Infrastructure

Lodge of Sciences II

Mail Office

The heads of the lodge of Sciences II provide the take in, distribution, centralized collection and sending of letters and packages for all the Schools of the Faculty of Science in the Sciences II neighborhood.

Contact the lodge directly for rates of postage and shipping conditions, when you are waiting for a special delivery (unstable reagents, express parcel), or if you need to perform an express delivery (DHL, Federal Express).

They will also inform about how to get from the Post Office the new barcode leaves for the billing of shipments.

Heads: Naussadali Abibo and Younh Ramseyer • +41 22 379 60 74 | +41 22 379 60 22 | +41 22 379 60 07

Sciences II lodge, immediately on the left of the main entrance •

Opening hours : Monday to Thursday from 7:30 am to 5:30 pm • Friday from 7:30 am to 5:00 pm

Reservation of Rooms and Lecture Theaters

The reservations of rooms and lecture theaters in the Sciences II and Sciences III buildings are centralized at the lodge of Sciences II. They must be promptly provided to the heads of the lodge to ensure the availability of the premises. Reservations already confirmed cannot be canceled in favor of a last minute reservation.

Reservations for week days after 6:00 pm or for weekends must also be provided by (preferably) or by fax (+41 22 379 70 03) at least two weeks in advance to the Service de la logistique which centralizes the requests to guarantee open access to the building, security and guarding.

It is also necessary to notify in advance the Service de la logistique when extraordinary events (presence of personalities or many participants expected) are organized so that it coordinates the security of the persons and places.

After the reservation, contact the Info-Media Center when audio-visual equipment is needed for the event.

Reservations of rooms or lecture theaters and audio-visual equipment outside of Sciences II and Sciences III are centralized by the Service de la logistique, where they must be received no later than two weeks in advance. It is not necessary to inform the lodge of Sciences II or the Info-Media Center for such reservations.

Ernst and Lucie Schmidheiny Library (Bibliothèque Ernst et Lucie Schmidheiny - BELS)

The BELS brings together a large collection of books and scientific journals, on behalf of the School of Chemistry and Biochemistry, the School of Biology, the School of Pharmaceutical Sciences and the School of Physics, and for all the members of the university community. In addition to the paper, more collections and more journals are now available electronically through subscriptions managed by the BELS and the University.

Sciences II, ground floor, down the hall to the left from the main entrance

http://www.unige.ch/biblio/sciences/en/infos/sciences2/

Opening hours : Monday to Friday from 8:00 am to 10:00 pm • Saturday and Sunday from 9:00 am to 6:00 pm

Info-Media Center

The Info-Media Center is available to all of the Faculty of Science for all matters relating to audio-visual equipment in the Sciences II and Science III buildings. Requests for audio-visual materials should be sent to the Info-Media Center as soon as possible to ensure the availability of the equipment. Also contact the Info-Media Center for any special request.

• +41 22 379 30 00

Displaying announcements on the giant screens

Events (conferences, seminars or other) organized by the School of chemistry and biochemistry and announced on its website are systematically introduced into the giant screens database and are advertised 2-3 working days in advance on the giant screens of the Sciences II and Sciences III buildings.

On request, illustrations can be added to customize the announcements, and one-time events not mentioned on the website of the School may exceptionally be still advertised on the giant screens.

In all cases, the Info-Media Center oversees the management of announcements for the entire Faculty of Science, but the requests for the events of the School of chemistry and biochemistry must be sent to

Technical Service of the Office of the Buildings

  • Renovation and conversion of laboratories and offices
  • Water leaks, flooding, plumbing and sealing problems
  • Lighting, heating, ventilation
  • Power outage and elevator failure
  • Charging and control of fire extinguishers
  • Intervention of the cleaning and maintenance crews

The head of the Technical Service of the Office of the Buildings for the Sciences centralizes the requests and coordinates the work of the various trades.

