substance noire (obtenues à l'autopsie) de patients avec MP comparé à celui de sujets contrôles sains. Par ailleurs, application de stratégies protéomiques diverses à des échantillons de cellules dopaminergiques mésencéphaliques spécifiquement extraites par laser capture microdissection (LCM).
  4. Analyses protéomiques comparatives et longitudinales de cellules souches embryonnaires en voie de différentiation vers un phénotype neuronal de type dopaminergique. Le but est d'obtenir une cartographie des modifications protéiques dynamiques survenant au cours de ce processus de maturation induit en culture.

PUBLICATIONS DU GROUPE