Communiquer sur vos recherches

Communicating your research

The Communication Service helps researchers from the University of Geneva to disseminate their results nationally and internationally through UNIGE’s social networks and publications as well as written, audiovisual and digital media to reach the general public.

 

To ensure maximum impact, make sure to follow these guidelines:

1. Inform the Press Office

At media(at)unige.ch, your communication officer or persons designated for this purpose by your deanship.

 2. Deadline

As soon as your research has been accepted for publication, contact the Press Office (media(at)unige.ch) or your Faculty or interfacultary Centre communication officer.

Research presented in Campus or in the Journal de l'UNIGE will only be published after the embargo has been lifted.

Press releases are sent under embargo before the research is published, or at the latest two weeks after publication. The process of drafting, validating, translating, coordinating with other relevant institutions and disseminating may take several days.

3. Documentation

Include the following elements when contacting the Press Office:

  • A short summary (10-15 lines)
  • Illustrations in portrait and landscape format with captions and copyright
  • Your portrait photo in HD
  • The abstract
  • Affiliations
  • The embargo date and time (even approximate)
  • DOI (if already available)
  • Your mobile phone number (specifying whether it has to be kept confidential or can be given to journalists)

4. Defining a strategy

After assessing together the interest of your research for the general public, we define the most appropriate communication channels.

UNIGE press releases are exclusively devoted to research results published in recognized scientific journals. The main authors must be affiliated with the UNIGE.

In general, project launches or funding are not covered by a press release. Commubnication on these topics go through other channels such as Campus, Le Journl de l'UNIGE, UNIGE website, newsletter, social networks).

5. Preparing a press release

  • Drafting:
    The Press Office drafts the article or the press release after meeting with the researcher, who validates the final version.
  • Translation:
    All press releases are issued in French and English. Translation into English can be done directly by the researcher or by a specialised provider on behalf of the press office.
  • Illustration:
    The illustration (high-resolution image) and their captions are provided by the researcher. All material must be under UNIGE copyright. If not, UNIGE must hold the necessary rights for its distribution and reuse by the press. Plan to take photos and videos during your research, they can be used for communication purposes.
  • Contact details:
    The contact given to the press is that of the researcher (e-mail, telephone) who must be reachable by the journalists on the day the press release is issued.

6. Disseminating information

The Press Office disseminates information:

  • To its registered subscribers
  • to selected journalists according to their field of interest;
  • on international platforms (AlphaGalileo, Eurekalert);
  • after the embargo has been lifted, to any person (member or not of the UNIGE community) who has requested it;
  • on social media (Twitter, Facebook, LinkedIn).

Contacts

UNIGE Press Officer:

Antoine Guenot, +41 22 379 73 98, antoine.guenot(at)unige.ch

UNIGE Social Media Manager:

Anne-Laure Payot, +41 22 379 77 52, anne-laure.payot(at)unige.ch

UNIGE Journal Editor-in-chief:

Jacques Erard, +41 22 379 77 92, jacques.erard(at)unige.ch

Persons in charge of communication for the Faculties, Centres and Departments: 

Faculty of Medicine: Victoria Monti, +41 22 379 41 58, victoria.monti(at)unige.ch

Faculty of Theology: Josserand Aymon, +41 22 379 74 75, josserand.aymon(at)unige.ch

Faculty of Psychology and Educational Sciences: Sandra De Grazia, +41 22 379 90 80, sandra.degrazia(at)unige.ch

Faculty of Social Sciences: Jiri Benovsky, +41 22 379 87 73, jiri.benovsky(at)unige.ch

Faculty of Economics and Management: Séverine Joliat, +41 22 379 82 84, severine.joliat(at)unige.ch

Faculty of Arts: Philippe Coet, +41 22 379 73 03, philippe.coet(at)unige.ch

Faculty of Law :  Alexandre Flückiger, +41 22 379 85 25, alexandre.fluckiger(at)unige.ch

Faculty of Translation and Interpretation: Marianne Starlander, +41 22 379 86 87, marianne.starlander(at)unige.ch

Faculty of Science: Pierre-Yves Morgantini, +41 22 379 65 24, pierre-yves.morgantini(at)unige.ch and Massimo Caine (social networks), +41 22 379 31 40, massimo.caine(at)unige.ch

Astronomy Department: Sylvia Ekström, +41 22 379 24 50, sylvia.ekstrom(at)unige.ch

Section of Chemistry and Biochemistry: Didier Perret, +41 22 379 31 87, didier.perret(at)unige.ch

Section of Biology: Audrey Bellier, +41 22 379 66 56, audrey.bellier(at)unige.ch

Section of Computer Science: Elie Zagury, +41 22 379 02 24, elie.zaguri(at)unige.ch

Section of Mathematics: Shaula Fiorelli, +41 22 379 11 68, shaula.fiorelli(at)unige.ch

Section of Physics: Olivier Gaumer, +41 22 379 62 67, olivier.gaumer(at)unige.ch, and Adriana Bonito Aleman, +41 22 379 64 99, adriana.aleman(at)unige.ch

Section of Earth and Environmental Sciences: Elias Samankassou, +41 22 379 66 20, elias.samankassou(at)unige.ch

NCCR Biology-Chemistry: Phaedra Simitsek, +41 22 379 64 07, phaedra.simitsek(at)unige.ch

PlanetS: Pierre Bratschi, + 41 22 379 23 54, pierre.bratschi(at)unige.ch

Institute of Environmental Sciences: Julien Goy, +41 22 379 08 82, julien.goy(at)unige.ch

Global Studies Institute: Frédéric Esposito, +41 22 379 37 08, frederic.esposito(at)unige.ch

Maison de l'Histoire : Sébastien Farré : +41 22 379 72 60, sebastien.farre(at)unige.ch

Interfaculty Centre for Affective Sciences: Carole Varone, +41 22 379 09 29, carole.varone(at)unige.ch

Bodmer lab: Kathinka Salzmann, +41 22 379 74 30, kathinka.salzmann(at)unige.ch