On behalf of Technology Academy Finland TAF, we have the honour of inviting Your organization to nominate candidates for the 2020 Millennium Technology Prize. The Millennium Technology Prize is one million euros, and awarded every two years by TAF to an individual or to a team of any nationality. The State of Finland, academic institutions and high-tech industries established the Prize in 2004 as Finland’s tribute to innovations for a better life. The Patron of the Prize is the President of the Republic of Finland. The 2020 Millennium Technology Prize will be awarded on 26 May 2020.

The Millennium Technology Prize highlights the impact of science and innovations on the well-being of mankind and society. The Prize is awarded for groundbreaking technological innovations that benefit millions of people around the world. Until today, three innovators – Frances Arnold, Shinya Yamanaka and Shuji Nakamura – have first been awarded the Millennium Technology Prize and later the Nobel Prize. This indicates the significance of frontier research for creating innovations that greatly improve peoples’ lives. We are proud to present all Millennium Technology Prize Winners at

The Call for the 2020 Millennium Technology Prize Nominations is open from 1 April to 31 July 2019 at invite nominations from organisations around the world and from all fields of technology, excluding military technology. Special emphasis is placed on proposals related to:

energy and the environment 

life sciences, including health and food

information and communications technology and smart systems

new materials, processes and manufacturing


For further information on the Millennium Technology Prize and the nomination process, please see the attached file and visit In case You have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact CEO Ari Ahonen (ari.ahonen(at) or COO Eeva Sievi (eeva.sievi(at) at Technology Academy Finland.

18 mars 2019