Programs of study


A thesis is much more than an individual piece of work: it is an adventure that prepares students for the research and teaching professions. Alongside their research — which is always conducted under the guidance of a professor — future "doctors" are required to attend courses and conferences, as well as supervise practical work and give seminars. The thesis is usually carried out in the specialist field chosen by the student in the third year of the bachelor's degree or during the master's. It normally has to be completed within three to five years.

Admission to the doctoral programme in the Physics Section requires a master's degree in physics from a university that adheres to the European system of studies, known as the Bologna system, or a university degree that is deemed equivalent. The student must then be accepted by a professor in the Physics Section, who will supervise the thesis. 

Doctoral study consists of three parts:

  • Specialised studies within the framework of the doctoral school in the Physics Section;
  • Active participation in symposia, seminars and specialised schools, organised by the Physics Section and its various departments;
  • Personal research work in the relevant professor's research group.