[835] Macromolecular engineering for medicine

With a focus on the prevention of infectious diseases, our work is based on the engineering of proteins and peptides to identify new macromolecules with potential use as medicines. Our main work has involved the engineering of chemokine proteins to produce highly potent HIV entry inhibitors for use in the prevention of transmission of the virus during sexual intercourse. A first clinical study of our best molecule is scheduled to take place at the HUG in 2014.

The chemokine analogues we have developed act by blocking CCR5, the principal HIV coreceptor, which is also a member of the G protein-coupled receptor (GPCR) superfamily. Because they exhibit unusual inhibitory mechanisms that concern modulation of intracellular trafficking of CCR5, we are also able to use our analogues as tools for fundamental studies of the cellular and molecular processes that govern both the cell surface concentrations and signaling activity of GPCRs.

We also use our knowledge of both chemistry- and molecular biology-based protein engineering to collaborate on projects aiming to contribute to the development of (i) new peptide-based medicines from venomous animals (SIB and Atheris Laboratories), (ii) bispecific antibodies (NovImmune) and (iii) ApoA-I mimetic peptides for use in the diagnosis and treatment of cardiovascular diseases (Dr Nicolas Vuilleumier).

Group publications

 
top

Groupes de recherche

[835] L'ingénierie macromoléculaire pour la médecine

Notre travail, basé sur l'ingénierie des protéines et des peptides, a pour but d’identifier des nouveaux médicaments. Notre activité principale implique l'ingénierie des chimiokines pour développer des inhibiteurs du VIH très puissants pour la prévention de la transmission du virus lors des rapports sexuels. Une première étude clinique de notre meilleure molécule est prévue aux HUG en 2014.

Nos analogues de chimiokines agissent en bloquant le CCR5, le corécepteur principal du VIH, qui est également un membre de la superfamille des récepteurs couplés aux protéines G (GPCR). Puisque ces molécules présentent des mécanismes d’inhibition inhabituels impliquant la modulation du trafic intracellulaire du CCR5, nous les utilisons également comme des outils de recherche fondamentale pour étudier les processus cellulaires et moléculaires qui régissent la localisation cellulaire et l'activité de signalisation des GPCRs.

Nous appliquons nos connaissances en matière de l'ingénierie des protéines (impliquant tant la chimie que la biologie moléculaire) pour collaborer sur des projets visant le développement (i) de nouveaux médicaments à base de peptides provenant d'animaux venimeux (avec le SIB et Atheris Laboratories), (ii) des anticorps bi-spécifiques (avec NovImmune) et (iii) des peptides mimétiques de la protéine ApoA-I pour utilisation dans le diagnostic et le traitement des maladies cardio-vasculaires (avec le Dr Nicolas Vuilleumier).

 

Publications du groupe