Head : Christophe Droux • +41 22 379 60 16 | mobile +41 78 606 18 68 | fax +41 22 379 32 16

Sciences II, ground floor, behind the lodge •

Health at Work, Environment, Prevention, Safety
(Santé au Travail, Environnement, Prévention, Sécurité - STEPS)

  • Safety, security guard services and intervention
  • Laboratory waste (including radioactive waste)
  • Contaminated laboratory glassware
  • Management of recyclable waste (paper, cardboard, aluminum, light tubes, polystyrene, etc.)

The head of Santé au Travail, Environnement, Prévention, Sécurité (STEPS) for the Sciences centralizes the requests and coordinates the work of the specialists.

http://www.unige.ch/steps

Head : Raphaël Maion • +41 22 379 31 63 | mobile +41 78 637 30 15 | fax + 41 22 379 63 52

Sciences I, office 119B on 1st floor •

Central Store

Location of the Central Store : 1st basement of Sciences II (take the lifts to the right of the main entrance, then on the left when going out of the lift)

Opening hours : Monday to Friday from 9:00 am to 11:00 am and from 1:30 pm to 4:00 pm

Société chimique de Genève

The purpose of the Society is to bring together people and communities interested in chemistry.

The association is composed of chemists, students and assistants from the University of Geneva, and especially from its School of chemistry and biochemistry, as well as scientists from companies and groups in the Geneva area.

http://www.unige.ch/sochimge/ (web site only available in French)

Infrastructure

LOGE DE SCIENCES II

Bureau du courrier

Les huissiers de Sciences II assurent la réception, la distribution, la collecte centralisée et l'envoi des lettres et colis, pour toutes les Sections de la Faculté des Sciences situées aux alentours de Sciences II.

Contactez directement la loge pour connaître les tarifs d'affranchissement et les conditions d'envoi, lorsque vous êtes en attente d'une livraison particulière (réactifs instables, colis express), ou si vous devez procéder à un envoi express (DHL, Federal Express).

Les huissiers informent également sur comment obtenir de La Poste de nouvelles feuilles à code-barres pour la facturation des envois.

Responsables : Naussadali ABIBO et Younh RAMSEYER • +41 22 379 60 74 | +41 22 379 60 22 | +41 22 379 60 07

loge des huissiers de Sciences II, tout de suite à gauche de l'entrée principale •

Horaire d'ouverture : du lundi au jeudi de 7h30 à 17h30 • vendredi de 7h30 à 17h00

Réservation de salles et d'auditoires

Les réservations de salles et d'auditoires des bâtiments Sciences II et Sciences III sont centralisées à la loge de Sciences II. Elles doivent être transmises aux huissiers dans les meilleurs délais pour garantir la disponibilité des locaux. Une réservation déjà validée ne peut pas être annulée au profit d'une réservation de dernière minute.

Les réservations pour la semaine après 18h00 ou le week-end doivent en plus être transmises par (de préférence) ou par fax (+41 22 379 70 03) au plus tard 2 semaines à l'avance au Service de la logistique qui centralise les demandes pour garantir l'ouverture des accès, la sécurité et le gardiennage.

Il est également indispensable d'aviser à l'avance le Service de la logistique lorsqu'une manifestation extraordinaire (présence de personnalités ou grand nombre de personnes attendues) est prévue, pour qu'il coordonne la sécurité des personnes et des lieux.

Après réservation, contacter le Centre Info-Média lorsque du matériel audio-visuel est requis pour l'événement.

Les réservations de salles ou d'auditoires et de matériel audio-visuel hors de Sciences II ou de Sciences III sont centralisées par le Service de la logistique, où elles doivent parvenir au plus tard 2 semaines à l'avance. Il n'est pas nécessaire d'informer la loge de Sciences II ni le Centre Info-Média pour de telles réservations.

BIBLIOTHÈQUE ERNST ET LUCIE SCHMIDHEINY (BELS)

La BELS rassemble une abondante collection d'ouvrages et de périodiques scientifiques, pour le compte de la Section de chimie et biochimie, de la Section de biologie, de la Section des sciences pharmaceutiques et de la Section de physique, ainsi que pour tous les membres de la communauté universitaire. Outre les collections papier, de plus en plus de revues scientifiques sont dorénavant accessibles sous forme électronique, via les abonnements gérés par la BELS et l'Université.

