From left to right, Antoine Geissbuhler (until 14 July 2023), Jean-Marc Triscone, Micheline Louis-Courvoisier, Yves Flückiger, Brigitte Galliot, Stéphane Berthet, Céline Carrère and Didier Raboud. (UNIGE / Lionel Flusin)

The Rectorate is the executive organ providing leadership for the University. It is responsible for the University's general policies, for multi-year planning and strategy, and for external relations, particularly with the government and other teaching and research institutions.

The Geneva Council of State named Yves Flückiger to the position of Rector for the period from 15 July 2015 to 14 July 2019. His mandate was renewed for the period from 15 July 2019 to 14 July 2023 based on a favorable vote of the University Assembly on 4 July 2018. Because the search for a new Rector has been extended, Yves Flückiger will now serve as Rector through 31 March 2024.

At its meeting on November 22, 2023, and after consultation with the Strategic Orientation Council, the University Assembly appointed Professor Audrey Leuba as Rector of the University of Geneva. On November 29, the Council of State appointed her Rector for the period from April 1, 2024 to July 14, 2028.


Yves Flückiger - Rector
Stéphane Berthet - Vice-Rector
Brigitte Galliot - Vice-Rector
Micheline Louis-Courvoisier - Vice-Rector
Jean-Marc Triscone - Vice-Rector 
Céline Carrère - Vice-Rector
Didier Raboud - Secretary General