Sciences II, rez-de-chaussée, au fond du couloir à gauche depuis l'entrée principale

http://www.unige.ch/biblio/sciences/fr/infos/bels/

Horaire d'ouverture : du lundi au vendredi de 8h00 à 22h00 • samedi et dimanche de 9h00 à 18h00

CENTRE INFO-MÉDIA

Le Centre Info-Média est à disposition de l'ensemble de la Faculté des Sciences pour toute question touchant aux équipements audio-visuels de Sciences II et Sciences III. Les demandes de matériel audio-visuel doivent être transmises au Centre Info-Média dans les meilleurs délais pour garantir la disponibilité du matériel. Adressez-vous également au Centre Info-Média pour toute demande particulière.

• +41 22 379 30 00

Diffusion d'annonces sur écrans géants

Les événements (conférences, séminaires ou autres) organisés par la Section et annoncés sur son site web sont systématiquement introduits dans la base de données des écrans géants et sont annoncés 2 à 3 jours ouvrables à l'avance sur les écrans géants de Sciences II et Sciences III.

Sur demande, des illustrations peuvent être ajoutées pour personnaliser les annonces, et des événements ponctuels, non mentionnés sur le site web, peuvent exceptionnellement être tout de même annoncés sur les écrans géants.

Dans tous les cas, le Centre Info-Média supervise la gestion des annonces pour l'ensemble de la Faculté des Sciences, mais les demandes de diffusion pour les événements de la Section de chimie et biochimie doivent être adressées à

SERVICE TECHNIQUE DU BUREAU DES BÂTIMENTS

  • Rénovation et transformation des laboratoires et des bureaux
  • Fuites d'eau, inondations, problèmes de plomberie et d'étanchéité
  • Éclairage, chauffage, ventilation
  • Pannes de courant ou d'ascenseurs
  • Recharge et contrôle des extincteurs
  • Intervention des équipes de nettoyage et d'entretien

Le responsable du Service technique du Bureau des bâtiments pour les Sciences centralise les demandes et coordonne le travail des corps de métiers.

Responsable :Christophe DROUX • +41 22 379 60 16 | mobile +41 78 606 18 68 | fax +41 22 379 32 16

Sciences II, rez-de-chaussée, derrière la loge des huissiers •

SANTÉ AU TRAVAIL, ENVIRONNEMENT, PRÉVENTION, SÉCURITÉ (STEPS)

  • Sécurité, services de gardiennage et d'intervention
  • Déchets de laboratoire (y compris résidus radioactifs)
  • Verrerie de laboratoire souillée
  • Gestion des déchets recyclables (papier, carton, aluminium, tubes lumineux, polystyrène expansé, etc)

Le responsable de Santé au Travail, Environnement, Prévention, Sécurité (STEPS) pour les Sciences centralise les demandes et coordonne le travail des spécialistes.

http://www.unige.ch/steps

Responsable : Raphaël Maion • +41 22 379 31 63 | mobile +41 78 637 30 15 | fax + 41 22 379 63 52

Sciences I, bureau 119B au 1er étage • raphael.maion@unige.ch

MAGASIN CENTRAL

Emplacement du magasin : 1er sous-sol de Sciences II (prendre les ascenseurs à droite de l'entrée principale, puis à gauche en sortant de l'ascenseur)

Horaire d'ouverture : du lundi au vendredi de 9h00 à 11h00 et de 13h30 à 16h00

SOCIÉTÉ CHIMIQUE DE GENÈVE

Le but de la Société est de regrouper les personnes et les collectivités qui s'intéressent à la chimie.

L'association est formée de chimistes, d'étudiants et d'assistants de l'Université de Genève, et plus particulièrement de sa Section de chimie et biochimie, ainsi que de scientifiques provenant d'entreprises et groupements de la région genevoise.

http://www.unige.ch/sochimge/